Search Results for "invasion-tales-of-the-empire-book-5"

Tales from the Clockwork Empire

Tales from the Clockwork Empire

  • Author: Ian Duerden
  • Publisher: Markosia Enterprises Ltd
  • ISBN: 1620981440
  • Category: Comics & Graphic Novels
  • Page: 124
  • View: 7893
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Two mighty Clockwork Empires are fighting for domination of the planet. Beneath the waves of the English Channel armadas of clockwork submersibles are massing for invasion, while above Imperial Russia’s newly invented AirKites fight for supremacy of the skies. But in their search for more ingenious and deadly devices these empires have awoken an ancient Clockwork Civilization… A clock, stilled 3000 years ago, has begun ticking again… This is the Age of the Clockwork Empires and in 1803 this is how it began…

Invasion

Invasion

  • Author: S.J.A. Turney
  • Publisher: Canelo
  • ISBN: 1911420615
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 350
  • View: 6429
DOWNLOAD NOW »
For the glory of Empire! At the Empire’s northern edge lies Alba: strange, savage, unconquerable. Twenty years ago this rain-sodden island defeated a huge Imperial army. Now the Empire returns. Disgraced generals are looking for vengeance. Their forces are accompanied by three promising Tribunes: warlike Bellacon, intelligent Convocus and the joker in the pack, Cantex. As the armies journey into the interior, it becomes clear all is not as it seems. Beyond the realms of the Emperor, treachery is never far away. The invasion will be harder than anyone could have imagined. Can the Tribunes triumph against the odds? Or is this the very limit of Empire...? The explosive and unputdownable new volume in the Tales of the Empire series for readers of Simon Scarrow, Conn Iggulden and George R.R. Martin. The Tales of the Empire series Interregnum Ironroot Dark Empress Insurgency Invasion

The Second Book of History, Including the Modern History of Europe, Africa, and Asia. Illustrated by Engravings and Sixteen Maps, and Designed as a Sequel to the “First Book of History, by the Author of Peter Parley's Tales” [i.e. S. G. Goodrich]. Eleventh Edition

The Second Book of History, Including the Modern History of Europe, Africa, and Asia. Illustrated by Engravings and Sixteen Maps, and Designed as a Sequel to the “First Book of History, by the Author of Peter Parley's Tales” [i.e. S. G. Goodrich]. Eleventh Edition

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: World history
  • Page: 180
  • View: 1944
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Books that Changed the World

Books that Changed the World

The 50 Most Influential Books in Human History

  • Author: Andrew Taylor
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 1849165610
  • Category: Literary Criticism
  • Page: 336
  • View: 2303
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Books that Changed the World tells the fascinating stories behind 50 books that, in ways great and small, have changed the course of human history. Andrew Taylor sets each text in its historical context and explores its wider influence and legacy. Whether he's discussing the incandescent effect of The Qu'ran, the enduring influence of Adam Smith's Wealth of Nations, of the way in which Uncle Tom's Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe glavanized the anti-slavery movement, Taylor has written a stirring and informative testament to human ingenuity and endeavour. Ranging from The Iliad to Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone, the Kama Sutra to Lady Chatterley's Lover, this is the ultimate, thought-provoking read for book-lovers everywhere.

The Bookseller

The Bookseller

A Newspaper of British and Foreign Literature

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Bibliography
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 7387
DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Third Book of History: Containin Ancient History in Connection with Ancient Geography. Designed as a Sequel to the First and Second Books of History, by the Author of Peter Parley's Tales [i.e. S. G. Goodrich]. Third Edition

The Third Book of History: Containin Ancient History in Connection with Ancient Geography. Designed as a Sequel to the First and Second Books of History, by the Author of Peter Parley's Tales [i.e. S. G. Goodrich]. Third Edition

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category:
  • Page: 189
  • View: 6114
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Edinburgh History of the Book in Scotland, Volume 2

Edinburgh History of the Book in Scotland, Volume 2

Enlightenment and Expansion 1707-1800

  • Author: Stephen W Brown
  • Publisher: Edinburgh University Press
  • ISBN: 0748650954
  • Category: Literary Criticism
  • Page: 688
  • View: 1426
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The first thorough study of the book trade during the age of Fergusson and Burns.

Index to the English Catalogue of Books ...

Index to the English Catalogue of Books ...

  • Author: Sampson Low
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: English literature
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 7352
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Harper's Story Books: The story of ancient history. The story of English history. The story of American history

Harper's Story Books: The story of ancient history. The story of English history. The story of American history

  • Author: Jacob Abbott
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category:
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 8037
DOWNLOAD NOW »

The American Imperial Gothic

The American Imperial Gothic

Popular Culture, Empire, Violence

  • Author: Dr Johan Höglund
  • Publisher: Ashgate Publishing, Ltd.
  • ISBN: 1472406478
  • Category: Social Science
  • Page: 224
  • View: 9231
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The imagination of the early twenty-first century is catastrophic, with Hollywood blockbusters, novels, computer games, popular music, art and even political speeches all depicting a world consumed by vampires, zombies, meteors, aliens from outer space, disease, crazed terrorists and mad scientists. These frequently gothic descriptions of the apocalypse not only commodify fear itself; they articulate and even help produce imperialism. Building on, and often retelling, the British ‘imperial gothic’ of the late nineteenth century, the American imperial gothic is obsessed with race, gender, degeneration and invasion, with the destruction of society, the collapse of modernity and the disintegration of capitalism. Drawing on a rich array of texts from a long history of the gothic, this book contends that the doom faced by the world in popular culture is related to the current global instability, renegotiation of worldwide power and the American bid for hegemony that goes back to the beginning of the Republic and which have given shape to the first decade of the millennium. From the frontier gothic of Charles Brockden Brown's Edgar Huntly to the apocalyptic torture porn of Eli Roth's Hostel, the American imperial gothic dramatises the desires and anxieties of empire. Revealing the ways in which images of destruction and social upheaval both query the violence with which the US has asserted itself locally and globally, and feed the longing for stable imperial structures, this book will be of interest to scholars and students of popular culture, cultural and media studies, literary and visual studies and sociology.