Search Results for "blood-and-honey"

Blood for Honey

Blood for Honey

  • Author: Erin Suurkoivu
  • Publisher: Lulu.com
  • ISBN: 1387186256
  • Category: Poetry
  • Page: 130
  • View: 4926
DOWNLOAD NOW »
In "Blood for Honey," Erin Suurkoivu invites you to explore an alternate universe. Discounting today's celebrity worship and city life, she retreats within and reflects on love, beauty, and what it means to be truly free. In a unique voice that is both haunting and alluring, she writes of California and Europe, nature and regret, and ultimately confronts her demons. Alternately both witty and insightful, poignant and cruel, her poems provide an intriguing journey through the landscape of her imagination.

Travels in Blood and Honey

Travels in Blood and Honey

Becoming a Beekeeper in Kosovo

  • Author: Elizabeth Gowing
  • Publisher: Andrews UK Limited
  • ISBN: 1908493097
  • Category: Travel
  • Page: 279
  • View: 1161
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Kosovo: the name conjures up blood: ethnic cleansing and war. This book reveals another side to the newest country in the world—a land of generous families, strong tastes and lush landscapes: a land of honey.

Blood And Honey

Blood And Honey

  • Author: Graham Hurley
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 1409133516
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 544
  • View: 4076
DOWNLOAD NOW »
'There is no one writing better police procedurals today.' Daily Telegraph Is time running out for DI Joe Faraday? The discovery of a headless corpse on the rocks below the cliffs on the Isle of Wight is only the beginning of a journey for DI Joe Faraday. It's a journey which takes him right to the heart of the grim trade in human cargo from the crippled societies of the Balkans. From cheap labour to prostitution, Portsmouth, like every other city in the UK is home to untold human misery; a black economy built on illegal immigration. Joe Faraday is determined to find the real criminals that lie behind the tabloid hysteria. DC Paul Winter on the other hand is determined only to find a way out of the disciplinary action that threatens his entire career. A burgeoning relationship with a young prostitute isn't exactly helping his cause. And for Winter, it's beginning to look as if time is running out... Why readers love Graham Hurley: 'There is no one writing better police procedurals today.' Daily Telegraph 'Well-written and plotted, utterly convincing and really exciting... Excellent' Daily Mail 'One of the great talents of British police procedurals... every book he delivers is better than the last' Independent on Sunday Fans of Ian Rankin, Peter James and Peter Robinson will love Graham Hurley: Faraday and Winter 1. Turnstone 2. The Take 3. Angels Passing 4. Deadlight 5. Cut to Black 6. Blood and Honey 7. One Under 8. The Price of Darkness 9. No Lovelier Death 10. Beyond Reach 11. Borrowed Light 12. Happy Days Jimmy Suttle 1. Western Approaches 2. Touching Distance 3. Sins of the Father 4. The Order of Things * Each Graham Hurley novel can be read as a standalone or in series order *

The Land of Blood and Honey

The Land of Blood and Honey

The Rise of Modern Israel

  • Author: Martin van Creveld
  • Publisher: Macmillan
  • ISBN: 9781429943680
  • Category: History
  • Page: 368
  • View: 1599
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The definitive one-volume history of Israel by its most distinguished historian From its Zionist beginnings at the end of the nineteenth century through the past sixty, tumultuous years, the state of Israel has been, as van Creveld argues, "the greatest success story in the entire twentieth century." In this crisp volume, he skillfully relates the improbable story of a nationless people who, given a hot and arid patch of land and coping with every imaginable obstacle, founded a country that is now the envy of surrounding states. While most studies on Israel focus on the political, this encompassing history weaves together the nation's economic, social, cultural and religious narratives while also offering diplomatic solutions to help Israel achieve peace. Without question, this is the best one-volume history of Israel and its people.

Blood and honey

Blood and honey

a Balkan war journal

  • Author: Ron Haviv,Chuck Sudetic,Bernard Kouchner,David Rieff
  • Publisher: TV Books Inc
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: History
  • Page: 189
  • View: 7944
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Honey brings together some of the top names in reporting on the conflict in the Balkans. Ron Haviv, the first Western journalist to capture Serbian atrocities on film and one of the premier photographic chroniclers of the conflict, offers a selection of photos that bridge the gap between the soldiers and refugees in the Balkans and the stark but dignified reality of everyday life for the Croatian, Serbian, Albanian, Slovenian, and Bosnian people. Chuck Sudetic, the leading correspondent of The New York Times in the former Yugoslavia for much of the recent conflicts, explains the price of war for the peoples of the Balkans and the powerful forces that underlie the cyclical escalations of emotion there. Sudetic portrays a country whose long-held ethnic hatreds have been systematically exploited by two men -- Slobodan Milosevic of Serbia and Franjo Tudjman of Croatia -- who gained power by inciting fierce nationalist passions. Blood and Honey is an unforgettable portrait of life amid the ravages of war.

Of Blood and Honey

Of Blood and Honey

  • Author: Stina Leicht
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster
  • ISBN: 1597802999
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 288
  • View: 2695
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Liam never knew who his father was. The town of Derry had always assumed that he was the bastard of a protestant — his mother never spoke of him, and Liam assumed he was dead. But when the war between the fallen and the fey began to heat up, Liam and his family are pulled into a conflict that they didn't know existed. A centuries old conflict between supernatural forces seems to mirror the political divisions in 1970's era Ireland, and Liam is thrown headlong into both conflicts! Only the direct intervention of Liam's real father, and a secret catholic order dedicated to fighting "The Fallen" can save Liam... from the mundane and supernatural forces around him, and from the darkness that lurks within him.

Cantos to Blood and Honey

Cantos to Blood and Honey

  • Author: Adrian Castro
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Literary Criticism
  • Page: 152
  • View: 9362
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Articulating the rhythm and flavor of an Afro-Caribbean-U.S. search for a cohesive identity.

Teutonic Mythology

Teutonic Mythology

  • Author: Jacob Grimm,James Steven Stallybrass
  • Publisher: Cambridge University Press
  • ISBN: 1108047068
  • Category: History
  • Page: 442
  • View: 1918
DOWNLOAD NOW »
An exhaustive study of Germanic folklore by linguist and philologist Jacob Grimm, first published in English between 1880 and 1888.

In Cold Blood

In Cold Blood

  • Author: Truman Capote
  • Publisher: Transaction Publishers
  • ISBN: 1412848180
  • Category:
  • Page: 343
  • View: 9244
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Servant of the Bones

Servant of the Bones

A Novel

  • Author: Anne Rice
  • Publisher: Ballantine Books
  • ISBN: 030757590X
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 432
  • View: 8913
DOWNLOAD NOW »
In a new and major novel, the creator of fantastic universes o vampires and witches takes us now into the world of Isaiah and Jeremiah, and the destruction of Solomon's Temple, to tell the story of Azriel, Servant of the Bones. He is ghost, genii, demon, angel--pure spirit made visible. He pours his heart out to us as he journeys from an ancient Babylon of royal plottings and religious upheavals to Europe of the Black Death and on to the modern world. There he finds himself, amidst the towers of Manhattan, in confrontation with his own human origins and the dark forces that have sought to condemn him to a life of evil and destruction. From the Hardcover edition.