Search Results for "road-to-the-stars"

Road to the Stars

Road to the Stars

  • Author: Yuri Gagarin
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: 9780898757286
  • Category: Biography & Autobiography
  • Page: 232
  • View: 3276
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The autobiography of the first cosmonaut.Contents:Smolensk - My Native RegionI Join the Ranks of the Work ClassI Become a PilotThe Oath of AllegianceUnder the Northern LightsTraining for the Great DayWednesday, April 12Living for the Country

Road Of Stars To Santiago

Road Of Stars To Santiago

  • Author: Edward F. Stanton
  • Publisher: University Press of Kentucky
  • ISBN: 0813157005
  • Category: History
  • Page: 208
  • View: 9632
DOWNLOAD NOW »
In the tradition of Colin Fletcher's The Man Who Walked Through Time and William Least Heat-Moon's Blue Highways, Edward F. Stanton has written a quietly beautiful and engrossing account of his own pilgrimage. Road of Stars to Santiago is a personal story of his journey along what has been called "the premier cultural route of Europe." "I undertook a five-hundred-mile walk along the ancient Camino de Santiago, from the French Pyrenees to Santiago de Compostella in northwest Spain, the supposed burial site of the apostle St. James the Elder, and beyond to Finisterre, Land's End on the Atlantic coast. "On my journey I followed the old road whenever possible, passing through mountains, medieval forests and remote villages, as well as modern towns and cities. I slept in fields, abandoned schools or wherever I could, on a thirty-day trip that brought me into contact with a whole cross-section of Spanish society, and with pilgrims from France, Belgium, Holland, Germany and England. "Most of the book has to do with my own trials and joys on the Road: the physical struggle to walk about twenty miles a day in the heat or rain, to find a place to eat and sleep; with the psychological changes that take place when one leaves home, family and routine; with the contradictions inherent to a pilgrimage in the late twentieth centuiy; with experiences that ranged from the spiritual to the picaresque; with the people I met on the way -- from shepherds and peasan ts to astrologers and philosophers. There are plenty of humorous situations and unexpected turns." -- Edward F. Stanton

A Road of Stars

A Road of Stars

  • Author: Ardath Mayhar
  • Publisher: Wildside Press LLC
  • ISBN: 1434402878
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 200
  • View: 3622
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The greatest dancer of her generation, slowly dying from cancer, finds herself transported into the worlds displayed on paintings of the roads, paths, and streets that she never had time to explore throughout her demanding career. This helps her reconcile with her hostile relatives, and helps her to find peace before her own passing.

The Road to the Spring

The Road to the Spring

Collected Poems of Mary Austin

  • Author: James Perrin Warren
  • Publisher: Syracuse University Press
  • ISBN: 0815652755
  • Category: Poetry
  • Page: 464
  • View: 8856
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The Road to the Spring is the first book publication of Mary Austin’s (1868–1934) poems. Best known for her prose book The Land of Little Rain (1903), Austin was in fact a poet from the beginning of her career to the end, even though she never published a volume dedicated to her own original poetry. Instead, Austin’s work came to light in collections of poetry and in prestigious journals such as Poetry, the Nation, the Forum, Harper’s, and Saturday Review of Literature, among many others. The Road to the Spring contains more than 200 poems, most of which can only be found in out-of-print books, magazines, and periodicals, and her unpublished manuscripts archived at the Huntington Library. This singular publication includes her original work, poems she claimed to have written with her grammar school pupils at the end of the nineteenth century, and her translations and "re-expressions" of Native American songs, which often diverge greatly from any other known sources. Warren includes an introduction, laying out Austin’s place in American literature and situating her writings in feminist, environmentalist, regionalist, and Native American contexts. He also includes notes for those new to Austin’s work, glossing Native terms, geographical names, and the ethnological sources of the Native songs she re-creates.

The Stones and the Stars

The Stones and the Stars

Building Scotland's Newest Megalith

  • Author: Duncan Lunan
  • Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media
  • ISBN: 1461453542
  • Category: Science
  • Page: 325
  • View: 4318
DOWNLOAD NOW »
There are at least 48 identified prehistoric stone circles in Scotland. In truth, very little is known about the people who erected them, and ultimately about what the stone circles were for. Most stone circles are astronomically aligned, which has led to the modern debate about why the alignment was significant. The megaliths certainly represented an enormous co-operative effort, would at the very least have demonstrated power and wealth, and being set away from any dwellings probably served a ceremonial, or perhaps religious, purpose. Observations at the site of the stone circles, of solar, lunar, and stellar events, have already cast light on some of the questions about the construction and use of ancient megalithic observatories. In his capacity as manager of the Parks Department Astronomy Project, author Duncan Lunan designed and built the first astronomically aligned stone circle in Britain in over 3,000 years. 'The Stones and the Stars' examines the case for astronomical alignments of stone circles, and charts the development of a fascinating project with a strong scientific and historical background. The work was documented in detail by the artist and photographer Gavin Roberts, and this archive has been added to since - so an appropriate selection of illustrations will bring the project vividly to life.

The Road to Galaxy Formation

The Road to Galaxy Formation

  • Author: William C. Keel
  • Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media
  • ISBN: 9781852335748
  • Category: Science
  • Page: 230
  • View: 4176
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Written by one of the leading authorities in the field, this is one of the first book's to describe one of today's most important problems in cosmology - the formation of galaxies. The book tackles this great puzzle by discusses the beginnings of the process from cosmological observations and calculations, considers the broad features of galaxies that we need to explain and what we know of their later history. The author compares the competing theories for galaxy formation and considers the progress expected from new generations of powerful telescopes both on earth and in space. An intriguing text on one of today's greatest and most profound puzzles.

Hal Wallis: Producer to the Stars

Hal Wallis: Producer to the Stars

  • Author: Bernard F. Dick
  • Publisher: University Press of Kentucky
  • ISBN: 9780813129075
  • Category: History
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 9873
DOWNLOAD NOW »
"Few ships in American history have had as illustrious a history as the heavy cruiser USS Portland (CA-33), affectionately known by her crew as 'Sweet Pea.' With the destructionof most of the U.S. battleship fleet at Pearl Harbor, cruisers such as Sweet Pea carried the biggest guns the Navy possessed for nearly a year after the start of World War II. Sweet Pea at War describes in harrowing detail how Portland and her sisters protected the precious carriers and held the line against overwhelming Japanese naval strength. Portland was instrumental in the dramatic American victories at the Battle of the Coral Sea, the Battle of Midway, and the naval battle of Guadalcanal--conflicts that historians regard as turning points in the Pacific war. She rescued nearly three thousand sailors from sunken ships, some of them while she herself was badly damaged. Only a colossal hurricane ended her career, but she sailed home from that, too. Based on extensive research in official documents and interviews with members of the ship's crew, Sweet Pea at War recounts from launching to scrapping the history of USS Portland, demonstrating that she deserves to be remembered as one of the most important ships in U.S. naval history.

Beyond the Stars: Locales in American popular film

Beyond the Stars: Locales in American popular film

  • Author: Paul Loukides,Linda K. Fuller
  • Publisher: Popular Press
  • ISBN: 9780879725891
  • Category: Performing Arts
  • Page: 254
  • View: 4557
DOWNLOAD NOW »
In this volume of the Beyond the Stars series, the subject of the various individual essays are discrete conventions of movie locales, but the subject of the volume as a whole--as with the other books in the series--is the viability of film convention studies as a tool for the study of film and American culture.

Envoys from the Stars

Envoys from the Stars

Ian Way

  • Author: Ian Way
  • Publisher: Balboa Press
  • ISBN: 1452526818
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 816
  • View: 8588
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Three first-born children are sired by three males from Earth’s three great races! Each of these fathers had suffered abduction and bio-genetic surgery by extraterrestrials who appear to be a mix of ancient ancestors to our planet’s contemporary peoples. In the interest of Earth’s mankind, our progress over thousands of years, has been monitored, believe or not, on a regular basis by these ancient ancestors, but while consistently being horrified by the advent of our countless wars, our advancing technologies, in the alien’s minds, have now deemed us to now be approaching the point of starting wars which could result in our total annihilation! Each child, Charles, Chein, and Zuda, has been born with highly advanced alien genes which are programmed to advance in stages towards their maturation whereby they finally will be able to report collectively & accurately at any point whereby mankind’s manifest destiny could be ultimately affected! Hence the possibility of an alien intervention!