Search Results for "i-m-just-dead-i-m-not-gone"

I'm Just Dead, I'm Not Gone

I'm Just Dead, I'm Not Gone

  • Author: Jim Dickinson
  • Publisher: Univ. Press of Mississippi
  • ISBN: 1496811186
  • Category: Biography & Autobiography
  • Page: 288
  • View: 9426
DOWNLOAD NOW »
I'm Just Dead, I'm Not Gone chronicles Jim Dickinson's extraordinary life in the Memphis music scene of the fifties and sixties and how he went on to play with and produce a rich array of artists, including Aretha Franklin, the Rolling Stones, Ry Cooder, Duane Allman, Arlo Guthrie, and Albert King. With verve and wit, Dickinson (1941-2009) describes his trip to Blind Lemon's grave on the Texas flatlands as a college student and how that encounter inspired his return to Memphis. Back home, he looked up Gus Cannon and Furry Lewis, began staging plays, cofounded what would become the annual Memphis Blues Festival, and started recording. The blues, Elvis, and early rock "n" roll compelled Dickinson to reject racial barriers and spurred his contributions to the Memphis music and experimental art scene. He explains how the family yardman, WDIA, Dewey Phillips, Furry Lewis, Will Shade, and Howlin" Wolf shaped him and recounts how he went on to learn his craft at Sun, Ardent, American, Muscle Shoals, and Criteria studios from master producers Sam Phillips, John Fry, Chips Moman, and Jerry Wexler. Dickinson is a member of the Mississippi Music Hall of Fame and an inaugural inductee of the Memphis Music Hall of Fame. He has received the Lifetime Achievement Award for Engineering and Production from the Americana Music Association, a Brass Note on the Beale Street Walk of Fame in Memphis, and a Heritage Marker on the Mississippi Blues Trail. This memoir recounts a love affair with Memphis, the blues, and rock "n" roll through Dickinson's captivating blend of intelligence, humor, and candor.

CRAZY STORIES FROM A CRAZY BRAIN

CRAZY STORIES FROM A CRAZY BRAIN

  • Author: Hannah Lee Mahaffey
  • Publisher: Lulu.com
  • ISBN: 110545035X
  • Category:
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 830
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Nights of Ice

Nights of Ice

True Stories of Disaster and Survival on Alaska's High Seas

  • Author: Spike Walker
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press
  • ISBN: 1466805382
  • Category: Sports & Recreation
  • Page: 224
  • View: 1624
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Spike Walker has spent more than a decade fishing in the subzero hell of Alaska's coastal waters. This collection--coming on the heels of his classic memoir Working on the Edge--is a testament to the courage of those who brave nature's wrath each fishing season, and to the uncontrolled power of nature herself.. The crewmen in Nights of Ice face a constant onslaught of roaring waves, stories-high swells, and life-stealing ice. Tested by the elements, these seamen battle for their vessels and their lives, on every page evincing a level of courage and a will to live seldom found elsewhere in modern society.

Booty Bones

Booty Bones

A Sarah Booth Delaney Mystery

  • Author: Carolyn Haines
  • Publisher: Minotaur Books
  • ISBN: 1466846291
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 368
  • View: 3084
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Sarah Booth Delaney's fiancé, Graf Milieu, has become depressed while recovering from a severe leg injury, but Sarah Booth knows just how to help him heal. She's arranged a romantic getaway for the two of them at a lovely beach cottage on Dauphin Island off the Gulf Coast. On the first day of their island adventure, they take a historical tour led by Angela Trotter, a young woman well-versed in local lore, including rumors of pirate treasure hidden somewhere on the island. In fact, Angela confides to Sarah Booth and Graf that her father, a sailor and treasure hunter, was murdered just when he thought he was closing in on the treasure. Angela's convinced that the wrong man was imprisoned for her father's murder, and she manages to persuade Sarah Booth to take the case. And Sarah Booth soon realizes that there's much more going on than meets the eye. With untold amounts of treasure offering plenty of motive for murder and a fiancé falling deeper into depression, Sarah Booth's peaceful island vacation is quickly spinning out of control. In Booty Bones, Carolyn Haines will once again delight readers with her trademark blend of clever plotting, witty prose, and Southern charm.

Dance Dance Dance

Dance Dance Dance

  • Author: Haruki Murakami
  • Publisher: Vintage
  • ISBN: 0307777685
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 416
  • View: 5161
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Coming this October: Killing Commendatore, the much-anticipated new novel from Haruki Murakami Dance Dance Dance—a follow-up to A Wild Sheep Chase—is a tense, poignant, and often hilarious ride through Murakami’s Japan, a place where everything that is not up for sale is up for grabs. As Murakami’s nameless protagonist searches for a mysteriously vanished girlfriend, he is plunged into a wind tunnel of sexual violence and metaphysical dread. In this propulsive novel, featuring a shabby but oracular Sheep Man, one of the most idiosyncratically brilliant writers at work today fuses together science fiction, the hardboiled thriller, and white-hot satire.

Dead and Gone

Dead and Gone

  • Author: R.J. Patterson
  • Publisher: Green E-Books
  • ISBN: 1938848624
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 316
  • View: 5638
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Fans of David Baldacci, Nelson DeMille, John Sanford, Stieg Larsson and Lee Child will enjoy this new book from international best-selling author R.J. Patterson. How can someone be murdered in plain sight in front of thousands of people—and nobody even know it was happening? When popular stock car racer Carson Tanner dies on the track and stuns the motorsports world, reporter Cal Murphy witnesses the event in disbelief. Something seems off to Cal—and his suspicions are confirmed with a cryptic handwritten note stuck into his pocket. As the race circuit moves to Phoenix, Cal races against the clock to uncover who sabotaged Tanner’s car—and all upstream against wealthy team owner Ned Davis, who wants to suppress the information; an uncooperative crew full of suspects; and an upstart driver who refuses to let his debut be ruined by such a report. In an effort to expose the killer and help Tanner’s grieving widow, Cal faces his greatest fear and must decide how far he’s willing to go in order to get justice.

Done Gone Wrong

Done Gone Wrong

  • Author: Cathy Pickens
  • Publisher: Minotaur Books
  • ISBN: 142990786X
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 288
  • View: 881
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A chance to be a part of a headline-grabbing case against a drug company has lured attorney Avery Andrews back to Charleston, South Carolina. She agrees to meet with Mark Tilman, a young doctor from her hometown who seems to have something on his mind. When he doesn't show, she figures he stood her up and takes comfort in the stilt restaurant's she-crab soup. But it turns out he had a fatal car accident. Something about the crash isn't right, and Mark's father asks Avery to look into his death. Between that and digging up dirt on the wonder drug Uplift, Avery is coming up with more questions than answers. Of course, Avery isn't the only one making headlines. Back in Dacus, her mom is on live television confronting a teenager's dynamite-toting paramour in a hostage crisis at the Burger Hut, Great-Aunt Aletha is mixing it up with the now-toupeeless postman, and the son of a ghost wants vengeance. In short, it's life as usual back in Dacus, while in Charleston, Avery is forced to face demons from her past. Cathy Pickens's first mystery novel established her as a distinctive voice in the cozy tradition. In this second, readers can expect more Southern wit and charm, more courtroom drama, and even crazier antics from the folks back home, all the while falling more and more in love with this endearing heroine.

Dead and Gone

Dead and Gone

A True Blood Novel

  • Author: Charlaine Harris
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 0575088109
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 352
  • View: 409
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Now it's the turn of the weres and shifters to follow the lead of the undead and reveal their existence to the ordinary world. Sookie Stackhouse already knows about them, of course - her brother turns into a panther at the full moon, she's friend to the local Were pack and Sam, her boss at Merlotte's bar, is a shifter. At first the great Were revelation seems to go well - then the horribly mutilated body of a were-panther is found outside Merlotte's. Though Sookie never cared that much for the victim, no one deserves such a horrible death, so she agrees to use her telepathic talent to track down the murderer. But what Sookie doesn't realise is that there is a far greater danger than this killer threatening Bon Temps: a race of unhuman beings, older, more powerful and far more secretive than the vampires or the werewolves is preparing for war ...

I'm Not This Girl

I'm Not This Girl

  • Author: Nina-Marie Gardner
  • Publisher: Lulu.com
  • ISBN: 1105618447
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 220
  • View: 3233
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The prequel to Nina-Marie Gardner's critically acclaimed debut, "Sherry & Narcotics." A cautionary tale of love and loss-beautiful, raw and heart-wrenchingly honest. "I'm Not This Girl" chronicles the hair-raising journey of shy outsider Lulu, who with her faithful mutt Trouble seeks for meaning, identity and redemption in a world turned upside down by her own catastrophic personality. From the hipster enclave of Hollywood's Silver Lake Hills, to Manhattan at the peak of the dot com boom and bust; through the aftermath of 9/11, to a psychiatric hospital in the Arizona desert, only when Lulu finds her way back to London, the city where she was born, does she come to terms with the truth she's been running from.

Will the Circle Be Unbroken?

Will the Circle Be Unbroken?

Reflections on Death, Rebirth, and Hunger for a Faith

  • Author: Studs Terkel
  • Publisher: New Press, The
  • ISBN: 1620970619
  • Category: Social Science
  • Page: 448
  • View: 9560
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The renowned oral historian interviews ordinary people about facing mortality: “It’s the unguarded voices he presents that stay with you.” —The New York Times In this book, the Pulitzer Prize winner and National Book Award finalist Studs Terkel, author of the New York Times bestseller Working, turns to the ultimate human experience: death. Here a wide range of people address the unknowable culmination of our lives, the possibilities of an afterlife, and their impact on the way we live, with memorable grace and poignancy. Included in this remarkable treasury are Terkel’s interviews with such famed figures as Kurt Vonnegut and Ira Glass as well as with ordinary people, from policemen and firefighters to emergency health workers and nurses, who confront death in their everyday lives. Whether a Hiroshima survivor, a death-row parolee, or a woman who emerged from a two-year coma, these interviewees offer tremendous eloquence as they deal with a topic many are reluctant to discuss openly and freely. Only Terkel, whom Cornel West called “an American treasure,” could have elicited such honesty from people reflecting on the lives they have led and what lies before them still. “Extraordinary . . . a work of insight, wisdom, and freshness.” —The Seattle Times