Search Results for "broken-circle"

Broken Circle

Broken Circle

The Dark Legacy of Indian Residential Schools : a Memoir

  • Author: Theodore Fontaine
  • Publisher: Heritage House Publishing Co
  • ISBN: 192661366X
  • Category: Biography & Autobiography
  • Page: 190
  • View: 5320
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Theodore Fontaine lost his family and freedom before his seventh birthday, when his parents were forced to leave him at an Indian residential school. Twelve years later, he left school frozen at the emotional age of seven. He was confused, angry and conflicted, on a path of self-destruction. At age 29, he emerged from this blackness and began a journey of self-exploration and healing. In this powerful and poignant memoir, Theodore examines the impact of the loss of his language and culture and, most important, the loss of his family and community. He goes beyond details of the abuse of Indian children to provide readers with an understanding of why most residential-school survivors have stress disorders and why succeeding generations of First Nations children suffer from this chapter in history. Told as remembrances described with insights that have evolved in his healing, his story resonates with his resolve to help himself and other survivors and to share his enduring belief that one can pick up the shattered pieces and use them for good.

Broken Circle

Broken Circle

  • Author: J.L. Powers,M.A. Powers
  • Publisher: Akashic Books
  • ISBN: 1617755958
  • Category: Young Adult Fiction
  • Page: 320
  • View: 7863
DOWNLOAD NOW »
"The Powerses' worldbuilding and writing will keep [readers] hooked. They will find themselves questioning what is fact and what is fiction and cheering Adam on as he journeys in this new, strange world. A gripping, philosophical paranormal thriller." --Kirkus Reviews "In this intriguing tale of life and death (literally, there are soul guides and a grim reaper), siblings J. L. and M. A. Powers explore the intersections of fear and power in relation to limbo, as Adam and his newfound friends try to become everything they are supposed to be...[This] will keep readers on the edge of their seats, wanting more--which is good, considering this is the first of a series." --Booklist "Fans of Holly Black and Cassandra Clare will enjoy this series starters." --School Library Journal "This novel was well constructed and rich in detail. The characters are well rounded and realistic...I enjoyed this novel very much and am excited for the next book in the series. I would recommend this novel to fans of Reaper fiction and any fantasy." --Life My Way (blog) "A very entertaining read." --Read Explore Repeat (blog) "If paranormal is your thing...give this one a try." --Reading Through Life "You won't want to put this one down: it's Hogwarts for soul guides, with family rivalries and developing powers aplenty. The writing flows and the characters have a rich depth to them, even with their own secrets that we may or may not find out before this volume ends. Thank goodness it's the first in a series; I have more to look forward to and so will you. Give this to your Gaiman fans, for sure; hand it to your Potterheads that are ready to meet a new group of friends. Give it to your readers that enjoy seeing life from a different point of view." --Mom Read It "Broken Circle is perfect for anyone who has ever been intrigued by figures of death (like the Grim Reaper, or the Underworld), enjoys YA fiction, and also likes boarding school settings." --Utopia State of Mind (blog) "Broken Circle's exacting mix of myth, science and the paranormal discloses that the whole world's destiny is at stake if powers and abilities like Adam's fall into the wrong, crepuscular hands. The Powerses have placed a sympathetic kid and his crew bravely in the midst of some very big questions (it's OK to think Harry Potter). What happens gives a different spin to everything on Earth and whatever may come after." --The Center for Fiction/Junior Edition column Adam wants nothing more than to be a "normal" teen, but his reality is quickly leaking normal. Afraid to sleep because of the monster that stalks his dreams, Adam's breakdown at school in front of his crush Sarah lands him in the hospital. As he struggles to cope with his day-to-day life, Adam can only vaguely comprehend some sort of future. His mother died when he was only four and his eccentric father--who might be an assassin, a voodoo god, the reincarnation of the Buddha, or something even stranger--is never available when Adam really needs him. Even his paranoid grandfather, who insists that people are "out to kill the entire family," is no help. Adam's life takes an even weirder turn when a fat man with a gold tooth and a medallion confronts his father regarding Adam's supposed "True Destiny." Adam is soon headed toward a collision with life, death, and the entities charged with shepherding souls of the newly dead, all competing to control lucrative territories where some nightmares are real and psychopomps of ancient legends walk the streets of North America.

HALO: Broken Circle

HALO: Broken Circle

  • Author: John Shirley
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster
  • ISBN: 1476783594
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 339
  • View: 574
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Examines the lore of the popular video game franchise, beginning at the birth of the Covenant and the initial bargain between the Prophets and the Elites and recounting the betrayal, by a rebel splinter group, that ultimately brings destruction. 100,000 first printing.

Broken Circle: Verdan Chronicles:

Broken Circle: Verdan Chronicles:

  • Author: David Gerspach
  • Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc
  • ISBN: 1483445097
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 2942
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The war in Verdan is over. The death of Terek at Mount Bardoom has brought the world together and made the various races realize they can no longer live in isolation. But the peace promised by The Fourth Age is one they will still need to earn. In the frozen wastelands to the north there are those who seek to cheat death. If successful, they plan to reshape the world. Standing in their way is the same wizard whose death was recently celebrated, but now may be needed to protect those he once fought. In Izmir, a mysterious theft at Mount Bardoom sends the Lady Y’Shanarra on a quest and a collision course with those same schemes and ambitions. Trevor, finally reunited with his long lost son, seeks to return to Parthea. But first, he is reunited with friends and becomes entangled in a goblin revolution. And if recent revelations are true, it is goblin history which may yet provide clues to Verdan’s future.

The Broken Circle

The Broken Circle

A Search for Wisdom in the Nuclear Age

  • Author: Stephen Most,Lynn Grasberg
  • Publisher: Stephen Most
  • ISBN: 9780891060383
  • Category: Nuclear arms control
  • Page: 130
  • View: 470
DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Broken Circle: True Story of Murder and Magic In Indian Country

The Broken Circle: True Story of Murder and Magic In Indian Country

The Troubled Past and Uncertain Future of the FBI

  • Author: Rodney Barker
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster
  • ISBN: 1476770360
  • Category: True Crime
  • Page: 368
  • View: 5141
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Broken Circle recounts “The Chokecherry Massacre,” in which three New Mexico high-school students were charged with the murder of two Navajo Indian men, causing a violent, racial street riot that prompted the governor to call out the National Guard.

Broken Circles

Broken Circles

  • Author: Anna Haebich
  • Publisher: Fremantle Press
  • ISBN: 9781921888144
  • Category: History
  • Page: 728
  • View: 4189
DOWNLOAD NOW »
This major work reveals the dark heart of the history of the Stolen Generations in Australia. It shows that, from the earliest times of European colonization, Aboriginal Australians experienced the trauma of loss and separation, as their children were abducted, enslaved, institutionalized, and culturally remodeled. Providing a moving and comprehensive account of this tragic history, this study covers all Australian colonies, states, and territories. The analysis spans 200 years of white occupation and intervention, from the earliest seizure of Aboriginal children, through their systematic state removal and incarceration, and on to the harsh treatment of families under the assimilation policies of the 1950s and 1960s. The resistance struggle and achievements of Aboriginal people in defending their communities, regaining their rights and mending the broken circles of family life provides a compelling parallel story of determination and courage.

Broken Circle

Broken Circle

  • Author: Christopher Dinsdale
  • Publisher: Dundurn
  • ISBN: 1459716604
  • Category: Juvenile Fiction
  • Page: 104
  • View: 624
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Angry at missing a week of summer video game entertainment, Jesse, a twelve-year-old boy of European/Native American descent, grudgingly follows through with his deceased father’s request that he join his Uncle Matthew and cousin Jason at Six Islands, on Georgian Bay, for a special camping trip. Uncle Matthew explains that Jesse’s father wanted Jason’s vision quest to be his introduction to their native culture. During their first night around the camp-fire, it is Jesse who has a vision, and the adventure begins. Not only is he swept back in time four hundred years, but he is transformed into a majestic, white-tailed deer. He must now survive the expert hunting skills of his ancestors while somehow rescuing his people before they are destroyed by warfare.

Broken Circle

Broken Circle

  • Author: D. H. Caldwell
  • Publisher: iUniverse
  • ISBN: 0595356621
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 280
  • View: 6470
DOWNLOAD NOW »
It's a typical muggy Carolina morning in 1932. Eight-year-old George Campbell is waiting on the front porch. Ahead, he sees the ambulance approach. He runs in the house to his father, yelling, "it's here, it's here!"In the bedroom lies his mother, the most stable, loving influence in his short life. The ambulance is here to take her away.She will not return.Left with a father who does not know how to care for the boy, George is shipped off to live with relatives; a sex-obsessed cousin; a philandering uncle; and an aunt who tries hard to give this motherless child the love and support that he lost.Broken Circle is an emotional journey that will tug at your heart and leave you rooting for George's long, painful search for acceptance.