Search Results for "offshore-with-human-voices-and-the-beginning-of-spring"

Offshore

Offshore

Human Voices ; the Beginning of Spring

  • Author: Penelope Fitzgerald
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: 9781857152692
  • Category:
  • Page: 512
  • View: 8859
DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Golden Child

The Golden Child

  • Author: Penelope Fitzgerald
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • ISBN: 9780395956199
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 188
  • View: 4230
DOWNLOAD NOW »
When the "Golden Child," is delivered to a London museum, a series of murders ensues, and museum officer Waring Smith finds himself in the middle of a difficult security problem. Reprint.

At Freddie's

At Freddie's

  • Author: Penelope Fitzgerald
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • ISBN: 9780395956182
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 160
  • View: 4853
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Freddie, the elderly proprietress of the Temple Stage School for children, attempts to outwit two successful businessmen who are interested in taking over the school

Bloomsbury Good Reading Guide

Bloomsbury Good Reading Guide

Discover your next great read

  • Author: Nick Rennison
  • Publisher: A&C Black
  • ISBN: 1408113988
  • Category: Reference
  • Page: 544
  • View: 1246
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Deciding what to read next when you've just finished an unputdownable novel can be a daunting task. The Bloomsbury Good Reading Guide features hundreds of authors and thousands of titles, with navigation features to lead you on a rich journey through some the best literature to grace our shelves. This greatly expanded edition includes the latest contemporary authors and landmark novels, an expanded non-fiction section, a timeline setting historical events against literary milestones, prize-winner and book club lists. An accessible and easy-to-read guide that no serious book lover should be without. "The essential guide to the wild uncharted world of contemporary and 20th century writing." Robert McCrum, The Observer

Understanding Penelope Fitzgerald

Understanding Penelope Fitzgerald

  • Author: Peter Wolfe
  • Publisher: Univ of South Carolina Press
  • ISBN: 9781570035616
  • Category: Women and literature
  • Page: 332
  • View: 6557
DOWNLOAD NOW »
"With readings of a broad range of her published works, including her final novel, The Blue Flower, Wolfe describes the unfolding of Fitzgerald's writing as a subtle, ongoing process. He maintains that the novels, though plain and rambling at first glance, grow fuller, stranger, and more stirring the more we invest in them. He details Fitzgerald's skill at sequencing events so as to unsettle readers and her ability to enhance motifs by not leaning too hard on them. Wolfe suggests that Fitzgerald's refusal to overplay effects and emotions, while at first puzzling in its disdain for drama, turns out to be one of her chief virtues, for she enables larger associations to emerge as she keeps big dramatic scenes from interfering with wider patterns."--BOOK JACKET.

Essays in Arts and Sciences

Essays in Arts and Sciences

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Art and science
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 4912
DOWNLOAD NOW »

British Writers

British Writers

Supplement V

  • Author: George Stade,Sarah Hannah Goldstein
  • Publisher: Charles Scribners Sons/Reference
  • ISBN: 9780684806150
  • Category: Biography & Autobiography
  • Page: 571
  • View: 6292
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Gale S/A 12-29-99 $132.53.

The Gate of Angels

The Gate of Angels

  • Author: Penelope Fitzgerald
  • Publisher: HMH
  • ISBN: 0547524730
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 176
  • View: 2027
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Shortlisted for the Booker Prize: A novel of two “wonderful characters” who meet by accident in Edwardian England, and fall inconveniently in love (The Washington Post). In 1912, rational scientist Fred Fairly, one of Cambridge’s best and brightest, crashes his bike and wakes up in bed with a stranger—fellow casualty Daisy Saunders, a charming, pretty, and almost pathologically generous working-class nurse. So begins a series of complications—not only of the heart but also of the head—as Fred and Daisy take up each other’s education and turn each other’s philosophies upside down. From the recipient of a National Book Critics Circle Award, among other honors, this story of an unlikely and possibly doomed romance is a “deft comedy of manners . . . Fitzgerald’s elegant prose shines with intelligence and subtle wit . . . Her flair for well-drawn eccentric characters will appeal to fans of Muriel Spark and Barbara Pym” (Library Journal). “A singular accomplishment.” —Boston Globe “Powerfully bewitching.” —Los Angeles Times

British Writers

British Writers

Supplement V

  • Author: Sarah Hannah Goldstein
  • Publisher: Charles Scribners Sons/Reference
  • ISBN: 9780684806150
  • Category: Biography & Autobiography
  • Page: 571
  • View: 3684
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Gale S/A 12-29-99 $132.53.

About the Author

About the Author

The Passionate Reader's Guide to the Authors You Love, Including Things You Never Knew, Juicy Bits You'll Want to Know, and Hundreds of Ideas for what to Read Next

  • Author: Alfred Glossbrenner,Emily Glossbrenner
  • Publisher: Mariner Books
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Literary Criticism
  • Page: 309
  • View: 6643
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Introduces the life and work of 125 notable authors from all major genres, recommending which work to read first, similar works by other authors, biographies, and sources of literary criticism.