Search Results for "i-m-just-dead-i-m-not-gone"

I'm Just Dead, I'm Not Gone

I'm Just Dead, I'm Not Gone

  • Author: Jim Dickinson
  • Publisher: Univ. Press of Mississippi
  • ISBN: 1496811186
  • Category: Biography & Autobiography
  • Page: 288
  • View: 6809
DOWNLOAD NOW »
I'm Just Dead, I'm Not Gone chronicles Jim Dickinson's extraordinary life in the Memphis music scene of the fifties and sixties and how he went on to play with and produce a rich array of artists, including Aretha Franklin, the Rolling Stones, Ry Cooder, Duane Allman, Arlo Guthrie, and Albert King. With verve and wit, Dickinson (1941-2009) describes his trip to Blind Lemon's grave on the Texas flatlands as a college student and how that encounter inspired his return to Memphis. Back home, he looked up Gus Cannon and Furry Lewis, began staging plays, cofounded what would become the annual Memphis Blues Festival, and started recording. The blues, Elvis, and early rock "n" roll compelled Dickinson to reject racial barriers and spurred his contributions to the Memphis music and experimental art scene. He explains how the family yardman, WDIA, Dewey Phillips, Furry Lewis, Will Shade, and Howlin" Wolf shaped him and recounts how he went on to learn his craft at Sun, Ardent, American, Muscle Shoals, and Criteria studios from master producers Sam Phillips, John Fry, Chips Moman, and Jerry Wexler. Dickinson is a member of the Mississippi Music Hall of Fame and an inaugural inductee of the Memphis Music Hall of Fame. He has received the Lifetime Achievement Award for Engineering and Production from the Americana Music Association, a Brass Note on the Beale Street Walk of Fame in Memphis, and a Heritage Marker on the Mississippi Blues Trail. This memoir recounts a love affair with Memphis, the blues, and rock "n" roll through Dickinson's captivating blend of intelligence, humor, and candor.

CRAZY STORIES FROM A CRAZY BRAIN

CRAZY STORIES FROM A CRAZY BRAIN

  • Author: Hannah Lee Mahaffey
  • Publisher: Lulu.com
  • ISBN: 110545035X
  • Category:
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 3492
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Booty Bones

Booty Bones

A Sarah Booth Delaney Mystery

  • Author: Carolyn Haines
  • Publisher: Minotaur Books
  • ISBN: 1466846291
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 368
  • View: 325
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Sarah Booth Delaney's fiancé, Graf Milieu, has become depressed while recovering from a severe leg injury, but Sarah Booth knows just how to help him heal. She's arranged a romantic getaway for the two of them at a lovely beach cottage on Dauphin Island off the Gulf Coast. On the first day of their island adventure, they take a historical tour led by Angela Trotter, a young woman well-versed in local lore, including rumors of pirate treasure hidden somewhere on the island. In fact, Angela confides to Sarah Booth and Graf that her father, a sailor and treasure hunter, was murdered just when he thought he was closing in on the treasure. Angela's convinced that the wrong man was imprisoned for her father's murder, and she manages to persuade Sarah Booth to take the case. And Sarah Booth soon realizes that there's much more going on than meets the eye. With untold amounts of treasure offering plenty of motive for murder and a fiancé falling deeper into depression, Sarah Booth's peaceful island vacation is quickly spinning out of control. In Booty Bones, Carolyn Haines will once again delight readers with her trademark blend of clever plotting, witty prose, and Southern charm.

Dead and Gone

Dead and Gone

  • Author: R.J. Patterson
  • Publisher: Green E-Books
  • ISBN: 1938848624
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 316
  • View: 787
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Fans of David Baldacci, Nelson DeMille, John Sanford, Stieg Larsson and Lee Child will enjoy this new book from international best-selling author R.J. Patterson. How can someone be murdered in plain sight in front of thousands of people—and nobody even know it was happening? When popular stock car racer Carson Tanner dies on the track and stuns the motorsports world, reporter Cal Murphy witnesses the event in disbelief. Something seems off to Cal—and his suspicions are confirmed with a cryptic handwritten note stuck into his pocket. As the race circuit moves to Phoenix, Cal races against the clock to uncover who sabotaged Tanner’s car—and all upstream against wealthy team owner Ned Davis, who wants to suppress the information; an uncooperative crew full of suspects; and an upstart driver who refuses to let his debut be ruined by such a report. In an effort to expose the killer and help Tanner’s grieving widow, Cal faces his greatest fear and must decide how far he’s willing to go in order to get justice.

Done Gone Wrong

Done Gone Wrong

  • Author: Cathy Pickens
  • Publisher: Minotaur Books
  • ISBN: 142990786X
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 288
  • View: 5821
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A chance to be a part of a headline-grabbing case against a drug company has lured attorney Avery Andrews back to Charleston, South Carolina. She agrees to meet with Mark Tilman, a young doctor from her hometown who seems to have something on his mind. When he doesn't show, she figures he stood her up and takes comfort in the stilt restaurant's she-crab soup. But it turns out he had a fatal car accident. Something about the crash isn't right, and Mark's father asks Avery to look into his death. Between that and digging up dirt on the wonder drug Uplift, Avery is coming up with more questions than answers. Of course, Avery isn't the only one making headlines. Back in Dacus, her mom is on live television confronting a teenager's dynamite-toting paramour in a hostage crisis at the Burger Hut, Great-Aunt Aletha is mixing it up with the now-toupeeless postman, and the son of a ghost wants vengeance. In short, it's life as usual back in Dacus, while in Charleston, Avery is forced to face demons from her past. Cathy Pickens's first mystery novel established her as a distinctive voice in the cozy tradition. In this second, readers can expect more Southern wit and charm, more courtroom drama, and even crazier antics from the folks back home, all the while falling more and more in love with this endearing heroine.

Dead and Gone

Dead and Gone

A Yoshinobu Mystery

  • Author: John A. Broussard
  • Publisher: Bitingduck Press LLC
  • ISBN: 1932482199
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 119
  • View: 8483
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The rain-soaked streets of Napua on Hawaii s island of Elima are a far cry from a battlefield but, for returned soldier Kimo Stanner, there s a sudden reminder of warfare when a figure rushes in front of his pickup and he feels the impact. Even before getting out to view the damage, he knows the pedestrian is dead, and there s nothing for it but to report to the police except that when the police arrive, the body has disappeared. When he turns to the firm of Smith, Chu and Yoshinobu to defend him on what is now simply a drunk-driving charge, Kimo s attorney is Laura Correa, newly hired by the firm. Kay Yoshinobu agrees to help the nervous attorney with her first case as a trial lawyer. With no missing persons reported, and no proof that there was actually a body at the scene, the case goes well, the judge is sympathetic, the defense witnesses are effective, and the prosecuting attorney isn t out for blood. And that s when things go wrong terribly wrong. A body turns up in a local gulch, is clearly the one Kimo reported, and the DUI is then raised to manslaughter. As the police look into the matter, they find more and more evidence to indicate even that charge may be changed to something more serious, and Kay s investigative abilities are put to a severe test. That Kimo s pickup clearly struck a pedestrian who was alive at the time seems irrefutable. And, by Kimo s own testimony, the man was dead following the accident. To prove otherwise seems both medically and legally impossible, but Laura and Kay soon find that there may be another explanation. And the search for it takes them off to interview a host of strange people.

Already Gone

Already Gone

  • Author: Leonard Phillip Wolfe
  • Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
  • ISBN: 1469137011
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 129
  • View: 2617
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Follow state officer Kenna Jenkins as she works to solve a southern Illinois murder case but only to find herself tangled up with a local drug ring. Soon, she teams up with state officer Jared Keppler to solve this twisted murder case. Jared is the only person that she feels she can trust while he is falling madly in love with her beauty and the excitement she has brought into his life. Jared, who has been widowed for two years, didnt think he was capable of falling in love again, until she came along. Witness as their story unfolds in this fusion of romance and suspense investigative thriller, Already Gone.

Dead and Gone

Dead and Gone

A True Blood Novel

  • Author: Charlaine Harris
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 0575088109
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 352
  • View: 6713
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Now it's the turn of the weres and shifters to follow the lead of the undead and reveal their existence to the ordinary world. Sookie Stackhouse already knows about them, of course - her brother turns into a panther at the full moon, she's friend to the local Were pack and Sam, her boss at Merlotte's bar, is a shifter. At first the great Were revelation seems to go well - then the horribly mutilated body of a were-panther is found outside Merlotte's. Though Sookie never cared that much for the victim, no one deserves such a horrible death, so she agrees to use her telepathic talent to track down the murderer. But what Sookie doesn't realise is that there is a far greater danger than this killer threatening Bon Temps: a race of unhuman beings, older, more powerful and far more secretive than the vampires or the werewolves is preparing for war ...

Gruesome Playground Injuries; Animals Out of Paper; Bengal Tiger at the Baghdad Zoo

Gruesome Playground Injuries; Animals Out of Paper; Bengal Tiger at the Baghdad Zoo

Three Plays

  • Author: Rajiv Joseph
  • Publisher: Soft Skull Press
  • ISBN: 1593763891
  • Category: Drama
  • Page: 352
  • View: 6885
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Rajiv Joseph is one of today’s most acclaimed young playwrights. The winner of numerous awards, including an NEA Award for Best Play and a Whiting Writers Award, he is an artist to watch. This volume gathers together for the first time his three major works to date. Included herein are his latest play, Gruesome Playground Injuries, which charts the intersection of two lives using scars, wounds, and calamity as the mile markers to explore why people hurt themselves to gain another’s love and the cumulative effect of such damage; Animals Out of Paper, a subtle, elegant, yet bracing examination of the artistic impulse and those in its thrall, which follows a world-famous origamist as she becomes the unwitting mentor to a troubled young prodigy, even as she must deal with her own loss of inspiration; and Bengal Tiger at the Baghdad Zoo, a darkly comedic drama that looks on as the lives of two American soldiers, an Iraqi translator, and a tiger intersect on the streets of Baghdad.