Search Results for "our-house"

At Our House

At Our House

  • Author: Jean-Pierre Horlin
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
  • ISBN: 9780671661342
  • Category: Dwellings
  • Page: 24
  • View: 6966
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Every day happenings at Nicky and Rosie's house.

Our House

Our House

The Representation of Domestic Space in Modern Culture

  • Author: Gerry Smyth,Jo Croft
  • Publisher: Rodopi
  • ISBN: 9042019697
  • Category: Architecture
  • Page: 268
  • View: 1800
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Space has emerged in recent years as a radical category in a range of related disciplines across the humanities. Of the many possible applications of this new interest, some of the most exciting and challenging have addressed the issue of domestic architecture and its function as a space for both the dramatisation and the negotiation of a cluster of highly salient issues concerning, amongst other things, belonging and exclusion, fear and desire, identity and difference.Our House is a cross-disciplinary collection of essays taking as its focus both the prospect and the possibility of 'the house'. This latter term is taken in its broadest possible resonance, encompassing everything from the great houses so beloved of nineteenth-century English novelists to the caravans and mobile homes of the latterday travelling community, and all points in between. The essays are written by a combination of established and emerging scholars, working in a variety of scholarly disciplines, including literary criticism, sociology, cultural studies, history, popular music, and architecture. No specific school or theory predominates, although the work of two key figures – Gaston Bachelard and Martin Heidegger – is engaged throughout. This collection engages with a number of key issues raised by the increasingly troubled relationship between the cultural (built) and natural environments in the contemporary world.

Our House is on Fire

Our House is on Fire

Scenes of a Family and a Planet in Crisis

  • Author: Malena Ernman,Greta Thunberg,Beata Ernman,Svante Thunberg
  • Publisher: Penguin UK
  • ISBN: 0241446759
  • Category: Science
  • Page: 288
  • View: 6626
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The profoundly moving story of how love, courage and determination brought Greta Thunberg's family back from the brink 'Urgent, lucid, courageous ... a must-read message of hope ... It is a glimpse of a saner world' David Mitchell, Guardian This is the story of a happy family whose life suddenly fell apart, never to be the same again. Of two devoted parents plunged into a waking nightmare as their eleven-year-old daughter Greta stopped speaking and eating, and her younger sister struggled to cope. They desperately searched for answers, and began to see how their children's suffering reached far beyond medical diagnoses. This crisis was not theirs alone: they were burned-out people on a burned-out planet. And so they decided to act. Our House is on Fire shows how, amid forces that tried to silence them, one family found ways to strengthen, heal, and gain courage from the love they had for each other - and for the living world. It is a parable of hope and determination in an emergency that affects us all.

Our House Divided

Our House Divided

Seven Japanese American Families in World War II

  • Author: Tomi Kaizawa Knaefler
  • Publisher: University of Hawaii Press
  • ISBN: 9780824817671
  • Category: History
  • Page: 144
  • View: 5846
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Our House Divided recounts the stories of seven Hawai'i families who were divided by Pearl Harbor and the resulting war. The American children of one of these families acquiesced silently, sadly, to accompany their father, who asked to be repatriated to Japan. Members of each of the other six families were in both countries on December 7, 1941. Each account in Our House Divided tells of pain and sorrow.

Building Our House

Building Our House

  • Author: GM Harlow
  • Publisher: Lulu.com
  • ISBN: 144676396X
  • Category:
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 4209
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Our House

Our House

A laugh-out-loud romantic romp

  • Author: Cathy Woodman
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 0755392647
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 289
  • View: 3824
DOWNLOAD NOW »
There's no place like this home... Single mum of twins, Sadie Keith thought she'd lost her 'wow factor' until gorgeous builder Gareth sets his sights on her, but can he build her dream home and be her dream man? Our House is Cathy Woodman's honest and hilarious novel, perfect for fans of Carole Matthews and Lucy Diamond. 'A cast of diverse characters that grow on you. For a vet, Woodman knows a lot about human nature' - Nottingham Evening Post Sadie Keith doesn't have it all, but she's proud of what she's got: two gorgeous children, a challenging career as a magic operative (that's a clown to you and me) and a cleavage that has, so far, pluckily resisted the forces of age, twin babies and gravity. When Sadie goes to bed (alone) she dreams about two things - a night of passion before she forgets what it feels like, and making enough money to hang up her red nose for good. So when she sees a dilapidated house on the market, Sadie has a brainwave. Why not buy the property, do it up and sell it on? If the people on the telly can do it, so can she. All she needs is a builder. With his tight jeans, tanned torso and tools at the ready, Gareth Bryant seems the perfect choice. What's more, he's wild about Sadie. But as the money runs out, the rain runs in and the kids run riot, Sadie wonders if she's fallen for the wrong kind of cowboy. What readers are saying about Our House: 'Excellent story teller - makes you laugh out loud too' 'Absolutely loved it. Very easy to read and hard to put down'

Our House

Our House

  • Author: Barbara König,Roslyn Theobald
  • Publisher: Northwestern University Press
  • ISBN: 9780810115125
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 155
  • View: 4457
DOWNLOAD NOW »
As the novel opens, a young woman is returning home in the company of a new love, who departs after they make a date for that evening. As Nadine prepares for her rendezvous, she converses with a series of characters: the contentious Cyril, the critical Dombrowskaya, the morbid and degenerate Anatol, the gentle Bozena. All claim insight into Nadine's past; all seem to have a stake in the young woman's future. Far from being a group of stable, supportive friends, the characters are revealed to be the elements of Nadine's fragmented personality. The experiences and desires of the various personalities are revealed, slowly exposing the core of Nadine's deep uncertainty and self-doubt. As the time of her assignation approaches, Nadine's attempts to quiet the cacophony of voices become more urgent, and the young woman searches desperately for a means of integrating herself and the other voices.

From Our House

From Our House

A Memoir

  • Author: Lee Martin
  • Publisher: U of Nebraska Press
  • ISBN: 9780803222908
  • Category: Biography & Autobiography
  • Page: 192
  • View: 609
DOWNLOAD NOW »
From Our House is the luminous and uniquely American memoir of Lee Martin, born into a farming family the same year his father unexpectedly lost both hands. Lee?s father, once known for ?doing a good turn for his neighbors,? changed that afternoon in the cornfields, becoming an embittered, hardened man. ?All our lives have private truths,? Martin writes, ?and the truth about my father was that after his accident he brought a deep and abiding rage into our home. I knew his hooks as intimately as I ever knew anything about my father.? ?How easily our bodies become us, our souls bound to the material, to the joy or grief or pain we feel through our skin,? Martin muses. Ultimately it is his mother?s quiet compassion that accounts for the grace that Lee and his father finally discover both within themselves and within their small family. Learning to live by the seasons and to fall asleep to the rumble of his father?s tractor, braving snowstorms to sell hogs or to visit an ailing grandmother, playing basketball, listening to baseball games, and stealing records, Lee endures the anger and shame that haunt his family?yet grows up to tell his tale with rare beauty and remarkable forbearance.

Our House in the Clouds

Our House in the Clouds

Building a Second Life in the Andes of Ecuador

  • Author: Judy Blankenship
  • Publisher: University of Texas Press
  • ISBN: 0292745273
  • Category: Biography & Autobiography
  • Page: 224
  • View: 2448
DOWNLOAD NOW »
While many baby boomers are downsizing to a simpler retirement lifestyle, photographer and writer Judy Blankenship and her husband Michael Jenkins took a more challenging leap in deciding to build a house on the side of a mountain in southern Ecuador. They now live half the year in Cañar, an indigenous community they came to know in the early nineties when Blankenship taught photography there. They are the only extranjeros (outsiders) in this homely, chilly town at 10,100 feet, where every afternoon a spectacular mass of clouds rolls up from the river valley below and envelopes the town. In this absorbing memoir, Blankenship tells the interwoven stories of building their house in the clouds and strengthening their ties to the community. Although she and Michael had spent considerable time in Cañar before deciding to move there, they still had much to learn about local customs as they navigated the process of building a house with traditional materials using a local architect and craftspeople. Likewise, fulfilling their obligations as neighbors in a community based on reciprocity presented its own challenges and rewards. Blankenship writes vividly of the rituals of births, baptisms, marriages, festival days, and deaths that counterpoint her and Michael’s solitary pursuits of reading, writing, listening to opera, playing chess, and cooking. Their story will appeal to anyone contemplating a second life, as well as those seeking a deeper understanding of daily life in the developing world.

This is Our House

This is Our House

House Music, Cultural Spaces and Technologies

  • Author: Hillegonda C. Rietveld
  • Publisher: Routledge
  • ISBN: 0429640404
  • Category: Social Science
  • Page: 276
  • View: 5895
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Originally published in 1998. House music has had a considerable influence in shaping the sound of pop music from the late 1980s onwards. From underground dance events to the pop charts, traces of this aesthetic can be found in many guises. This book traces a genealogy of house and maps some of the power structures that are at play in its production and consumptoin. Places like Chicago, New York, London, Manchester, Amsterdam and Rotterdam have been visited, providing the material to discuss such subjects as contemporary dance culture, DJs and the roles of musical technologies. The author, Hillegonda Rietveld, was already steeped in dance club culture before she decided to write this loving piece of academic prose about house. Taking critical culture studies as its aesthetic fuel, she ram-raids boundaries of academic disciplines, fusing ideas like a meticulous DJing curator.