Search Results for "a-matter-of-loyalty-a-very-english-mystery-book-3"

A Matter of Loyalty

A Matter of Loyalty

  • Author: Elizabeth Edmondson
  • Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
  • ISBN: 9781542046589
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 334
DOWNLOAD NOW »
January 1954. Mists cover the hills around Selchester. Someone at the research facility known as the Atomic is leaking secrets to Soviet Russia, and when nuclear scientist Bruno Rothesay goes missing, the British Intelligence Services are convinced he's the mole. Hugo Hawksworth isn't so sure. Then a body turns up, and Hugo's instincts are proven correct. But if Rothesay wasn't selling secrets to the Soviets, who is? As Hugo digs deeper into buried connections and unlikely coincidences, he knows there's more to this case than his London superiors believe. But following his instincts will pit him against the Establishment--and tangle him once again in the poisonous legacy of the late Lord Selchester. As he closes in on the truth, Hugo finds himself confronted by an adversary who will stop at nothing, in a case that will prove the most personal of his career. With a touch of Downton Abbey, a whisper of Agatha Christie and a nod to John Le Carr�, A Matter Of Loyalty is the third and final book in this delightfully classic and witty murder-mystery series.

Defend and Betray (William Monk Mystery, Book 3)

Defend and Betray (William Monk Mystery, Book 3)

An atmospheric and compelling Victorian mystery

  • Author: Anne Perry
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 1472211790
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 512
  • View: 3401
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Can Monk beat the clock and prevent an innocent woman from going to the gallows, before it's too late? The third novel featuring Investigator Monk is a thrilling mystery of Victorian England from the acclaimed author Anne Perry. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry. 'A richly textured and timeless novel of suspense. Anne Perry's Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters' - Faye Kellerman After a brilliant military career in India, General Thaddeus Carlyon finally meets death not in the frenzy of battle, but at a London dinner party, in what appears to be a freak accident. But the General's beautiful wife readily confesses that she killed him - a story she clings to even under the shadow of the gallows. Investigator William Monk, nurse Hester Latterly and Oliver Rathbone, counsel for the defence, work feverishly to break down the silence of the accused and her husband's proud family; and with the trial only days away they inch towards the appalling heart of the mystery. What readers are saying about Defend and Betray: 'As brilliant and absorbing as ever... This was gripping. Great writing and brilliant characters' 'Catches the atmosphere of the time really well. Anne Perry always tells a great story, keeps you turning pages and always wanting more' 'A very good read. Hooked from front page to last'

The Saturday Review of Politics, Literature, Science and Art

The Saturday Review of Politics, Literature, Science and Art

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Art
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 2121
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Saturday Review

Saturday Review

Politics, Literature, Science and Art

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category:
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 2736
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Saintly Murders (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 5)

Saintly Murders (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 5)

Murder and intrigue in medieval Canterbury

  • Author: Paul Doherty
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 0755395654
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 225
  • View: 3203
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A miracle... or murder? Paul Doherty writes a gripping novel in Saintly Murders, the fifth Kathryn Swinbrooke mystery. Perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Ellis Peters. In the late summer of 1472, medieval physician and apothecary Kathryn Swinbrooke is summoned to investigate yet another puzzling situation in Canterbury. She is appointed by the Archbishop as Advocatus Diaboli - the Devil's Advocate - to argue against the beatification of Roger Atworth, a friar in the Order of the Sack and confessor of King Edward's mother. Atworth has died under mysterious circumstances, and there are rumours afloat of miraculous happenings surrounding his body. When Kathryn begins asking questions at the friary about Atworth's death, she discovers that the logical explanation is murder, not a miracle. But Kathryn suspects a link between his death and that of an English spy outside the friary. With the murderer still on the loose, what began as a search for the town's ills becomes Kathryn's pursuit of a killer... What readers are saying about the Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries: 'The sense of menace, depth of characterization and interesting cast of characters make this book, and the series, a brilliant read' 'A great romp through medieval England' 'Superb plot and characters. Kathryn is so interesting and insight into the history of the time is so well documented. You feel as if you were there and can even smell it!'

Skinner's Trail (Bob Skinner series, Book 3)

Skinner's Trail (Bob Skinner series, Book 3)

A gritty Edinburgh mystery of crime and murder

  • Author: Quintin Jardine
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 0755353552
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 512
  • View: 9526
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A gangland killing sets Edinburgh's police chief on a deadly quest... Skinner is on the trail of organised crime and a cold-blooded killer in Skinner's Trail, the gripping third novel in Quintin Jardine's bestselling crime series. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and James Oswald. 'Engrossing, believable characters... captures Edinburgh beautifully... It all adds up to a very good read' - Edinburgh Evening News First the joyous birth of Skinner's son... then the grim reality of murder in one of Edinburgh's prosperous suburbs. A man has been found knifed in a luxury villa. The victim had run a chain of laundrettes, saunas and pubs throughout the city, but for some time the police suspected these to be the front for a drug distribution network. As the murder investigation continues without result, it seems the killer was particularly cunning in covering his tracks - leaving no clues or leads to pursue. But then another seemingly minor crime - involving property fraud - takes Assistant Chief Constable Bob Skinner in a new direction. Moving from Scotland to northern Spain, then back to a chilling climax in Edinburgh, this complex and suspenseful thriller follows a tortuous and bloodsoaked trail involving vice, corruption and the merchants of death... What readers are saying about Skinner's Trail: 'All Quintin Jardine's books are a must read, you are hooked from the very first page. I can't get enough of them!' 'I rate Quintin Jardine among the finest crime writers ever' 'Five stars'

The Time of Murder at Mayerling (Nicholas Segalla series, Book 3)

The Time of Murder at Mayerling (Nicholas Segalla series, Book 3)

A thrilling mystery from 19th century Vienna

  • Author: Paul Doherty
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 0755395700
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 176
  • View: 4597
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A shocking shooting hides long-buried secrets... The Time of Murder at Mayerling is the third novel in Paul Doherty's Nicholas Segalla series. Perfect for fans of Anne Perry and C.J. Sansom. Vienna, 1889. Glittering entertainments hide a world of sinister political intrigue at the court of the Hapsburgs. But this protected bubble explodes when horrifying news comes to light that the heir to the throne, the handsome Archduke Rudolph, shot his mistress before turning the gun on himself at the imperial hunting lodge at Mayerling. Is there more to the story than meets the eye? Rumours of foul play soon began to surface as Vetsera's body is hurriedly buried in secrecy and the government suppress any inquiry. Scholar Nicholas Segalla is forced to risk his own life and uncover the truth behind the spectacular cover-up as he attempts to expose a murderer with a very surprising connection to the doomed prince. What readers are saying about Paul Doherty: 'Riveting story' 'Paul Doherty's books are a joy to read' 'The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of [Paul Doherty's] books'

A Dictionary of the English Language

A Dictionary of the English Language

In which the Words are Deduced from Their Originals, and Illustrated in Their Different Significations by Examples from the Best Writers. To which are Prefixed, a History of the Language, and an English Grammar

  • Author: Samuel Johnson
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Book brands (Owners' marks)
  • Page: 2
  • View: 9160
DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Darkening Glass (Mathilde of Westminster Trilogy, Book 3)

The Darkening Glass (Mathilde of Westminster Trilogy, Book 3)

Murder, mystery and mayhem in the court of Edward II

  • Author: Paul Doherty
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 0755370368
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 219
  • View: 5985
DOWNLOAD NOW »
As dark forces challenge Edward II's throne, will the King prevail? The Darkening Glass is the third novel in Paul Doherty's brilliant series featuring physician and lady-in-waiting to Queen Isabella, Mathilde of Westminster. Perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Michael Jecks. March 1312 and England is divided. Edward II is in conflict with his barons over royal favourite Gaveston, and Queen Isabella is momentously pregnant with the first union of Plantagenet and Capetian blood. Meanwhile, rebel Robert Bruce prowls the Scottish border seeking advancement. Mathilde of Westminster senses a challenge for the throne is imminent. When the great Earls step up their campaign, the King and Queen are forced to flee to a fortified priory in Tynemouth, now vulnerable to the Scottish marauders on land and Bruce's allies at sea. With threats all around, the royal party can only despair when one of their camp is murdered. Will Mathilde be able to find the perpetrator before the King loses control of the throne? What readers are saying about The Darkening Glass: 'The plot was effective and...the mood was atmospheric' 'Wonderfully brought to life' 'I saw the wrong side of midnight many times, as I was unable to put the book down! The many twists and turns of the plot, and the strength of the characters made this a memorable book'

A Dictionary of the English Language

A Dictionary of the English Language

  • Author: Robert Gordon Latham
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: English language
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 2910
DOWNLOAD NOW »