Search Results for "about-time"

About Time

About Time

Einstein's Unfinished Revolution

  • Author: Paul Davies
  • Publisher: Penguin UK
  • ISBN: 0141951982
  • Category: Science
  • Page: 320
  • View: 8822
DOWNLOAD NOW »
This is a book about the meaning of time, what it is, when it has started, how it flows and where to. It examines the consequences of Einstein's theory of relativity and offers startling suggestions about what recent research may reveal.

It's about Time

It's about Time

Couples and Careers

  • Author: Phyllis Moen
  • Publisher: Cornell University Press
  • ISBN: 9780801488375
  • Category: Business & Economics
  • Page: 436
  • View: 542
DOWNLOAD NOW »
How do two-career couples manage in a one-career world?It's about Time examines this mismatch between outdated scripts and the experiences of dual-earner couples. It broadens our understanding of occupational and family career strategies couples use in light of the widening gap between their real lives and the outdated work-hour and career-path roles, rules, and regulations they confront. It's about Time draws on the data from the Cornell Couples and Careers Study to demonstrate that: *Regardless of income, time is a scarce commodity in dual-earner households. With two jobs, two commutes, often long work hours, high job demands, business travel, several cars, children, ailing relatives, and/or pets - time is always an issue.*Time is built into jobs and career paths in ways that make continuous full-time (40 or typically more hours a week) paid work a fact of life in American society. *The multiple strands of life--career, family and personal--unfold over time. Spouses move through their life courses in tandem, with early choices - to have children or not, to work long hours or not, to switch jobs or not, to relocate for his or her career or not--all having long-term consequences for life quality and for gender inequality.The evidence from this book suggests that it is about time for the United States to confront the realities and needs of contemporary working couples and indeed, all members of the new workforce. To do so requires more than Band-Aid, short-term (and often short-sighted) policy remedies. It's about Time argues that it is essential to re-imagine and reconfigure work hours, workweeks, and occupational career paths in ways that address the widening gaps between the time needs and goals of workers and their families, at all ages and stages of the life course.

It's About Time

It's About Time

Understanding Einstein's Relativity

  • Author: N. David Mermin
  • Publisher: Princeton University Press
  • ISBN: 0691141274
  • Category: Science
  • Page: 208
  • View: 5108
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Time.

About Time

About Time

  • Author: Mark Currie
  • Publisher: Edinburgh University Press
  • ISBN: 0748687033
  • Category: Literary Criticism
  • Page: 176
  • View: 5911
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Why have theorists approached narrative primarily as a form of retrospect? Mark Currie argues that anticipation and other forms of projection into the future are vital for an understanding of narrative and its effects in the world.

It's About Time!

It's About Time!

10 Smart Strategies to Avoid Time Traps and Invest Yourself Where It Matters

  • Author: Carolyn Castleberry
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster
  • ISBN: 141659471X
  • Category: Religion
  • Page: 192
  • View: 935
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Award-winning reporter Carolyn Castleberry brings workable solutions to help women discover and apply the right strategies for time management in their lives, freeing them to invest themselves in what really matters. American women are in a time crisis. There's just not enough time. They are doing more but enjoying it less. Fueled by both internal and external pressures, they run from task to task without pausing to ask themselves, "Do I really want to do all this stuff? Why can't I get a handle on managing my time?" How can they find true time balance in their supercharged, over-scheduled lives? Carolyn Castleberry, anchor and co-host of Living the Life on ABC's Family Channel, has not only asked herself these questions, but she has interviewed countless accomplished newsmakers over the years. Determined to bring workable solutions to women, she commissioned a national survey on women and time. Roughly half of those surveyed feel busier than they did five years ago (50%), don't feel there's enough time to get everything done (45%), and say they don't have enough time for themselves (43%). One in three women (34%) described themselves as overwhelmed. This book delivers proven, effective strategies for time management. First, it offers women a chance to take a self-test to see where they fall on the "time-balance scale," a tool to assist the reader in diagnosing her time management style in order to apply the right strategies and biblical principles to fit her needs. Castleberry describes five major groups of women when it comes to time management: the Overwhelmed, the Procrastinators, the Pressured, the Self-Stressed, and the Balanced. Once diagnosed, readers discover the unique factors standing in their way of effectiveness. They explore the time traps that need to be avoided -- those habits, decisions, and disempowering thoughts and words that literally steal time. Then with smart biblical strategies in place, readers will discover how to select their true priorities and invest their talents, careers, and selves in living to do what really matters.

About Time

About Time

Speed, Society, People and the Environment

  • Author: Tim Aldrich
  • Publisher: Routledge
  • ISBN: 1351280627
  • Category: Business & Economics
  • Page: 160
  • View: 3912
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Where does all the time go? Despite the burgeoning army of machines designed to save us time – from cars and aeroplanes to dishwashers and microwaves – we don't seem to have any more of it on our hands. We simply fill the space we clear with more things to do – consuming more, spending more – and then look around for new ways of saving time. And so we spiral onwards, upwards, ever faster. Being busy has become a habit, and a habit that gives us high status – busy people are important people. The business of business is busy-ness. We are moving from a world in which the big eats the small, to a world where the fast eats the slow. But the fallout from a society hooked on speed is everywhere. It's affecting our health: 60 per cent of the adult population in the UK report that they suffer from stress, and more than half of these say that this has worsened over the last 12 months. It's affecting our family life, with a quarter of British families sharing a meal together only once a month. And it affects our environment too: air travel is a major source of carbon dioxide emissions, accelerating climate change as we speed around the world. And the faster we live, the faster we consume, the faster we waste energy and the faster we pollute the planet. The faster we seem to be running out of time. Is there something fundamentally wrong with the structure and values of this high-speed society? What are we running from and what are we running towards? Sustainable development is all about time. It's about trying to safeguard the health of the planet, and the people it supports, indefinitely, unconstrained by time. The idea of time offers a novel perspective on what sustainable development is all about. Looking at issues affecting society and the environment through the prism of time conveys the urgency of the challenge and leads us to solutions we might not have thought of before. About Time, edited by the think-tank Forum for the Future, brings together ten of the world's leading thinkers and writers, including Will Hutton, Baroness Mary Warnock, Sir Martin Rees, Ghillean Prance, Jay Griffiths (the author of the bestselling Pip Pip) and Jonathon Porritt, from disciplines including biology, business, sociology, ethnography, astronomy, philosophy, politics, history and sustainability in a collection of intriguing essays exploring the issue of time and how it relates to the environment, economy and society. The first half of this collection looks at different dimensions of time – from the history of time as a social phenomenon and cultural notions of time, to cosmological time and the difference between human and machine time. These "think-pieces" are followed by a series of more practical, solutions-oriented contributions, looking at how we deal with time in different contexts – from the slow food movement and time banks to long-term thinking in politics and what we can individually do to cope with the speed society. Contributions are liberally interspersed with boxes and brief pieces offering bite-sized facts, figures and insights relating to time and our everyday lives. About Time is a high-profile collection aimed at creating debate about where the values of our contemporary society are taking us. It will foster reflective thinking about different aspects of time, using the concept of time to communicate and illuminate the idea of sustainable development and question our idolatry of speed. In doing so, it aims to inspire and help decision-makers in business, government and elsewhere to appreciate the challenges of sustainable development, and inspire individuals to create change in their own lives. For readers of No Logo and Longitude, this book provides a thought-provoking twist, bringing together time and sustainability in a refreshing, provocative and accessible way.

About Time!

About Time!

120 Tips for Those with No Time

  • Author: Robyn Pearce
  • Publisher: Maruki Books
  • ISBN: 0958246009
  • Category: Personal information management
  • Page: 275
  • View: 4057
DOWNLOAD NOW »
If you've ever thought 'there must be a quicker way!' There is! This book is a 'quick-dip' of tried and true practical tips from real people - tips that will help anyone to find all those missing hours.

About Time

About Time

  • Author: Tom Cole
  • Publisher: Dramatists Play Service Inc
  • ISBN: 9780822200024
  • Category: Drama
  • Page: 56
  • View: 3541
DOWNLOAD NOW »
THE STORY: ABOUT TIME takes place in the condominium kitchen of an old married couple. Over the course of the day from breakfast and lunch to dinner and a late snack, the couple talk about everything under the sun, especially food, sex, children an

About Time

About Time

A First Look at Time and Clocks

  • Author: Bruce Koscielniak
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • ISBN: 0544128907
  • Category: Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Page: 32
  • View: 6756
DOWNLOAD NOW »
“[An] impressive history of timekeeping.”—Horn Book Bruce Koscielniak, in this Common Core text exemplar, tells the intriguing story of the many years spent tinkering and inventing to perfect the art of telling time. When time itself was undefined, no one knew the difference between a minute, an hour, and a day. Then people started creating tools to measure time. First they used the sun, the moon, and the water, but soon after people began using their knowledge about the natural world to build clocks and to create calendars made up of months and years. Centuries later, we have clocks and calendars all around us! This title has been selected as a Common Core Text Exemplar (Grades 4-5, Informational Texts)

About Time

About Time

Cosmology and Culture at the Twilight of the Big Bang

  • Author: Adam Frank
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster
  • ISBN: 1439169608
  • Category: History
  • Page: 432
  • View: 8855
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Offers an explanation for the origin of the universe with new theories from cosmology, including time with no beginning, parallel universes, and eternal inflation.