Search Results for "crowfall"

Crowfall

Crowfall

The Raven's Mark Book Three

  • Author: Ed McDonald
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 1473222125
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 464
  • View: 9491
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Crowfall is a gritty epic fantasy for fans of Mark Lawrence, Scott Lynch and Daniel Polansky. 'Dark, twisty and excellent . . . Grimdark with heart' Mark Lawrence A sorcerous cataclysm has hit the Range, the final defensive line between the Republic and the immortal Deep Kings. Tormenting red rains sweep the land, new monstrosities feed on fear in the darkness, and the power of the Nameless, the gods who protect the Republic, lies broken. The Blackwing captains who serve them are being picked off one by one, and even immortals have learned what it means to die. Meanwhile the Deep Kings have only grown stronger, and are poised to deliver a blow that will finally end the war. Ryhalt Galharrow stands apart from it all. He has been deeper into the wasteland known as the Misery than ever before. It has grown within him - changed him - but all power comes with a price, and now the ghosts of his past, formerly confined to the Misery, walk with him everywhere. They will even follow him, and the few surviving Blackwing captains, on one final mission into the darkness. You think you know Misery? You've not seen anything yet . . .

Crowfall

Crowfall

  • Author: Shanta Gokhale
  • Publisher: Penguin UK
  • ISBN: 9351181960
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 280
  • View: 5054
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Anima burns her diaries which record the long period of grief and mourning that followed Siddharth’s death in the Bombay riots. Bold lines of black on a blank canvas lead Ashesh to start a new painting. Sharada sings her own composition in the noon raag Shuddh Sarang at an evening concert. Crowfall unobtrusively follows an eventful year in the lives of a group of friends—a journalist, a teacher, a musician and three painters—in Mumbai. Like the cycle of seasons, love and violence and heartbreak and joy pursue each other. And it is friendship that provides uncompromising solace amidst the ravening pressures of life in the big city. Steeped in sensuous detail, Crowfall takes in art and identity, music and communal madness, and the clash of the old and the new to etch a finely nuanced portrait of contemporary Mumbai.

Poetry Wales

Poetry Wales

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: English poetry
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 1981
DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Achievement of Ted Hughes

The Achievement of Ted Hughes

  • Author: Keith Sagar
  • Publisher: Manchester University Press
  • ISBN: 9780719009396
  • Category:
  • Page: 377
  • View: 5398
DOWNLOAD NOW »

The poetry of Ted Hughes

The poetry of Ted Hughes

form and imagination

  • Author: Leonard M. Scigaj
  • Publisher: Univ of Iowa Pr
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Literary Criticism
  • Page: 369
  • View: 551
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Myth in the poetry of Ted Hughes

Myth in the poetry of Ted Hughes

a guide to the poems

  • Author: Stuart Hirschberg
  • Publisher: Barnes & Noble Imports
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Literary Criticism
  • Page: 239
  • View: 3973
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Climatological Data

Climatological Data

Wisconsin

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Meteorology
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 6404
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Taboo

Taboo

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: CUP Archive
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category:
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 3902
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Crow

Crow

  • Author: Ted Hughes
  • Publisher: Faber & Faber
  • ISBN: 0571258905
  • Category: Poetry
  • Page: 96
  • View: 7978
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Crow was Ted Hughes's fourth book of poems for adults and a pivotal moment in his writing career. In it, he found both a structure and a persona that gave his vision a new power and coherence. A deep engagement with history, mythology and the natural world combine to forge a work of impressive and unsettling force. 'English poetry has found a new hero and nobody will be able to read or write verse now without the black shape of Crow falling across the page.' Peter Porter

Bright Phoenix

Bright Phoenix

  • Author: Jeff Young
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
  • ISBN: 1474228828
  • Category: Drama
  • Page: 112
  • View: 8810
DOWNLOAD NOW »
I am flying. I swoop over the rooftops of Liverpool, over the waterfront and out to sea, following a trawler as it drags its nets through the wild sea. I am a sixteen-year-old bird boy, addicted to seagull blood, flying through sea-storms, up to the moon . . . On the run from tragedy, Lucas escaped Liverpool - then a city cast aside, a city crumbling. Now he's back, the old gang don't rush to welcome him home and ghosts haunt the ruins of their childhood playgrounds. The city chases renaissance: could his love affair with childhood sweetheart Lizzie blossom again too? Bright Phoenix is a wild, dream-like play about the carnival of the city at night; about a gang of rebel kids who still don't quite fit in as grown-ups; and about their love for a dying cinema and their mad plan to bring it back to life like a phoenix. Featuring live music, Jeff Young's epic and poetic play reveals the magic of forgotten places and dreaming beneath the stars. The play received its world premiere at the Liverpool Everyman on 3 October 2014.