Search Results for "nobody-s-child-a-heart-breaking-saga-of-the-search-for-belonging"

Nobody's Child

Nobody's Child

A heart-breaking saga of the search for belonging

  • Author: Anne Baker
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 0755382544
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 385
  • View: 2335
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A young woman's search for her roots has dramatic consequences. Anne Baker writes an engrossing saga in Nobody's Child - a tale of family, love and finding a place to call home. Perfect for fans of Cathy Sharp and Lyn Andrews. When Dorothy Mortimer finds herself pregnant, she is sent away to family friends, the Benders, to have the child. Dorothy wants nothing to do with her daughter Lizzie, so the Benders arrange for the child to be brought up by the O'Malley's, a feckless family living on the estate. Lizzie is unaware of her parentage but her brother Joey is suspicious of the attention she receives from the Benders... Eventually he takes Lizzie to Merseyside to claim what is rightfully hers. But Joey's obsession to provide Lizzie with the riches she deserves leads to the destruction of their love, and Lizzie finds herself drawn to the family she has never known... What readers are saying about Nobody's Child: 'A rags-to-riches story, but with a good underlying tale of spite and greed. A little bit of everything and a gritty ending - I couldn't put it down' 'A really good read, a bit like a mini-series on TV. I especially liked the way it kept me guessing until the very end'

The Misfit

The Misfit

An abandoned baby. A damaged child. A search for happiness.

  • Author: Rosie Goodwin
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 0755385748
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 313
  • View: 3187
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A young orphan's desperate search for somewhere she can call home. The heart-breaking tale of a foundling's search for belonging, from Kindle No.1 bestselling author of No One's Girl, Rosie Goodwin. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Cathy Sharp. 'Rosie shines a light on those who can find the determination to face down fate itself' - Northern Echo Abandoned outside a hospital, baby Rebecca didn't have a good start. She's adopted, but her new father can't warm to her, and her mother can't succeed in turning the plain, unresponsive child into the little princess she longs for. When her adoptive mother dies, her greedy aunt takes her in, but hers is not a happy home, and soon Rebecca's life is worse than ever. She longs to escape to the circus that visits her town, with its carefree life and freedom from her past - but will she ever find happiness? What Amazon readers are saying about The Misfit: 'This book is the best ever and would certainly recommend it if you like to keep turning the pages. I was quite choked towards the end' 'One of the best books I have ever read. Moving and terribly sad in places... Could not stop reading this; had to find out what happened. Buy this, you will not be disappointed'

Anzac to Understanding

Anzac to Understanding

Including "Anzac, the Play : a Saga of War and Peace in the 20th Century" and "A Quest for Understanding"

  • Author: Mary Anneeta Mann
  • Publisher: Mary A. Mann
  • ISBN: 9781434327185
  • Category: Performing Arts
  • Page: 820
  • View: 8671
DOWNLOAD NOW »
"Anzac, the Play: A Saga of War and Peace in the 20th Century," was written in Berkeley in 1969, published in 1971 and produced at the Globe Playhouse Los Angeles in 1984 with readings at the Lankershim Arts Center, No-Ho, North Hollywood in 1996. Accompanying the play, is historical documentation of the lives of the families from whom the characters were drawn as well as war letters of Willie Augustus Mann, 1914-1919, his own story and relevant pages from the Anzac Book, written by the Anzacs themselves, published in 1916. "A Quest for Understanding" is rooted in this Great War, the First World War, the war to end all wars. In Australia, half the eligible young men enlisted. Their casualties were horrific but they brought Australia on to the world stage. They were called Anzacs, members of the Australian, New Zealand Army Corps, a name coined on the Gallipoli Peninsular, Turkey in 1915. Theirs was a shining light of naked courage, an epiphany of what it meant to be human beings who had earned their own freedom and freedom for the world. To be a child of Anzac was a privilege and a great joy. The quest for the understanding of why war by one of these children began with the Second World War in 1939. It would go back to the Greeks, to the origins of English Literature, through halls of learning across two continents, to the great religions and recent scientific advances and into the heart of a woman. It ended with a Practical Philosophy of Life based upon the understandings: reverence for life, gender differences, the female as the guardian of ethics, and the in-organic nature of money. It offers the individual conscience as humanity's inherent connection to the Life Force of the Universe, or God.

Eliza Cook's Journal

Eliza Cook's Journal

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category:
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 5359
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Savage Horizons

Savage Horizons

  • Author: Rosanne Bittner
  • Publisher: Diversion Books
  • ISBN: 1940941377
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 361
  • View: 6919
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Blue Hawk was born into the Cheyenne culture of his parents, but when he is adopted by a white trapper and renamed Caleb Sax it is difficult for him to adjust to the white man’s ways. He encounters prejudice everywhere he goes and struggles to remember his true blood despite his upbringing. Caleb’s adoptive parents raise him alongside their daughter, Sarah, and love him like their own. As Caleb and Sarah grow up together, their secret passion for one another becomes undeniable. When tragedy strikes and Caleb is left for dead, Sarah, carrying Caleb’s baby, is taken away and forced to marry a brutal man she does not love. Though Caleb and Sarah believe the other to be dead, their diverging paths prove that their love and longing for each other can never die. PRAISE: “Power, passion, tragedy, and triumph are Rosanne Bittner’s hallmarks. Again and again, she brings readers to tears.” —Romantic Times “Extraordinary…Bittner’s characters spring to life.” —Publishers Weekly

The Examiner

The Examiner

A Weekly Paper on Politics, Literature, Music and the Fine Arts

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category:
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 9603
DOWNLOAD NOW »

20/30 Bible Study for Young Adults Love

20/30 Bible Study for Young Adults Love

Opening Your Heart to God and Others

  • Author: Barbara K. Mittman
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: 9780687073160
  • Category: Religion
  • Page: 80
  • View: 1187
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Exciting contemporary Bible study series designed to meet the needs of adult learners in their 20s and 30s. Each volume in the series examines a powerful biblical image and includes: • Bible background • Articles on group leadership, and teaching options • Case studies throughout the text to use as discussion starters • Seven easy-to-lead sessions with clear teaching helps on each page • Options for service projects Love is the fifth book in the series. Chapters deal with love in its many forms, such as romantic, family, community and church, and God. The book also explores “Sacrificial Love” and “Expressions of Love.”

Saturday Review of Literature

Saturday Review of Literature

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: American literature
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 4434
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Jewish life in the Ukraine

Jewish life in the Ukraine

a family saga

  • Author: Michael Charnofsky
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: History
  • Page: 277
  • View: 9652
DOWNLOAD NOW »

The New York Times Book Review

The New York Times Book Review

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Books
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 7670
DOWNLOAD NOW »

The zamindar's bahu

The zamindar's bahu

the saga of a daughter-in-law in feudal India

  • Author: Krishna Rajvir
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Indic fiction (English)
  • Page: 263
  • View: 4342
DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Illustrated Weekly of India

The Illustrated Weekly of India

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category:
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 1096
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Saturday Review

Saturday Review

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: American literature
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 2911
DOWNLOAD NOW »

West Coast Review of Books

West Coast Review of Books

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Books
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 3568
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Die Bücherdiebin

Die Bücherdiebin

Roman

  • Author: Markus Zusak
  • Publisher: cbj Verlag
  • ISBN: 3894804270
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 592
  • View: 5634
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Selbst der Tod hat ein Herz ... Molching bei München. Hans und Rosa Hubermann nehmen die kleine Liesel Meminger bei sich auf – für eine bescheidene Beihilfe, die ihnen die ersten Kriegsjahre kaum erträglicher macht. Für Liesel jedoch bricht eine Zeit voller Hoffnung, voll schieren Glücks an – in dem Augenblick, als sie zu stehlen beginnt. Anfangs ist es nur ein Buch, das im Schnee liegen geblieben ist. Dann eines, das sie aus dem Feuer rettet. Dann Äpfel, Kartoffeln und Zwiebeln. Das Herz von Rudi. Die Herzen von Hans und Rosa Hubermann. Das Herz von Max. Und das des Todes. Denn selbst der Tod hat ein Herz. „Die Bücherdiebin“ ist eine Liebesgeschichte, eine Hommage an Bücher und Worte und eine Erinnerung an die Macht der Sprache, die im Roman von Markus Zusak viele Facetten zeigt: den lakonisch-distanzierten Ton des Erzählers, Poesie und Zuversicht – und die reduzierte Sprache der Nazipropaganda.

Quill & Quire

Quill & Quire

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Book industries and trade
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 9883
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Choices

Choices

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: High interest-low vocabulary books
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 6180
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Fortean Times

Fortean Times

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Curiosities and wonders
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 3245
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The journal of strange phenomena.

Blackbird House

Blackbird House

  • Author: Alice Hoffman
  • Publisher: Alice Hoffman
  • ISBN: 0345455932
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 238
  • View: 7948
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Presents a series of interlinking stories that capture the lives and fortunes of the occupants of an old Massachusetts house over the course of two centuries.

The Orange Judd Illinois Farmer

The Orange Judd Illinois Farmer

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category:
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 8335
DOWNLOAD NOW »