Search Results for "broken-circle"

Broken Circle

Broken Circle

The Dark Legacy of Indian Residential Schools

  • Author: Theodore Fontaine
  • Publisher: Heritage House Publishing Co
  • ISBN: 192693606X
  • Category: Biography & Autobiography
  • Page: 208
  • View: 1682
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Theodore (Ted) Fontaine lost his family and freedom just after his seventh birthday, when his parents were forced to leave him at an Indian residential school by order of the Roman Catholic Church and the Government of Canada. Twelve years later, he left school frozen at the emotional age of seven. He was confused, angry and conflicted, on a path of self-destruction. At age 29, he emerged from this blackness. By age 32, he had graduated from the Civil Engineering Program at the Northern Alberta Institute of Technology and begun a journey of self-exploration and healing. In this powerful and poignant memoir, Ted examines the impact of his psychological, emotional and sexual abuse, the loss of his language and culture, and, most important, the loss of his family and community. He goes beyond details of the abuses of Native children to relate a unique understanding of why most residential school survivors have post-traumatic stress disorders and why succeeding generations of First Nations children suffer from this dark chapter in history. Told as remembrances described with insights that have evolved through his healing, his story resonates with his resolve to help himself and other residential school survivors and to share his enduring belief that one can pick up the shattered pieces and use them for good.

Broken Circle

Broken Circle

  • Author: Christopher Dinsdale
  • Publisher: Dundurn
  • ISBN: 1459716604
  • Category: Juvenile Fiction
  • Page: 104
  • View: 2496
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Angry at missing a week of summer video game entertainment, Jesse, a twelve-year-old boy of European/Native American descent, grudgingly follows through with his deceased father’s request that he join his Uncle Matthew and cousin Jason at Six Islands, on Georgian Bay, for a special camping trip. Uncle Matthew explains that Jesse’s father wanted Jason’s vision quest to be his introduction to their native culture. During their first night around the camp-fire, it is Jesse who has a vision, and the adventure begins. Not only is he swept back in time four hundred years, but he is transformed into a majestic, white-tailed deer. He must now survive the expert hunting skills of his ancestors while somehow rescuing his people before they are destroyed by warfare.

The Broken Circle

The Broken Circle

A Search for Wisdom in the Nuclear Age

  • Author: Stephen Most,Lynn Grasberg
  • Publisher: Stephen Most
  • ISBN: 9780891060383
  • Category: Nuclear arms control
  • Page: 130
  • View: 9446
DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Broken Circle

The Broken Circle

A Mountain Family's Crisis

  • Author: K. C. Dalton
  • Publisher: AuthorHouse
  • ISBN: 1410746313
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 476
  • View: 9245
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Broken Circle

Broken Circle

  • Author: J.L. Powers,M.A. Powers
  • Publisher: Akashic Books
  • ISBN: 1617755958
  • Category: Young Adult Fiction
  • Page: 320
  • View: 6428
DOWNLOAD NOW »
"The Powerses' worldbuilding and writing will keep [readers] hooked. They will find themselves questioning what is fact and what is fiction and cheering Adam on as he journeys in this new, strange world. A gripping, philosophical paranormal thriller." --Kirkus Reviews "In this intriguing tale of life and death (literally, there are soul guides and a grim reaper), siblings J. L. and M. A. Powers explore the intersections of fear and power in relation to limbo, as Adam and his newfound friends try to become everything they are supposed to be...[This] will keep readers on the edge of their seats, wanting more--which is good, considering this is the first of a series." --Booklist "Fans of Holly Black and Cassandra Clare will enjoy this series starters." --School Library Journal "This novel was well constructed and rich in detail. The characters are well rounded and realistic...I enjoyed this novel very much and am excited for the next book in the series. I would recommend this novel to fans of Reaper fiction and any fantasy." --Life My Way (blog) "A very entertaining read." --Read Explore Repeat (blog) "If paranormal is your thing...give this one a try." --Reading Through Life "You won't want to put this one down: it's Hogwarts for soul guides, with family rivalries and developing powers aplenty. The writing flows and the characters have a rich depth to them, even with their own secrets that we may or may not find out before this volume ends. Thank goodness it's the first in a series; I have more to look forward to and so will you. Give this to your Gaiman fans, for sure; hand it to your Potterheads that are ready to meet a new group of friends. Give it to your readers that enjoy seeing life from a different point of view." --Mom Read It "Broken Circle is perfect for anyone who has ever been intrigued by figures of death (like the Grim Reaper, or the Underworld), enjoys YA fiction, and also likes boarding school settings." --Utopia State of Mind (blog) "Broken Circle's exacting mix of myth, science and the paranormal discloses that the whole world's destiny is at stake if powers and abilities like Adam's fall into the wrong, crepuscular hands. The Powerses have placed a sympathetic kid and his crew bravely in the midst of some very big questions (it's OK to think Harry Potter). What happens gives a different spin to everything on Earth and whatever may come after." --The Center for Fiction/Junior Edition column Adam wants nothing more than to be a "normal" teen, but his reality is quickly leaking normal. Afraid to sleep because of the monster that stalks his dreams, Adam's breakdown at school in front of his crush Sarah lands him in the hospital. As he struggles to cope with his day-to-day life, Adam can only vaguely comprehend some sort of future. His mother died when he was only four and his eccentric father--who might be an assassin, a voodoo god, the reincarnation of the Buddha, or something even stranger--is never available when Adam really needs him. Even his paranoid grandfather, who insists that people are "out to kill the entire family," is no help. Adam's life takes an even weirder turn when a fat man with a gold tooth and a medallion confronts his father regarding Adam's supposed "True Destiny." Adam is soon headed toward a collision with life, death, and the entities charged with shepherding souls of the newly dead, all competing to control lucrative territories where some nightmares are real and psychopomps of ancient legends walk the streets of North America.

Sunfall

Sunfall

The Broken Circle

  • Author: Aidan Bell
  • Publisher: iUniverse
  • ISBN: 0595502113
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 220
  • View: 6069
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A world exists behind your eyes. A place with its own history and culture, heroes and villains, gods and demons. A place where noble Guildsmen defend their nation-state of Guildshelm from threats within and without, using technology and endowments beyond our understanding. A place where a fallen society of hidden immortals bides its time for revolution. A place only a very rare, gifted few in our world can reach when they lie down to sleep. One of them is Crystal Molcott: Young, independent, strong, and trapped in an arranged marriage from birth. Meet Richard Cavalon, the young suitor who sways her heart, and Count Rahlkhlis, a power hungry madman manipulating the whole of Guildshelm toward a disaster sculpted to give him ultimate power. And meet the Amaranthines, the secret gods whose ancient failure trapped the world of Sunfall in darkness-and whom may yet be its only hope for salvation. Relax. Dream deep. Enter "Sunfall."

Broken Circle

Broken Circle

  • Author: D. H. Caldwell
  • Publisher: iUniverse
  • ISBN: 0595356621
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 280
  • View: 5260
DOWNLOAD NOW »
It's a typical muggy Carolina morning in 1932. Eight-year-old George Campbell is waiting on the front porch. Ahead, he sees the ambulance approach. He runs in the house to his father, yelling, "it's here, it's here!"In the bedroom lies his mother, the most stable, loving influence in his short life. The ambulance is here to take her away.She will not return.Left with a father who does not know how to care for the boy, George is shipped off to live with relatives; a sex-obsessed cousin; a philandering uncle; and an aunt who tries hard to give this motherless child the love and support that he lost.Broken Circle is an emotional journey that will tug at your heart and leave you rooting for George's long, painful search for acceptance.

HALO: Broken Circle

HALO: Broken Circle

  • Author: John Shirley
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster
  • ISBN: 1476783594
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 339
  • View: 1286
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Examines the lore of the popular video game franchise, beginning at the birth of the Covenant and the initial bargain between the Prophets and the Elites and recounting the betrayal, by a rebel splinter group, that ultimately brings destruction. 100,000 first printing.

The Broken Circle

The Broken Circle

  • Author: Shirley Wells
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 1780336330
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 224
  • View: 732
DOWNLOAD NOW »
While forensic psychologist Jill Kennedy is interviewing Claire Lawrence, a woman imprisoned for murdering her own daughter, Jill's colleague and sometime lover, DCI Max Trentham, is facing suspension for harassing local businessman, Thomas McQueen, the man Max believes is responsible for the murder, a year ago, of Muhammed Khalil. Then Bradley Johnson, a man who had recently moved from London to live at Kelton Manor in the quiet Lancashire village where Jill has made her home, is murdered. As Jill and Max hunt his killer, they find themselves drawn deeper into Johnson's dark past. Local residents are always wary of newcomers to the village, but one in particular, Jack Taylor, a man who regularly walks his dog through the wood where Johnson's body was found, seems especially determined to hinder the investigation. Then another name crops up, that of Max's adversary Thomas McQueen. Can he really be as innocent as he claims? Praise for Shirley Wells: 'A fantastic new novel... a thrilling whodunnit' People's Friend 'Wonderful, individual and realistic characters' Booklist 'Always a treat' Fiction Feast magazine 'A deft combination of police procedural and psychological thriller' Kirkus Reviews

The Broken Circle

The Broken Circle

  • Author: David P. Bridges
  • Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers
  • ISBN: 1625641524
  • Category: Literary Criticism
  • Page: 362
  • View: 5051
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Dr./Major Breathed chooses the cause of the Confederacy over medicine but will that decision cost him the love of his life? James is swept away into a war created by divisions between the northern and southern states. The Broken Circle has elements that mirror a Greek tragedy that sets up the paradoxical inner conflict of saving life as a doctor versus destroying life as a soldier. He re-channels his genius from medical to master warrior and ultimately becomes disillusioned and demoralized. Mollie Macgill utilizes her espionage talents as the two fall in love throughout the course of the war. In the final post-war chapters they both seek redemption from God for their greater devotion to the Southern cause. As they seek to repair their shattered souls the tragic brokenness of James's and Mollie's lives is revealed. The Broken Circle is full of historically accurate battle scenes and the characters are historical people.