Search Results for "replica"

Richard Brown's Replica Watch Report

Richard Brown's Replica Watch Report

(COLOR)

  • Author: Richard Brown
  • Publisher: ChronoSafe Media
  • ISBN: 9781411614543
  • Category:
  • Page: 184
  • View: 6555
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A resource for identifying fake, replica, or countefeit watches. Detailed descriptions and over 500 color photographs are provided to aid in spotting replica watches. This book provides the tools to inform people how to spot fraud on sites such as eBay, and allow them to purchase watches safely online.

Forgery, Replica, Fiction

Forgery, Replica, Fiction

Temporalities of German Renaissance Art

  • Author: Christopher S. Wood
  • Publisher: University of Chicago Press
  • ISBN: 0226905977
  • Category: Art
  • Page: 386
  • View: 8260
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Today we often identify artifacts with the period when they were made. In more traditional cultures, however, such objects as pictures, effigies, and buildings were valued not as much for their chronological age as for their perceived links to the remote origins of religions, nations, monasteries, and families. As a result, Christopher Wood argues, premodern Germans tended not to distinguish between older buildings and their newer replacements, or between ancient icons and more recent forgeries. But Wood shows that over the course of the fifteenth and early sixteenth centuries, emerging replication technologies—such as woodcut, copper engraving, and movable type—altered the relationship between artifacts and time. Mechanization highlighted the artifice, materials, and individual authorship necessary to create an object, calling into question the replica’s ability to represent a history that was not its own. Meanwhile, print catalyzed the new discipline of archaeological scholarship, which began to draw sharp distinctions between true and false claims about the past. Ultimately, as forged replicas lost their value as historical evidence, they found a new identity as the intentionally fictional image-making we have come to understand as art.

Replica

Replica

Book One in the addictive, pulse-pounding Replica duology

  • Author: Lauren Oliver
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 147361497X
  • Category: Young Adult Fiction
  • Page: 544
  • View: 7123
DOWNLOAD NOW »
From the bestselling author of Before I Fall and the Delirium trilogy, Replica questions how to be human in a world where humanity cannot be taken for granted. Perfect for fans of Tom and Giovanna Fletcher's EVE OF MAN. **Don't forget to buy the new novel, BROKEN THINGS, now!** LYRA The Haven Institute - tucked away on a private island, it looks serene, even beautiful. But up close you'll notice the locked doors. The guards. The biohazard suits. A clandestine research facility where thousands of replicas - human models - are born, raised and observed, Haven is a prison. A prison from which Lyra and a boy known only as 72 manage to escape. GEMMA In and out of hospitals for as long as she can remember, Gemma's teenage years have been lonely and a little dull. But after she is nearly abducted by a stranger claiming to know her, Gemma starts to investigate her family past, discovering mysterious links to the secretive Haven research facility. Gemma leaves home hungry for answers, only to stumble upon two replicas and a completely new set of questions When Lyra and Gemma meet each other on the outside world they join together in a mission to discover the truth about Haven, uncovering earth-shattering secrets that will change lives forever. . . . Praise for Lauren Oliver 'Electric, heartbreaking, pulse-pounding, and timely, REPLICA is a riveting two-for-one. Two complex heroines, two puzzling mysteries, two weaving adventures, all in one astounding novel' Victoria Aveyard, bestselling author of Red Queen 'Alarming and uplifting, a rare psychological thriller that has a kind heart at its centre. Read it with all the lights on' E. Lockhart, bestselling author of We Were Liars 'A tense, clever psychological thriller, with a devastating denouement that will make you want to start the book all over again' Daily Mail 'Brilliantly written, gritty, deep and compassionate. I couldn't give it a higher recommendation!' Guardian 'Lauren Oliver is the rising star of young adult fiction' The Times 'A searing pair of intertwined stories about the line between science and humanity, told with Oliver's signature grace, uniqueness, and precision. It's a new story every way you turn it - but always gorgeous, always haunting' Marie Lu, author of The Young Elites and Legend

Hyper-V Replica Essentials

Hyper-V Replica Essentials

  • Author: Vangel Krstevski
  • Publisher: Packt Publishing Ltd
  • ISBN: 1782171894
  • Category: Computers
  • Page: 96
  • View: 8661
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A fast-paced, step-by-step guide to configuring Hyper-V Replica in various deployment scenarios.a in various deployment scenarios.Hyper-V Replica Essentials is for Windows Server administrators who want to improve their system availability and speed up disaster recovery. You will need experience in Hyper-V deployment because Hyper-V Replica is built in the Hyper-V platform.

Replica

Replica

  • Author: Jenna Black
  • Publisher: Tor Teen
  • ISBN: 1466804890
  • Category: Young Adult Fiction
  • Page: 368
  • View: 3930
DOWNLOAD NOW »
REPLICA is the breathtaking new SF novel from JENNA BLACK, author of the Faeriewalker series. Sixteen-year-old Nadia Lake's marriage has been arranged with the most powerful family in the Corporate States. She lives a life of privilege even if she has to put up with paparazzi tracking her every move, every detail of her private life tabloid fodder. But her future is assured, as long as she can maintain her flawless public image—no easy feat when your betrothed is a notorious playboy. Nathaniel Hayes is the heir to the company that pioneered human replication: a technology that every state and every country in the world would kill to have. Except he's more interested in sneaking around the seedy underbelly of the state formerly known as New York than he is in learning to run his future company or courting his bride-to-be. She's not exactly his type...not that he can tell anyone that. But then Nate turns up dead, and Nadia was the last person to see him alive. When the new Nate wakes up in the replication tanks, he knows he must have died, but with a memory that only reaches to his last memory back-up, he doesn't know what—or rather, who—killed him. Together, Nadia and Nate must discover what really happened without revealing the secrets that those who run their world would kill to protect. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Replica

Replica

  • Author: Jack Heath
  • Publisher: Oxford University Press - Children
  • ISBN: 0192737678
  • Category: Juvenile Fiction
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 8441
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Whose body is that on the table?' I ask. She stares at me, as though the answer is obvious. 'It's yours,' she says. Before I have time to scream, she types a command on the keyboard. My consciousness whirls away like storm water down a drain. Chloe wakes up to find all her memories have been wiped. And the only person who knows what happened is a teenage girl who looks and sounds exactly like her. Who is she? And what does she want? Chloe is running out of time to discover the truth. But she's in even more danger than she realizes, and nothing is as it seems . . .

Captain Beefheart's Trout Mask Replica

Captain Beefheart's Trout Mask Replica

  • Author: Kevin Courrier
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA
  • ISBN: 1441113770
  • Category: Music
  • Page: 152
  • View: 5153
DOWNLOAD NOW »
In the spring of 1969, the inauspicious release of Captain Beefheart and the Magic Band's Trout Mask Replica, a double-album featuring 28 stream-of-consciousness songs filled with abstract rhythms and guttural bellows, dramatically altered the pop landscape. Yet even if the album did cast its radical vision over the future of music, much of the record's artistic strength is actually drawn from the past. This book examines how Beefheart's incomparable opus, an album that divided (rather than) united a pop audience, is informed by a variety of diverse sources. Trout Mask Replica is a hybrid of poetic declarations inspired by both Walt Whitman and the beat poets, the field hollers of the Delta Blues, the urban blues of Howlin' Wolf, the gospel blues of Blind Willie Johnson, and the free jazz of Ornette Coleman. This book illustrates how Trout Mask Replica was not so much an arcane specimen of the avant-garde, but rather a defiantly original declaration of the American imagination.

Missing Pieces (Replica #17)

Missing Pieces (Replica #17)

  • Author: Marilyn Kaye
  • Publisher: Skylark
  • ISBN: 0804149968
  • Category: Juvenile Fiction
  • Page: 160
  • View: 7950
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Something weird is happening to talented students at Parkside Middle School. It's as if someone -- or something -- is stealing what makes each of them special. And it starts with the jocks. The star quarterback "loses his arm." The top sprinter becomes slow as molasses. The basketball team's high scorer can't shoot into the hoop. Amy watches all this in bewilderment. Then, as others at school suffer a loss of their talents, Amy decides it's time for action. But she doesn't have a clue what she's up against. . . .

The Fever (Replica #9)

The Fever (Replica #9)

  • Author: Marilyn Kaye
  • Publisher: Skylark
  • ISBN: 0804149887
  • Category: Juvenile Fiction
  • Page: 176
  • View: 8287
DOWNLOAD NOW »
When twelve-year-old Amy becomes ill and loses her powers, she suspects that it's connected to the new teen club that has opened near her school.

Replica (A Techno-thriller)

Replica (A Techno-thriller)

  • Author: Richard Bowker
  • Publisher: ePublishing Works!
  • ISBN: 1614173079
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 300
  • View: 5238
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Shana York, the brilliant young head of York Robotics is kidnapped and blackmailed into creating an android replica of Randall Forrester—the president of the United States. If she fails, the price is death. If she succeeds, it could mean the end of the world... REVIEWS: "Readers will be guessing the story's outcome until the very end." ~Publishers Weekly "...filled with so many twists and turns that you'll never guess how the story turns out." ~The Chicago Tribune "...has everything I like in a novel: characters I cared about, a well-realized future setting, a fluid style that carried me effortlessly from page to page, and a suspenseful plot that kept me up well into the wee hours of the morning." ~F. Paul Wilson, author of The Keep "Succeeds both as a science fiction and as a contemporary thriller. ~The San Francisco Chronicle OTHER TITLES by Richard Bowker Pontiff Summit Senator Dover Beach