Search Results for "kate-atkinson-s-behind-the-scenes-at-the-museum"

Behind the Scenes at the Museum

Behind the Scenes at the Museum

A Novel

  • Author: Kate Atkinson
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press
  • ISBN: 1466842660
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 336
  • View: 3358
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A deeply moving family story of happiness and heartbreak, Behind the Scenes at the Museum is bestselling author Kate Atkinson's award-winning literary debut. National Bestseller Winner of the Whitbread Book of the Year Ruby Lennox begins narrating her life at the moment of conception, and from there takes us on a whirlwind tour of the twentieth century as seen through the eyes of an English girl determined to learn about her family and its secrets.

Kate Atkinson's Behind the Scenes at the Museum

Kate Atkinson's Behind the Scenes at the Museum

A Reader's Guide

  • Author: Emma Parker
  • Publisher: A&C Black
  • ISBN: 9780826452382
  • Category: Literary Criticism
  • Page: 99
  • View: 4590
DOWNLOAD NOW »
This is an excellent guide to Kate Atkinson's debut novel. It features a biography of the author, a full-length analysis of the novel, and a great deal more. If you're studying this novel, reading it for your book club, or if you simply want to know more about it, you'll find this guide informative and helpful. Part of a new series of guides to contemporary novels. The aim of the series is to give readers accessible and informative introductions to some of the most popular, most acclaimed and most influential novels of recent years - from ‘The Remains of the Day' to ‘White Teeth'. A team of contemporary fiction scholars from both sides of the Atlantic has been assembled to provide a thorough and readable analysis of each of the novels in question.

Human Croquet

Human Croquet

A Novel

  • Author: Kate Atkinson
  • Publisher: Picador
  • ISBN: 1466840803
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 352
  • View: 6993
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A New York Times Book Review Notable Book of the Year Part fairy tale, part mystery, part coming-of-age novel, this novel tells the story of Isobel Fairfax, a girl growing up in Lythe, a typical 1960s British suburb. But Lythe was once the heart of an Elizabethan feudal estate and home to a young English tutor named William Shakespeare, and as Isobel investigates the strange history of her family, her neighbors, and her village, she occasionally gets caught in Shakespearean time warps. Meanwhile, she gets closer to the shocking truths about her missing mother, her war-hero father, and the hidden lives of her close friends and classmates. A stunning feat of imagination and storytelling from Kate Atkinson, Human Croquet is rich with the disappointments and possibilities every family shares.

Writers Talk

Writers Talk

Conversations with Contemporary British Novelists

  • Author: Philip Tew,Fiona Tolan,Leigh Wilson
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
  • ISBN: 1441155171
  • Category: Literary Criticism
  • Page: 210
  • View: 5248
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Writers Talk includes interviews with Kate Atkinson, Pat Barker, Jonathan Coe, Jim Crace, Toby Litt, Graham Swift, Matt Thorne, David Mitchell, AlanWarner, and Will Self. "Is it a good time to be a writer in the time of The Da Vinci Code? It's not necessarily good time to be a literary writer."-Kate Atkinson "The best novels allow us to rehearse the world ahead of us, to play out the battle before we fight it, to experience disaster before we encounter it, to practice grief before it flattens us. Narrative is useful. It confers advantages on us as a species." -Jim Crace Why do writers write? How do they react to criticism of their work? What inspires them and how do go about working? Does fiction have any political, ethical or spiritual significance? Can we learn more about a book from its author? This collection of interviews with contemporary British novelists offers a fascinating insight into bestselling authors' views on fiction today; their influences and themes; readers and critics; why they write and their writing process; and provides a snapshot of the reality of living as a writer.

Of Mothers and Death

Of Mothers and Death

From Procreation to Creation

  • Author: Élisabeth Lamothe,Pascale Sardin-Damestoy,Julie Sauvage,Groupe d'études sur le maternel (Pessac, Gironde).
  • Publisher: Presses Univ de Bordeaux
  • ISBN: 2867814936
  • Category: Children
  • Page: 207
  • View: 1313
DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Sleepwalker's Guide to Dancing

The Sleepwalker's Guide to Dancing

A Novel

  • Author: Mira Jacob
  • Publisher: Random House
  • ISBN: 0812994795
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 528
  • View: 3659
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A winning, irreverent debut novel about a family wrestling with its future and its past—for readers of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Mona Simpson, and Jhumpa Lahiri NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE BOSTON GLOBE, KIRKUS REVIEWS, BUSTLE, AND EMILY GOULD, THE MILLIONS With depth, heart, and agility, debut novelist Mira Jacob takes us on a deftly plotted journey that ranges from 1970s India to suburban 1980s New Mexico to Seattle during the dot.com boom. The Sleepwalker’s Guide to Dancing is an epic, irreverent testimony to the bonds of love, the pull of hope, and the power of making peace with life’s uncertainties. Celebrated brain surgeon Thomas Eapen has been sitting on his porch, talking to dead relatives. At least that is the story his wife, Kamala, prone to exaggeration, tells their daughter, Amina, a photographer living in Seattle. Reluctantly Amina returns home and finds a situation that is far more complicated than her mother let on, with roots in a trip the family, including Amina’s rebellious brother Akhil, took to India twenty years earlier. Confronted by Thomas’s unwillingness to explain himself, strange looks from the hospital staff, and a series of puzzling items buried in her mother’s garden, Amina soon realizes that the only way she can help her father is by coming to terms with her family’s painful past. In doing so, she must reckon with the ghosts that haunt all of the Eapens. Praise for The Sleepwalker’s Guide to Dancing “With wit and a rich understanding of human foibles, Jacob unspools a story that will touch your heart.”—People “Optimistic, unpretentious and refreshingly witty.”—Associated Press “By turns hilarious and tender and always attuned to shifts of emotion . . . [Jacob’s] characters shimmer with life.”—Entertainment Weekly “A rich, engrossing debut told with lightness and care.”—The Kansas City Star “[A] sprawling, poignant, often humorous novel . . . Told with humor and sympathy for its characters, the book serves as a bittersweet lesson in the binding power of family, even when we seek to break out from it.”—O: The Oprah Magazine “Moving forward and back in time, Jacob balances comedy and romance with indelible sorrow. . . . When her plot springs surprises, she lets them happen just as they do in life: blindsidingly right in the middle of things.”—The Boston Globe

The Big Book of Christmas Mysteries

The Big Book of Christmas Mysteries

  • Author: Otto Penzler
  • Publisher: Vintage Crime/Black Lizard
  • ISBN: 0345802993
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 672
  • View: 6537
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Have yourself a crooked little Christmas with The Big Book of Christmas Mysteries. Edgar Award-winning editor Otto Penzler collects sixty of his all-time favorite holiday crime stories--many of which are difficult or nearly impossible to find anywhere else. From classic Victorian tales by Arthur Conan Doyle, Robert Louis Stevenson, and Thomas Hardy, to contemporary stories by Sara Paretsky and Ed McBain, this collection touches on all aspects of the holiday season, and all types of mysteries. They are suspenseful, funny, frightening, and poignant. Included are puzzles by Mary Higgins Clark, Isaac Asimov, and Ngaio Marsh; uncanny tales in the tradition of A Christmas Carol by Peter Lovesey and Max Allan Collins; O. Henry-like stories by Stanley Ellin and Joseph Shearing, stories by pulp icons John D. MacDonald and Damon Runyon; comic gems from Donald E. Westlake and John Mortimer; and many, many more. Almost any kind of mystery you’re in the mood for--suspense, pure detection, humor, cozy, private eye, or police procedural—can be found in these pages. FEATURING: - Unscrupulous Santas - Crimes of Christmases Past and Present - Festive felonies - Deadly puddings - Misdemeanors under the mistletoe - Christmas cases for classic characters including Sherlock Holmes, Brother Cadfael, Miss Marple, Hercule Poirot, Ellery Queen, Rumpole of the Bailey, Inspector Morse, Inspector Ghote, A.J. Raffles, and Nero Wolfe.

The Trauma Question

The Trauma Question

  • Author: Roger Luckhurst
  • Publisher: Routledge
  • ISBN: 1136015108
  • Category: Literary Criticism
  • Page: 256
  • View: 9975
DOWNLOAD NOW »
In this book, Roger Luckhurst both introduces and advances the fields of cultural memory and trauma studies, tracing the ways in which ideas of trauma have become a major element in contemporary Western conceptions of the self. The Trauma Question outlines the origins of the concept of trauma across psychiatric, legal and cultural-political sources from the 1860s to the coining of Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in 1980. It further explores the nature and extent of ‘trauma culture’ from 1980 to the present, drawing upon a range of cultural practices from literature, memoirs and confessional journalism through to photography and film. The study covers a diverse range of cultural works, including writers such as Toni Morrison, Stephen King and W. G. Sebald, artists Tracey Emin, Christian Boltanski and Tracey Moffatt, and film-makers David Lynch and Atom Egoyan. The Trauma Question offers a significant and fascinating step forward for those seeking a greater understanding of the controversial and ever-expanding field of trauma research.