Search Results for "first-among-sequels"

First Among Sequels

First Among Sequels

Thursday Next

  • Author: Jasper Fforde
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 1844568873
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 300
  • View: 7066
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The fifth book in the phenomenally successful Thursday Next series, from Number One bestselling author Jasper Fforde. 'Ingenious - I'll watch Jasper Fforde nervously' Terry Pratchett on The Eyre Affair Fourteen years after she pegged out at 1988 SuperHoop, Thursday Next is grappling with a recalcitrant new apprentice, the death of Sherlock Holmes and the inexplicable departure of comedy from the once-hilarious Thomas Hardy novels. Her idle sixteen-year-old would rather sleep all day than save the world from imminent destruction, the government has a dangerously high stupidity surplues, and the Stiltonista Cheese Mafia are causing trouble for Thursday in her hometown of Swindon. Then things begin to get bad. As Reality Book Shows look set to transplant Reality TV Shows and Goliath invent a trans-fictional tourist coach, Thursday must once again have her wits about her as she travels to the very limits of acceptable narrative possibilities to rescue the reading experience from almost certain destruction . . .

Thursday Next: First Among Sequels

Thursday Next: First Among Sequels

A Thursday Next Novel

  • Author: Jasper Fforde
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • ISBN: 9781101158678
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 384
  • View: 3409
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The fifth installment in Jasper Fforde’s New York Times bestselling series follows literary detective Thursday Next on another adventure in her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England—from the author of Early Riser Jasper Fforde has thrilled readers everywhere with his gloriously outlandish novels in the Thursday Next and Nursery Crime series. And with another genre-bending blend of crime fiction, fantasy, and top-drawer literary entertainmentis Thursday Next: First Among Sequels, Fforde’s famous literary detective is once again ready to make the world safe for fiction. Thursday Next is grappling with a host of problems in BookWorld: a recalcitrant new apprentice, the death of Sherlock Holmes, and the inexplicable departure of comedy from the once-hilarious Thomas Hardy novels, to name just a few—all while captaining the ship Moral Dilemma and facing down her most vicious enemy yet: herself.

Cursed Among Sequels (the Mervyn Stone Mysteries, #3)

Cursed Among Sequels (the Mervyn Stone Mysteries, #3)

  • Author: Nev Fountain
  • Publisher: Untreed Reads
  • ISBN: 1844359921
  • Category: FICTION
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 9459
DOWNLOAD NOW »
It's the announcement all its fans have been waiting for! After seventeen long years, they're bringing back the science fiction TV series 'Vixens from the Void'; an intergalactic story of Space Bitches which was as 80s as Hair Gel, Live Aid and the Brixton Riots. So it's bright lights, good times and the high life for ex-script editor Mervyn Stone again! Or so he thought... The reason why he is stuck in a pub in the arse-end of the backside of Cornwall, with no decent television channels, no central heating and a badger in his bed eludes him at the moment. His breakfasts smell of burning flesh, and his underpants are starting to coagulate. And to make matters worse, someone is trying to kill him. Is it the incompetent director who hates Mervyn from way back? The mad fan who wants the relaunch stopped at all costs? The flaky ambitious star? The executive producer with 'issues'? The arrogant womanising actor? The writer pretending to be something he's not? The producer with a guilty secret? Mervyn is learning something very important. Perhaps the past should stay in the past... This book is published by Big Finish Productions, Ltd. and distributed by Untreed Reads Publishing.

The Well of Lost Plots

The Well of Lost Plots

A Thursday Next Novel

  • Author: Jasper Fforde
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • ISBN: 9781101158623
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 416
  • View: 5028
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The third installment in Jasper Fforde’s New York Times bestselling series follows literary detective Thursday Next on another adventure in her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England—from the author of Early Riser Jasper Fforde has done it again in this genre-bending blend of crime fiction, fantasy, and top-drawer literary entertainment. After two rollicking New York Times bestselling adventures through Western literature, resourceful BookWorld literary detective Thursday Next definitely needs some downtime. And what better place for a respite than in the hidden depths of the Well of Lost Plots, where all unpublished books reside? But peace and quiet remain elusive for Thursday, who soon discovers that the Well is a veritable linguistic free-for-all, where grammasites run rampant, plot devices are hawked on the black market, and lousy books—like the one she has taken up residence in—are scrapped for salvage. To make matters worse, a murderer is stalking the personnel of Jurisfiction and it’s up to Thursday to save the day. A brilliant feat of literary showmanship filled with wit, fantasy, and effervescent originality, this Ffordian tour de force will appeal to fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse.

Something Rotten

Something Rotten

  • Author: Jasper Fforde
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • ISBN: 9780143035411
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 385
  • View: 8979
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Tired of her responsibilities as the Bellman in Jurisfiction, literary sleuth Thursday Next packs up her son, Friday, to return to Swindon, accompanied by the Danish prince Hamlet, only to find herself coping with outlaw fictioneer Yorrick Kaine, anti-Danish sentiment, the return of Swindon's patron saint, and a seminal croquet tournament. Reprint.

The Eyre Affair

The Eyre Affair

A Novel

  • Author: Jasper Fforde
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • ISBN: 9780142001806
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 374
  • View: 1067
DOWNLOAD NOW »
In a world where one can literally get lost in literature, Thursday Next, a Special Operative in literary detection, tries to stop the world's Third Most Wanted criminal from kidnapping characters, including Jane Eyre, from works of literature.

Well of Lost Plots

Well of Lost Plots

  • Author: Jasper Fforde
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • ISBN: 9780143034353
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 375
  • View: 7456
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Exhausted by her stint as Miss Havisham's apprentice at Jurisfiction, Thursday Next is delighted by a respite in the Character Exchange Program in the Well of Lost Plots, a place filled with linguistic chaos, lousy books, and a murderer.

Odd Couple One and Two

Odd Couple One and Two

  • Author: Neil Simon
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster
  • ISBN: 0684859254
  • Category: Drama
  • Page: 318
  • View: 2057
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The hilarious lives of two mismatched roommatesirascible slob Oscar Madison and the fastidious Felix Ungerare chronicled in the complete original screenplays for two of Neil Simon's most famous worksThe Odd Couple and its sequel, Travelin' Light. Original.

The Innsmouth Heritage and Other Sequels

The Innsmouth Heritage and Other Sequels

  • Author: Brian Stableford
  • Publisher: Wildside Press LLC
  • ISBN: 1434448916
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 180
  • View: 5008
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Eleven new tales of fantasy and horror based upon the classic originals by H. P. Lovecraft, Oscar Wilde, Hans Christian Andersen, Arthur Conan Doyle, Robert Louis Stevenson, Jules Verne, H. Rider Haggard, and Bram Stoker.