Search Results for "pirate-king"

Pirate King (with bonus short story Beekeeping for Beginners)

Pirate King (with bonus short story Beekeeping for Beginners)

A novel of suspense featuring Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes

  • Author: Laurie R. King
  • Publisher: Bantam
  • ISBN: 0553907549
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 368
  • View: 8099
DOWNLOAD NOW »
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER In England’s young silent-film industry, the megalomaniacal Randolph Fflytte is king. But rumors of criminal activities swirl around his popular movie studio. At the request of Scotland Yard, Mary Russell travels undercover to the set of Fflytte’s latest cinematic extravaganza, Pirate King. Based on Gilbert and Sullivan’s The Pirates of Penzance, the project will either set the standard for moviemaking for a generation . . . or sink a boatload of careers. As the company starts rehearsals in Lisbon, the thirteen blond-haired, blue-eyed actresses whom Mary is chaperoning meet the swarm of real buccaneers Fflytte has recruited to provide authenticity. But when the crew embarks for Morocco and the actual filming, Russell senses ominous currents of trouble: a derelict boat, a film crew with many secrets, decks awash with budding romance—and now the pirates are ignoring Fflytte and answering only to their outlaw leader. Where can Sherlock Holmes be? As movie make-believe becomes true terror, Russell and Holmes themselves may experience a final fadeout. Features Laurie R. King’s short story, Beekeepers for Beginners, and an excerpt from Laurie R. King's Garment of Shadows.

Pirate King

Pirate King

  • Author: Laurie R. King
  • Publisher: Allison & Busby
  • ISBN: 0749040963
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 384
  • View: 1589
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The latest adventure for the intrepid Mary Russell and her husband Sherlock Holmes takes readers into the frenetic world of silent films, where the pirates are real and the shooting isn’t all done with cameras. In England’s young silent-film industry, the megalomaniacal Randolph Fflytte is king. Nevertheless, Mary Russell is dispatched to investigate the criminal activities that surround Fflytte’s popular movie studio. So Russell is travelling undercover to Portugal, along with the film crew that is gearing up to shoot a cinematic extravaganza, Pirate King. Based on Gilbert and Sullivan’s The Pirates of Penzance, the project will either set the standard for movie-making for a generation or sink a boatload of careers. Nothing seems amiss until the enormous company starts rehearsals in Lisbon, where the thirteen blonde-haired, blue-eyed actresses Mary is bemusedly chaperoning meet the swarm of real buccaneers Fflytte has recruited to provide authenticity. But when the crew embarks for Morocco and the actual filming, Russell feels a building storm of trouble: a derelict boat, a film crew with secrets, ominous currents between the pirates, decks awash with budding romance – and now the pirates are ignoring Fflytte and answering only to their dangerous outlaw leader, La Rocha. Plus, there’s a spy on board. Where can Sherlock Holmes be? As movie make-believe becomes true terror, Russell and Holmes themselves may experience a final fadeout.

The Pirate King

The Pirate King

  • Author: Stephen L. Props
  • Publisher: Strategic Book Publishing & Rights Agency
  • ISBN: 162857576X
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 1016
  • View: 8474
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The Pirate King is the author’s debut novel, blending history, action, adventure, romance, the epic Napoleonic era, and piracy into a fictional story based on actual historical events. If you’re looking for swashbuckling adventure and romance on the high seas, read The Pirate King! While betraying Thomas Parsons, a tavern patron, to the occupying British, Frenchman Michel LeFevers learns of a considerable tax payment being shipped from Calcutta to London. Always the opportunist, LeFevers sells the information to his cohort, Nazar Samburu, a Madagascar pirate king. Unknowingly, LeFevers sets off a series of events that will bring him, Nazar, his bitter wife Maha, and the betrayed Thomas Parsons together on an epic adventure, with Thomas becoming essential to everyone’s survival. Upon learning that his beautiful wife Emily has fallen victim to Mediterranean Barbary Pirates, Thomas gains assistance from the people he so courageously saved. Entangling England, India, Madagascar, Algiers, the British Navy, the British Tea Company, Nazar’s pirate league, and the Barbary Pirates, Thomas is determined to rescue his beloved. Tottering upon the dawn of a new era, the fate of the post-Napoleonic world could very well hinge upon the outcome.

The Rise of the Pirate King

The Rise of the Pirate King

  • Author: Paul R. Wonning
  • Publisher: Mossy Feet Books
  • ISBN: 1370348509
  • Category:
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 5100
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Under the vicious assault of Gwaum, the Kingdom of Sylvanhaven fell. The few that fled the catastrophe barely escaped with their lives. Tarque rescued Prince Bearl, heir to the kingdom, only to fall victim to pirates.

Daughter of the Pirate King

Daughter of the Pirate King

  • Author: Tricia Levenseller
  • Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
  • ISBN: 1250095972
  • Category: Young Adult Fiction
  • Page: 336
  • View: 8222
DOWNLOAD NOW »
There will be plenty of time for me to beat him soundly once I've gotten what I came for. Sent on a mission to retrieve an ancient hidden map—the key to a legendary treasure trove—seventeen-year-old pirate captain Alosa deliberately allows herself to be captured by her enemies, giving her the perfect opportunity to search their ship. More than a match for the ruthless pirate crew, Alosa has only one thing standing between her and the map: her captor, the unexpectedly clever and unfairly attractive first mate Riden. But not to worry, for Alosa has a few tricks up her sleeve, and no lone pirate can stop the Daughter of the Pirate King. In Daughter of the Pirate King, debut author Tricia Levenseller blends action, adventure, romance, and a little bit of magic into a thrilling YA pirate tale.

The Pirate King

The Pirate King

Transitions

  • Author: R.A. Salvatore
  • Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
  • ISBN: 0786952652
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 416
  • View: 2691
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Drizzt returns to Luskan, and the Realms will never be the same! The Arcane Brotherhood has long held the city of Luskan in their power, but when corruption eats away at their ranks, Captain Deudermont comes to the rescue of a city that has become a safe haven for the Sword Coast's most dangerous pirates. But rescuing a city from itself may not be as easy as Deudermont thinks, and when Drizzt can't talk him out of it, he'll be forced to help. Drizzt is back in action again, and bringing more changes to the Forgotten Realms setting. This all new hardcover adventure will keep Drizzt fans guessing the whole way, with edge-of-your-seat action and plot twists that even the most casual reader of the Forgotten Realms novel line can't afford to miss! From the Hardcover edition.

The Deathless Pirate King

The Deathless Pirate King

Dragon Blood Pirates: Book Seven

  • Author: Dan Jerris
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 073441238X
  • Category: Juvenile Fiction
  • Page: 84
  • View: 3087
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Princess Haree of Ruby Island has been kidnapped by an evil pirate named Razor Toe, and it's up to Al and Owen to rescue her. But there's a lot more to Razor Toe than meets the eye... Can the boys survive a battle with a deathless pirate king? Just try to resist the action-packed Dragon Blood Pirates series - and the lure of adventure and mystery on the high seas.

Dr Singh, Pirate King: Genie Street: Ladybird Read it yourself

Dr Singh, Pirate King: Genie Street: Ladybird Read it yourself

  • Author: Richard Dungworth
  • Publisher: Penguin UK
  • ISBN: 0718192710
  • Category: Juvenile Fiction
  • Page: 128
  • View: 4203
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Dr Singh Pirate King is book four of Ladybird's Genie Street fiction series. This exciting new ebook contains two short chapter stories for independent readers who are ready and want to read real fiction for the first time. In Dr Singh Pirate King we once more follow Daisy and Tom as they journey to Lampland, this time in search of their friend Jinx the cat. Their adventure sees the children navigate the seas on-board Captain Yellowbeard's ship, battle the evil Captain Corkscrew and his crew and go on a pirate treasure hunt to find the captain's missing treasure! In the second story - Mrs Proctor Monster Doctor - Tom and Daisy have been given a Special Delivery by Genie Street's postman, Mr Mistry, that they must deliver to Lampland's animal doctor. Along the way they encounter many bizarre beasts, including a rather grumpy monster called Fang! Genie Street is the next step up from Ladybird's Read it yourself Level 4. With short chapters, simple vocabulary and a clear layout, these ebooks will encourage and build confidence when reading. Other stories in this series include Mrs Kramer Dragon Tamer, Mr Chan Rocket Man and Mrs Greene Mermaid Queen.

Barbarossa, the Pirate King

Barbarossa, the Pirate King

  • Author: Neil Grant
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Pirates
  • Page: 85
  • View: 7563
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A biography of the king of Algiers and Turkish national hero responsible for establishing Turkish dominance of the Mediterranean in the sixteenth century.

The Pirate King

The Pirate King

  • Author: Huw Powell
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA
  • ISBN: 1681193116
  • Category: Juvenile Fiction
  • Page: 320
  • View: 6507
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The galaxy is at war and Jake Cutler is at the heart of it. With his friends and allies captured, it's up to teenage space pirate Jake to go into battle and take down the corrupt Interstellar Government once and for all. But in order to win this battle, Jake must find his father and confront secrets from his own past … Prepare for blast-off with the explosive third book in the Spacejackers series – perfect for fans of Star Wars, pirates and space adventures of all shapes and sizes.