Search Results for "lavender-road-lavender-road-1"

Lavender Road (Lavender Road 1)

Lavender Road (Lavender Road 1)

  • Author: Helen Carey
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 1472231473
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 384
  • View: 1709
DOWNLOAD NOW »
World War II has begun. As war rages, and the evacuation of Dunkirk approaches, the women of south London have their own battles to fight. Helen Carey's LONDON ROAD is a compelling novel perfect for fans of Lilian Harry, Kate Thompson and Annie Murray. September 1939 As the nation braces itself for war, the residents of Lavender Road are dealing with troubles of their own. With her husband in jail, Joyce Carter is never sure where her family's next meal will come from. And her troublesome daughter, Jen, isn't helping matters by refusing to work until she achieves her dream of becoming an actress. Pam Nelson is struggling to deny the distance growing between her and her husband - which isn't helped by her secret attraction to their handsome new lodger. And unfortunately Pam isn't the only one to fall for his seductive charm... As the threat of a German invasion looms, the lives of the women on this south London street are about to change for ever...

Victory Girls (Lavender Road 6)

Victory Girls (Lavender Road 6)

A touching saga about London’s brave women of World War Two

  • Author: Helen Carey
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 1472231546
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 384
  • View: 8421
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Filled with characters you'll fall in love with, VICTORY GIRLS is Helen Carey's new World War Two saga about the resilient residents of a south London street. Not to be missed by readers of Katie Flynn, Annie Murray and Lilian Harry. Praise for the Lavender Road novels: 'Funny, poignant, emotional and unputdownable' London Evening Standard August 1944. Allied troops are fighting their way across Europe. But rocket attacks on London are a chilling reminder that the war is far from over. Helen knows all too well how dangerous it is in war-torn France. But it's a long-time since she heard from her French fiancé, Andre, and nothing is going to stop her going back to track him down, before he is lost to her forever. Her friend Molly is finding it hard to stop thinking about the lovely Canadian pilot she met while nursing overseas, and the future she might have had, if only she had been good enough for him. Now Molly is back in London, determined to discover the truth about the mother who gave her up for adoption when she was four years old. Victory may be just round the corner, but the fighting is far from over for the women of Lavender Road. What readers are saying about VICTORY GIRLS: 'I laughed, cried and once again I found I just couldn't stop reading. Wonderful characters, a gripping storyline and great wartime detail' 'The girls' lives are embedded in fascinating historical detail and I almost felt I was a Lavender Road resident watching events unfold. The storyline is gripping right up to the final pages' 'The characters are finely drawn, and it was interesting to follow them on their various journeys. Excellent'

On A Wing And A Prayer (Lavender Road 3)

On A Wing And A Prayer (Lavender Road 3)

  • Author: Helen Carey
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 147223149X
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 384
  • View: 2750
DOWNLOAD NOW »
ON A WING AND A PRAYER by Helen Carey is a nostalgic and heart-warming novel of south London during the Second World War. The perfect read for fans of Ellie Dean, Kate Thompson and Donna Douglas. October 1941. London has been ravaged by war for two years now and life couldn't be tougher for those living on Lavender Road. Many loved ones have been lost and sacrifices made, but Lady Helen de Burrel is about to take the biggest risk yet. Inspired by the courage of her friends on this south London street, Helen volunteers to join the Special Operations Executive and puts her life in jeopardy for the sake of her country. But it's hard to know who to trust, and when her heart is on the line even love becomes dangerous. The war has changed everything, but one thing is certain; the women of Lavender Road will rally together, no matter what the future has in store...

Some Sunny Day (Lavender Road 2)

Some Sunny Day (Lavender Road 2)

  • Author: Helen Carey
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 1472231457
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 384
  • View: 968
DOWNLOAD NOW »
In Helen Carey's poignant and nostalgic novel SOME SUNNY DAY, it's 1940, and two young women are growing up in a world full of drama and danger. Perfect reading for fans of Kate Thompson and Donna Douglas. September 1940 As Luftwaffe bombs rain from the skies over London, the women of Lavender Road are fighting their own battles. Shy Katy Parsons has always been sheltered by her over-protective parents. The war is her chance to see life from beyond her bedroom window. Enrolling as a nurse was always her dream, but the reality is tougher than she ever imagined. And falling in love isn't all plain sailing either... Privileged Louise Rutherford secretly hoped the war would bring her some fun and romance. But far it has brought her pain and grief, and now she has a secret... something her strict father must never find out about. London during the Blitz is a dangerous place to live but the Lavender Road residents never stop believing their sunny day will come.

The Other Side of the Street (Lavender Road 5)

The Other Side of the Street (Lavender Road 5)

  • Author: Helen Carey
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 1472231511
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 384
  • View: 3262
DOWNLOAD NOW »
THE OTHER SIDE OF THE STREET is an irresistible, romantic and heart-warming saga of south London's women during the Second World War. 'A delightful experience... I can thoroughly recommend it' Ellie Dean It's 1944. Londoners are weary of air raids and rationing. But now, with rumours of an invasion of France, the tide of war seems to be turning. In Lavender Road, however, everyone still has challenges to face. Young widow Louise Rutherford longs to make a new life for herself. When a glamorous American officer arrives at her factory to recruit volunteers for a secret project, she senses an opportunity, only to find her efforts hampered by ten-year-old war orphan, George Nelson. Jen Carter's relationship with theatrical producer Henry Keller hits a hurdle when an old flame reappears. And when V1 retaliation rockets start hitting London, her mother Joyce's tentative romance is threatened too. Will the war finally wear down the women of Lavender Road, or can love thrive even in the toughest of times?

Colour London Streetfinder

Colour London Streetfinder

  • Author: Robert Nicholson,Romek Marber
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: 9780702816888
  • Category: London (England)
  • Page: 288
  • View: 4651
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Lavender Road to Success

Lavender Road to Success

The Career Guide for the Gay Community

  • Author: Kirk Snyder
  • Publisher: Springer Science & Business
  • ISBN: 9781580084963
  • Category: Business & Economics
  • Page: 194
  • View: 5916
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A workbooks for gay career planners and job seekers offers advice about assessing workplace climate and follows forty-eight research subjects whose stories support the author's view that coming out at work leads to personal happiness, increased income, an

London Post Offices and Streets

London Post Offices and Streets

  • Author: Great Britain. Post Office
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Postal service
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 2547
DOWNLOAD NOW »

AA Greater London Street Atlas

AA Greater London Street Atlas

  • Author: Automobile Association (Great Britain)
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: London (England)
  • Page: 116
  • View: 926
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Report on the Health of the ... Borough ...

Report on the Health of the ... Borough ...

  • Author: Battersea (Eng.). Public Health Department
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category:
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 7738
DOWNLOAD NOW »