Search Results for "dilly-s-lass"

Dilly's Lass

Dilly's Lass

  • Author: Rosie Goodwin
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 1472117816
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 448
  • View: 2996
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Years ago Dilly made the devastating decision to give her baby daughter to wealthy local family, the Farthings. She is still living with the consequences of her choice when the daughter she gave away all those years ago turns up on Dilly's doorstep, with a baby girl in tow, begging for help. Olivia has a secret she only feels safe telling Dilly. Sworn to secrecy, Dilly agrees to help, delighted to be spending time with her new granddaughter and daughter. She can't tell Max Farthing, the man who took in Olivia all those years ago and who Dilly has feelings for. For Max has problems of his own: he's married to Camilla, who has lost leave of her senses. Could Dilly and Max ever come together? Dilly's Lass is a wonderfully heartfelt portrayal of families beginning to rebuild after WW1, from much-loved author Rosie Goodwin.

Dilly's Sacrifice

Dilly's Sacrifice

The gripping saga of a mother's love from a much-loved Sunday Times bestselling author

  • Author: Rosie Goodwin
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 1472117832
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 464
  • View: 8676
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A desperate act to save her family . . . Dilly is devastated: with her husband unable to work and four children already at home, they cannot afford to feed their new-born baby. Heartbroken, she heads into the night to deliver her baby girl to the Farthing family at the big house. Having just lost their own daughter to measles, the Farthings adopt the baby and offer Dilly a lifeline: a job as a maid. This act of desperation will change the lives of both families irrevocably – and the onset of WWI even more so. Sons are taken, love is declared, hearts are broken and terrible acts are committed. Through it all, Dilly does everything she can to preserve her family. But when the chance for true love finally comes, will she choose family over her own happiness? A moving and uplifting story of family, loyalty and love, from much-loved author Rosie Goodwin.

Whispers

Whispers

A moving saga where the past and present threaten to collide...

  • Author: Rosie Goodwin
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 0755383834
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 347
  • View: 4866
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Sometimes the past really does come back to haunt you... Whispers is a thrilling saga of love, intrigue and history from ebook No.1 bestselling author of No One's Girl, Mothering Sunday and The Little Angel, Rosie Goodwin. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Hutchinson and Dilly Court. The old manor house has stood empty for years, left to rot since the last master of the Fenton family died. Until Jess Beddows steps inside, and feels she has come home. Against her family's wishes, she buys the house, promising to bring it back to life. Upstairs, in an attic room left untouched for a century or more, she finds a journal. It holds the heartbreaking tale of Martha, and of the cruel, entangled lives of the house's servants and masters nearly two hundred years before. As Jess is drawn into their tragedy, the whispers begin. Before long, everything she loves will be threatened by violent emotion and long-kept secrets. Can she survive the echoes from the past? What readers are saying about Whispers: 'This was the best book I have read for a very long time! A really fascinating story and I just didn't want to put it down, nor did I want it to end! Well done Rosie' 'What a fantastic book. A real heart throbber. I was an emotional wreck at the end of this book, it's a really touching novel. Rosie Goodwin is a very talented lady... A brilliant book from a truly gifted writer!'

A Mother's Grace

A Mother's Grace

The heart-warming Sunday Times bestseller

  • Author: Rosie Goodwin
  • Publisher: Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.
  • ISBN: 1785762389
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 400
  • View: 3121
DOWNLOAD NOW »
'Rosie writes such heart-warming sagas featuring believable characters and well-researched backgrounds and eras' Lyn Andrews 'An absorbing story in the grand tradition of the best saga authors' Margaret Dickinson 'The new Catherine Cookson' Coventry Evening Telegraph Tuesday's child is full of grace . . . Warwickshire, 1910. Grace Kettle lives a happy life with her beloved mother and reliable old Mrs Batley - happy, at least, as long as Judge Kettle, her formidable and threatening father, is away from home. As she grows into a gentle and pious young woman the atmosphere at home darkens. Knowing that she cannot protect her mother, Grace eventually flees to rural Wales, following her heart's desire to train as a nun. But when she meets the dashing and devout Father Luke her world is turned upside down. She is driven to make a scandalous choice - one she may well spend the rest of her days seeking forgiveness for . . . Will delight fans of Dilly Court, Katie Flynn and Catherine Cookson. Have you read Mothering Sunday and The Little Angel, the first two novels in Rosie's Days of the Week collection? 'A wonderful heroine, plucky, determined and warm-hearted. A believable and compelling read' Jennie Felton, author of The Miner's Daughter 'Goodwin is a master of her craft. The perfect book for a cold winter's evening' Lancashire Evening Post 'Goodwin is a fabulous writer' Worcester Evening News

The English Guernsey Cattle Society's Herd Book

The English Guernsey Cattle Society's Herd Book

  • Author: English Guernsey Cattle Society
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Cattle
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 7590
DOWNLOAD NOW »

The New Latin and English Dictionary

The New Latin and English Dictionary

  • Author: John Entick
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: English language
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 4703
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Herd Register

Herd Register

  • Author: American Guernsey Cattle Club
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Cattle
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 2035
DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Modern Eclectic Dictionary of the English Language

The Modern Eclectic Dictionary of the English Language

Comprising Also a Compendium of the Historical, Biographical, Geographical, Scientific, Religious, and Sociological Names ... Complete Summary of Human Achievement in the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries ...

  • Author: Robert Hunter,Charles Morris
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: English language
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 5216
DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Country

The Country

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Sports
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 3953
DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Art of the Limerick

The Art of the Limerick

  • Author: Cyril Bibby
  • Publisher: Hamden, Conn. : Archon Books
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Literary Criticism
  • Page: 276
  • View: 8331
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Traces the history of the limerick, reflecting on its poetic construction, social acceptance and variety of forms and purposes over the centuries