Search Results for "it-s-not-just-about-the-ribbons"

It's Not Just About the Ribbons

It's Not Just About the Ribbons

It's About Enriching Riding (and Life) with a Winning Attitude

  • Author: Jane Savoie
  • Publisher: Trafalgar Square Books
  • ISBN: 1570766274
  • Category: Sports & Recreation
  • Page: 256
  • View: 8009
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Over 15 years ago, Jane Savoie wrote the first book to recognize the importance of training the mind and shaping attitude in order to achieve higher levels of riding skill than ever imagined. Riders who benefited from the lessons in That Winning Feeling! clamored for more, and Savoie responded with her fabulous follow-up book, It's Not Just About the Ribbons, which is in its fifth year of publication and now available in paperback. Once again, Savoie shares the tools and ideas for self-improvement that she has used, not only to help herself deal with challenges, but her students—who range from Olympic contenders to intermediate riders—as well. Full of shining examples of the success of Savoie's methods of dealing with riding's—and life's—challenges, this book is essential for anyone who is passionate about horses but may be struggling, at some level or other, with negative emotions and frustration from slow development of riding skills. All readers will find that, with Savoie's contagious enthusiasm along for the ride, they too can make changes more easily and playfully while better enjoying every moment with their horses.

Within the Ribbons & Out of the Loop

Within the Ribbons & Out of the Loop

  • Author: Shirley Kahn Friedman
  • Publisher: Lulu.com
  • ISBN: 0359988660
  • Category:
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 3497
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Where the Ribbon Falls

Where the Ribbon Falls

  • Author: S.E. Ward
  • Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc
  • ISBN: 1326147846
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 1279
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Castrin Salmadia attends her sister's wedding in the process meeting Darsin Caslon and suffering the attentions of a younger admirer. In the streets and between the walls, spies and assassins ply their trade. This is the second part of The Danserite Horsemen, an adult fantasy.

Head Cases

Head Cases

Julia Kristeva on Philosophy and Art in Depressed Times

  • Author: Elaine P. Miller
  • Publisher: Columbia University Press
  • ISBN: 0231537115
  • Category: Philosophy
  • Page: 304
  • View: 5340
DOWNLOAD NOW »
While philosophy and psychoanalysis privilege language and conceptual distinctions and mistrust the image, the philosopher and psychoanalyst Julia Kristeva recognizes the power of art and the imagination to unblock important sources of meaning. She also appreciates the process through which creative acts counteract and transform feelings of violence and depression. Reviewing Kristeva's corpus, Elaine P. Miller considers the intellectual's "aesthetic idea" and "thought specular" in their capacity to reshape depressive thought on both the individual and cultural level. She revisits Kristeva's reading of Walter Benjamin with reference to melancholic art and the imagination's allegorical structure; her analysis of Byzantine iconoclasm in relation to Freud's psychoanalytic theory of negation and Hegel's dialectical negativity; her understanding of Proust as an exemplary practitioner of sublimation; her rereading of Kant and Arendt in terms of art as an intentional lingering with foreignness; and her argument that forgiveness is both a philosophical and psychoanalytic method of transcending a "stuck" existence. Focusing on specific artworks that illustrate Kristeva's ideas, from ancient Greek tragedy to early photography, contemporary installation art, and film, Miller positions creative acts as a form of "spiritual inoculation" against the violence of our society and its discouragement of thought and reflection.

Becoming Part of the Ribbon

Becoming Part of the Ribbon

My Personal Journey

  • Author: Sharon S. Hart
  • Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
  • ISBN: 1462812759
  • Category: Biography & Autobiography
  • Page: 283
  • View: 411
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Becoming part of the Ribbon, My personal journey is just that. It tells, in detail, what I went through during my whole process of getting breast cancer. I have always said that it is all in the attitude and now I can live to tell how true that is. I can remember saying to my Mom, “Let’s try to have as much fun with this journey as we can” and I can say that I did do that. I hope that this book gives other women that are diagnosed the courage and strength to get through this terrible disease.

The Ribbon Weaver

The Ribbon Weaver

A young girl’s sparkling future is thwarted by a devastating secret

  • Author: Rosie Goodwin
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 0755386655
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 373
  • View: 4244
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A baby rescued from the snow. A wealthy family's tragic secret. A girl determined to make her mark. A heart-warming saga of love, ambition and jealousy. The ebook No.1 bestselling author of No One's Girl, Mothering Sunday and The Little Angel, Rosie Goodwin, weaves her magic yet again in The Ribbon Weaver. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Nadine Dorries. 'Tremendously uplifting and life-affirming. A feel-good read that tugs on the heart strings' - Historical Novels Review One winter's night, Molly Ernshaw rescues a newborn baby from the snow and changes two families for ever. The tiny girl grows into a beautiful and gifted young woman. Although devoted to Molly, Amy has far-reaching ambitions - encouraged by her neighbour's son, Toby, she longs to move beyond ribbon-weaving to designing the hats and clothes the ribbons adorn. Her talent is recognised by Samuel Forrester, the influential owner of famous hat factories and shops. But Samuel is a haunted man with secrets in his past that torture him and his family. His son's wife, Eugenie, is deeply troubled, and when Amy's flair leads her to London and then Paris, Eugenie is consumed with jealousy. Amy's dreams seem to be coming true, but as more secrets are revealed and Amy is caught between two worlds, she must choose where her heart truly belongs. What readers are saying about The Ribbon Weaver: 'Couldn't put this book down, Rosie Goodwin is a great writer. She brought together so many feelings that we all have. There's joy, heartache, and everyday life in the mid-1800s in this story... Definitely a 5 star rating' 'This is a great book and another superb story from Rosie Goodwin who is now by far my favourite writer. This is an inspiring story... and as usual there are the twists and turns that keep you turning those pages. The details and accounts of the era are excellent as are the descriptions of the characters and surroundings. Can't wait for my next Rosie Goodwin read!'

Mastering Autodesk Revit MEP 2014

Mastering Autodesk Revit MEP 2014

Autodesk Official Press

  • Author: Don Bokmiller,Simon Whitbread,Plamen Hristov
  • Publisher: John Wiley & Sons
  • ISBN: 111875817X
  • Category: Computers
  • Page: 744
  • View: 7573
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The ultimate reference and tutorial to harness the power of Revit MEP This Autodesk Official Press book will help you develop your expertise with Revit MEP's core concepts and functionality. Based on the authors' years of real-world experience, this comprehensive reference and tutorial has been updated to cover all of the new features of Revit MEP, and includes best practices, techniques, tips, tricks, and real-world exercises to help you hone your skills. Shows how to use the interface effectively, explains how to create and use project templates, and details ways you can improve efficiency with worksharing and collaboration Addresses generating schedules that show quantities, materials, design dependencies, and more Looks at creating logical air, water, and fire protection systems; evaluating building loads; and placing air and water distribution equipment Covers lighting, power receptacles and equipment, communication outlets and systems, and circuiting and panels Zeroes in on creating water systems, plumbing fixtures and their connectors, water piping, and more Featuring real-world scenarios and hands-on tutorials, this Autodesk Official Press book features downloadable before-and-after tutorial files so that you can compare your finished work to that of the professionals. It's the perfect resource for becoming a Revit MEP expert.

Chambers's Journal

Chambers's Journal

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Periodicals
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 1742
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Rapidly Quenched Metals 6:

Rapidly Quenched Metals 6:

  • Author: R.W. Cochrane
  • Publisher: Elsevier
  • ISBN: 0080984835
  • Category: Technology & Engineering
  • Page: 573
  • View: 7997
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Rapidly Quenched Metals 6: Volume 2

The Geomorphology of the Great Barrier Reef

The Geomorphology of the Great Barrier Reef

Development, Diversity and Change

  • Author: David Hopley,Scott G. Smithers,Kevin Parnell
  • Publisher: Cambridge University Press
  • ISBN: 1139463926
  • Category: Science
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 1488
DOWNLOAD NOW »
This 2007 book reviews the history of geomorphological studies of the Great Barrier Reef and assesses the influences of sea-level change and oceanographic processes on the development of reefs over the last 10,000 years. It presents analyses of recently attained data from the Great Barrier Reef and reconstructions of the sequence of events which have led to its more recent geomorphology. The authors emphasise the importance of the geomorphological time span and its applications for present management applications. This is a valuable reference for academic researchers in geomorphology and oceanography, and will also appeal to graduate students in related fields.