Search Results for "pride-and-joy-a-moving-saga-of-a-troubled-family-and-true-love"

Pride and Joy

Pride and Joy

A moving saga of a troubled family and true love

  • Author: Dee Williams
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 0755383362
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 311
  • View: 7631
DOWNLOAD NOW »
On the eve of war, a young woman faces struggles in life and love... Dee Williams writes a heart-breaking saga in Pride and Joy - a tale of the powerful bond between siblings, and the search for true love. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Dilly Court. For sixteen-year-old Mary Harris, growing up in Rotherhithe in 1934 has its ups and downs. She has a good job in a biscuit factory and a best friend, Liz, who's fun to be with, but she's worried about her younger brother Eddie. Eddie is a difficult child whose bad behaviour affects the whole family. Although Mary's stepfather Ted denies losing his temper with the boy, Mary's seen the bruises on Eddie's small body. She wishes her parents would take Eddie to a specialist as perhaps then they would find out what's wrong with him. Mary escapes her problems for a while when she meets Liz's handsome brother Billy, who's a sailor. And when a fortune-teller predicts romance is in the air, Mary's sure that Billy is the one for her. But the future holds some surprises for Mary, and there's heartbreak to come before she can find true love. What readers are saying about Pride and Joy: 'This moving story is a wonderful read, set in wartime Rotherhithe but with a new angle. I enjoyed it immensely and was very pleased with the way it ended' 'Brilliant storyline, could not put the book down' 'Excellent reading - five stars'

The Bellamy Saga

The Bellamy Saga

  • Author: John Pearson
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
  • ISBN: 1448210720
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 3854
DOWNLOAD NOW »
First published in 1976, this fictional biography is the intimate and detailed portrait of the celebrated Bellamy family of the TV show Upstairs, Downstairs. No family in the past century - excepting perhaps the Forsytes - has been so dramatically exposed to public stare as the Bellamys of Eaton Place. Drawing from the diaries of Richard Bellamy, the personal letters of Lady Majorie, the Southwold Papers in the British Museum, as well as his own friendship with James Bellamy and his conversations with Mrs. Elizabeth (Bellamy) Wallace shortly before her recent death in New York City, John Pearson has written a sensitive and finely detailed portrait of this patrician English family. The Bellamys could not have anticipated the extraordinary interest that their lives have generated in Europe and America through the award-winning television series Upstairs, Downstairs. Here, Mr. Pearson chronicles the Bellamys' complex, stormy, and passionate lives during the years between 1884 and 1929, when they reigned at 165 Eaton Place. An exciting and intriguing narrative in its own right, The Bellamy Saga is also a tribute to the surviving relatives and friends who consented - although some of them did so reluctantly - to relinquish much of the privacy they cherish. John Pearson is also the author of All the Money in the World (previously titled Painfully Rich), now a major motion picture directed by Ridley Scott film and starring Michelle Williams, Mark Wahlberg and Christopher Plumber (nominated for the Oscar for Best Supporting Actor).

Down Our Street

Down Our Street

Friendship, family and love collide in this wartime saga (Molly and Nellie series, Book 4)

  • Author: Joan Jonker
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 075539030X
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 396
  • View: 4930
DOWNLOAD NOW »
With a double wedding on the cards, Liverpool's best-loved neighbours plan for an unforgettable day. In Down Our Street, Joan Jonker brings us another instalment of her hugely popular Molly and Nellie series, as the two friends get up to more mischief in their beloved Liverpool. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Lindsey Hutchinson. 'Hilarious but touching' - Woman's Realm The Second World War is finally over and best friends Molly Bennett and Nellie McDonough are bursting with happiness. Their beloved sons are coming home at last and their eldest children are planning to marry each other. When a double wedding is announced, Molly is determined to give her two beautiful daughters a day to remember for the rest of their lives. Meanwhile Nellie's daughter Lily has a boyfriend whom no one likes. When he brings trouble to their door, Nellie's friends in the street are ready to face it. And there's a handsome young chap just waiting in the wings for Lily... What readers are saying about Down Our Street: 'This book is like a breath of fresh air, never have I laughed so much and also cried at the antics of Molly and Nellie' 'A lovely story that will make you laugh out loud and shed a tear. A story that will touch every emotion. It's so well written that it makes you feel a part of the families'

The Girl from the Tyne

The Girl from the Tyne

Emotions run high in this gripping family saga!

  • Author: Melody Sachs
  • Publisher: Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.
  • ISBN: 1785762869
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 320
  • View: 9966
DOWNLOAD NOW »
YOU CAN'T CHOOSE YOUR FAMILY! - for fans of Kitty Neale and Nadine Dorries. Melody Sachs brings us her gritty and charming World War II saga. We promise you won't be able to put it down! When ballroom dancer Alice Rooney seduces Jack Wood, he soon finds himself in a volatile marriage. Yet from the moment he meets his baby daughter, he knows he will do anything to make her happy. But at the start of WWII Jack is drafted by the Air Force, and little Lizzie is left with her mother. Damaged and troubled, Alice grows increasingly unstable and Lizzie finds herself the focus of her mother's frustration and anger. It's only when Lizzie arrives at Madame Bella's Academy for the Theatrical Arts that she blossoms. Will she escape her mother's clutches and can her dream of a glittering theatrical future ever come true?

The Canada Farmer

The Canada Farmer

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Agriculture
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 2764
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Quill & Quire

Quill & Quire

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Book industries and trade
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 8942
DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Spectator

The Spectator

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category:
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 656
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Holiday

Holiday

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Travel
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 9862
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Congressional Record

Congressional Record

Proceedings and Debates of the ... Congress

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Law
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 2185
DOWNLOAD NOW »

School Library Journal

School Library Journal

SLJ.

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Children's libraries
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 4503
DOWNLOAD NOW »