Search Results for "between-here-and-the-yellow-sea"

Between Here and the Yellow Sea

Between Here and the Yellow Sea

  • Author: Nic Pizzolatto
  • Publisher: MP Publishing
  • ISBN: 1596929138
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 272
  • View: 3584
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A debut collection of short fiction from this National Magazine Award in Fiction finalist. Set in a variety of Southern and Midwestern landscapes — from Missouri’s Ha Ha Tonka State Park to a crop circle at a Minnesotan farm — the stories in 'Between Here and the Yellow Sea' excavate the ambiguous terrain of the human heart. With a forceful and compassionate voice, Pizzolatto finds beauty in loneliness as his characters attempt to bridge the gulfs between themselves and others, past and present, and, sometimes, between their inner and outer selves. In this both heartbreaking and humorous collection, we meet a base-jumping, samurai park ranger who parachutes off the St. Louis Arch; a stained glass artist who struggles over his masterpiece and learns through great loss what his true subject will be; and a religious elementary school teacher who tries to understand her rebellious, militant son. In the title story, which first appeared in the Atlantic Monthly, an orphaned young man and his former high school football coach set out to kidnap the coach’s daughter from Los Angeles and bring her back to east Texas. With an assured, poignant voice, Pizzolatto places us at the crossroads of memory and desire, somewhere between here and the Yellow Sea.

Galveston

Galveston

  • Author: Nic Pizzolatto
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 0751554812
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 224
  • View: 8117
DOWNLOAD NOW »
'Recalls only the finest examples of the form' Dennis Lehane 'The elegance Pizzolatto brings to his heart-wrenching story makes it unforgettable' Daily Mail From the creator of the hit HBO series True Detective comes a powerful, gleaming-dark thriller rich with Southern atmosphere. Roy Cady is by his own admission 'a bad man'. With a snow flurry of cancer in his lungs and no one to live for, he's a walking time-bomb of violence. Following a fling with his boss's lover, he's sent on a routine assignment he knows is a death trap. Yet after a smoking spasm of violence, Roy's would-be killers are mostly dead and he is mostly alive. Before Roy makes his getaway, he finds a beaten-up woman in the apartment, and sees something in her frightened, defiant eyes that causes a crucial decision. He takes her with him on the run from New Orleans to Galveston, Texas, permanently entwining their fate along a highway of seedy bars and fleabag hotels, a world of treacherous drifters, pick-up trucks, and ashed-out hopes, with death just a car-length behind. Nic Pizzolatto's highly acclaimed, Edgar Award-nominated thriller announces the arrival of a major new talent for fans of Dennis Lehane, James Lee Burke and Breaking Bad. 'A good old Southern gothic treat of a road trip through Texas and Louisiana. Think James Lee Burke meets Midnight In The Garden of Good And Evil with shades of Paris, Texas' Sam Baker, The Pool 'Terrific dialogue' Kirkus 'Pizzolatto's insightful portrayal is rough and tumble real. He vividly captures Galveston in all its desperate vulnerability' Publishers Weekly 'A truly original and gifted writer' Litro

Die gelbe Tapete

Die gelbe Tapete

Erzählung

  • Author: Charlotte Perkins Gilman
  • Publisher: Dörlemann eBook
  • ISBN: 3038209589
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 96
  • View: 7231
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Eine junge Frau braucht nach der Geburt ihres Kindes Erholung, meint ihr Ehemann und mietet ein Sommerhaus, damit sie zur nötigen Ruhe kommt. Die junge Mutter fühlt sich wohl in dem schönen Haus, einzig der Raum mit der gelben Tapete bereitet ihr Unbehagen. Die in sich verschlungenen Muster scheinen von Tag zu Tag bedrohlicher und flößen ihr Angst ein. Was nur verbirgt sich hinter der Tapete? Unheimlich und beklemmend liest sich diese Geschichte in der Tradition von Edgar Allan Poe. Ein Schlüsseltext der amerikanischen Literatur in der Neuübersetzung von Christian Detoux.

Between Clouds and the Sea

Between Clouds and the Sea

  • Author: Frank Ryan
  • Publisher: FPR-Books Ltd
  • ISBN: 187408243X
  • Category:
  • Page: 245
  • View: 3963
DOWNLOAD NOW »
This is an abridged paperback version of Frank's novel, Taking Care of Harry. Mylie O'Farrell is 19 years old. By day he works as a health care assistant in a psychiatric unit in London. Off duty, he indulges his interest in music, girls and wild nights on the town with his friends, Janus and Rich, who share a ramshackle house in Westminster they call 'The Palace'. Everything changes when ex-army officer "Harry" is admitted to the Unit after purportedly trying to strangle his wife, Muriel. Harry, who is suffering from melancholia, has no visitors so Mylie takes a special interest in the cantankerous old man. Through a series of stormy if humour-laden encounters, the young man and old man become friends, each allowing the other a glimpse into the deepest and most intimate secrets of their lives. This is also the story of the women in their lives, of Muriel and Tabi. As, little by little, Mylie realises that Harry is harbouring a secret terror, he sets about bringing this into the open so that his friend can be set free. It is suffused with great joy, sorrow, and a haunting sense of beauty - a funny, beautiful and poignant story that has inspired film makers and poets.

The Golden Mountain

The Golden Mountain

The Autobiography of a Korean Immigrant, 1895-1960

  • Author: Easurk Emsen Charr
  • Publisher: University of Illinois Press
  • ISBN: 9780252065132
  • Category: Biography & Autobiography
  • Page: 315
  • View: 396
DOWNLOAD NOW »
At the age of ten and unaccompanied by any adult, Easurk Charr came to Hawaii in 1904, a convert to Christianity who hoped to earn enough money to acquire an education and return to his native Korea as a medical missionary. The Golden Mountain is Charr's story of his early years in Korea, his migration to Hawaii and the mainland, and the joys and pain of his life as one of some seven thousand Koreans who migrated to the United States between 1903 and 1905. Charr tells eloquently of his difficulties in becoming a naturalized citizen, even after serving in the army, of his sergeant's encouragement of his quest for citizenship, his return to San Francisco and a job in a cousin's barbershop during the Depression, and of the American Legion's help when his Korean-born wife was threatened with deportation proceedings after her student visa expired. After becoming a naturalized citizen, Charr took the civil service examination and, for the remainder of his working life, was employed by the U.S. government, first in Nevada and then in Portland, Oregon. The introduction and annotations by Wayne Patterson provide a broader perspective on both Charr and the Korean immigrant experience.

The Near East: Dalmatia, Greece and Constantinople

The Near East: Dalmatia, Greece and Constantinople

  • Author: Robert Hichens
  • Publisher: Library of Alexandria
  • ISBN: 1465523413
  • Category:
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 6111
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Directions for Sailing to and from the East Indies, China, New Holland, Cape of Good Hope, and the Interjacent Ports

Directions for Sailing to and from the East Indies, China, New Holland, Cape of Good Hope, and the Interjacent Ports

  • Author: James Horsburgh
  • Publisher: Cambridge University Press
  • ISBN: 1108077293
  • Category: History
  • Page: 548
  • View: 1878
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The standard nineteenth-century mariner's directory, charting the routes to India and China, reissued here in its 1809-11 first edition.

Diving and Snorkeling the Sea of Cortez

Diving and Snorkeling the Sea of Cortez

  • Author: Susan Speck,Bruce Williams
  • Publisher: AuthorHouse
  • ISBN: 1425932029
  • Category: Health & Fitness
  • Page: 92
  • View: 1633
DOWNLOAD NOW »
I have written this book for everyone who used drugs or is using drugs, and is in prison or treatment. I have written this book for your kids and family who had to go through pain and trials and were strong enough to make it through. I want to say to all the parents out there who are using, please read my book, see and feel my pain, my hurt, my loss, and understand that your children are hurting. Every time you want to get high think about what I went through; think about how you don't want your children hurt. Never say never you never know what's happening to your kids when you are leading a life in drugs and crime. Let my book awake you out of your coma and break those generational curses that have been passed down to you, and save your kids from heartache and pain. Let life come back into your mind, body, and soul because you can't stay lost forever. Let this book rock the very foundation you stand on because it's all true. You have to love yourself so you can love your kids. Trust in God no matter what your beliefs are; trust in God, he will carry you, he will be your first husband, your father, and your mother, even your best friend. If you're using, please wake up; even if you don't have any kids you are worth it, you are loved, you are human. Learn to forgive, and forgive yourself. Speak life into yourself, not death; no matter how hard life is get up and keep on keeping on. And for all the kids who are going through this, stay strong and faithful in God the man above, and never, never do drugs no matter how sad or depressed you get. Remember if you never take your first hit you will never have to quit! Stay clean and drug-free for all your days on earth. Look at me, I am drug-free despite what I've been through, so have faith and stay strong. Lots of love, Marlisha

Recent Developments in the Law of the Sea and the Japanese-Korean Fishery Dispute

Recent Developments in the Law of the Sea and the Japanese-Korean Fishery Dispute

  • Author: Guenter Weissberg
  • Publisher: Springer
  • ISBN: 9401760292
  • Category: Law
  • Page: 135
  • View: 4386
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Geology and Sedimentology of the Korean Peninsula

Geology and Sedimentology of the Korean Peninsula

  • Author: Sung Kwun Chough
  • Publisher: Newnes
  • ISBN: 0124055125
  • Category: Science
  • Page: 348
  • View: 7795
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Written by one of Korea's most respected earth scientists, Geology and Sedimentology of the Korean Peninsula analyzes sedimentary facies, basin evolution, and sequence stratigraphy to provide answers to depositional processes and environmental changes through the Earth's history, including tectonic events, climate changes, and sea-level fluctuations. This is one of the first books covering the geology of the Korean peninsula. It offers an in-depth exploration of this region, which also allows comparison with sedimentary basins around the world. This is an important book for students, researchers, and professionals working in the geography of East Asia. The study of sedimentary basins can help advance basic understanding of how the Earth's crust developed, as well as offer insights into the influence of environmental and climate change. Sedimentary basins are also of interest due to their importance in the exploration and recovery of natural resources, including oil and gas, water, and industrial minerals. Provides fundamental information on the geology of East Asia Serves as a guide for integrated sedimentary basin analysis, providing a detailed aid for comparative research Contains over 200 figures to illustrate the analysis