Search Results for "six-feet-over"

Six Feet Over

Six Feet Over

Adventures in the Afterlife

  • Author: Mary Roach
  • Publisher: Canongate Books
  • ISBN: 1847676928
  • Category: Science
  • Page: 300
  • View: 6992
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Does the light just go out and that’s that – the million-year nap? Or will some part of my personality, my me-ness, persist? What will that feel like? What will I do all day? Is there a place to plug in my laptop?” Mary Roach trains her considerable humour and curiosity on the human soul, seeking answers from a varied and fascinating crew of contemporary and historical soul-searchers: scientists, schemers, engineers, mediums, all trying to prove (or disprove) that life goes on after we die. Along the way she encounters electromagnetic hauntings, out-of-body experiences, ghosts and lawsuits: Mary Roach sifts and weighs the evidence in her hilarious, inimitable style.

Six Feet Over It

Six Feet Over It

  • Author: Jennifer Longo
  • Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
  • ISBN: 044981873X
  • Category: Young Adult Fiction
  • Page: 352
  • View: 2356
DOWNLOAD NOW »
This unforgettable new voice in contemporary YA is perfect for fans of John Green, Libba Bray, and Jennifer Niven. “Like nothing you’ve read before.” —Bustle.com “Darkly funny and deeply moving. An original, memorable voice.” —Jennifer L. Holm, New York Times bestselling author “A wildly funny coming-of-age story about life, love, death, and everything in between.” —Sarah McCarry, author of All Our Pretty Songs “Terrific. Longo had me at ‘graveyard’ and then dug me in deeper with wit, dark humor, and splendid characters.” —Lisa Brown, New York Times bestselling author No one is more surprised than Leigh when her father buys a graveyard. Less shocking is the fact that he’s too lazy to look farther than the dinner table for employees. Working the literal graveyard shift, she becomes great at predicting headstone choice (mostly granite) and taking notes with one hand while offering Kleenex with the other. Sarcastic and smart, Leigh should be able to quit this stupid after-school job. But her world’s been turned upside down by the sudden loss of her best friend and the appearance of Dario, the slightly-too-old-for-her gravedigger. Can Leigh move on, if moving on means it’s time to get a life? Darkly humorous and heart-wrenchingly beautiful, Jennifer Longo’s YA debut about a girl surrounded by death will change the way you look at friendship, love, and life. More Praise for Six Feet Over It: A VOYA Perfect Tens 2014 Pick An Indies Introduce New Voices Pick “Equal parts poignant and humorous. . . . Superb.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred “A vibrant voice. . . . Readers will rejoice.” —The Bulletin, Starred “A unique book for unique teens.” —Booklist “A strong heroine, multicultural cast, and eclectic contemporary setting make Longo’s story stand out.” —Publishers Weekly “Stands out for its unusual setting and also the sarcasm and caustic humor of its protagonist.” —The Horn Book Review “Hilarious, clever, and poignant.” —SLJ From the Hardcover edition.

A treatise on fortification ..., with observations on the increased effects of artillery

A treatise on fortification ..., with observations on the increased effects of artillery

  • Author: Hector Straith
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Artillery
  • Page: 409
  • View: 3375
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Reports of the Late John Smeaton

Reports of the Late John Smeaton

  • Author: John Smeaton
  • Publisher: Cambridge University Press
  • ISBN: 1108069797
  • Category: History
  • Page: 464
  • View: 9035
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Published 1812-14, this illustrated four-volume set contains the reports and technical papers of Britain's foremost eighteenth-century civil engineer.

Peanut

Peanut

  • Author: John Cecil
  • Publisher: AuthorHouse
  • ISBN: 146857860X
  • Category: Humor
  • Page: 368
  • View: 6367
DOWNLOAD NOW »
It is1972 in the United Kingdom and the Prime Minister, Ted Heath, is declaring a three day working week and a State of Emergency as the Coalminer’s Strike begins to bite. Abba are topping the charts and Monty Python’s Flying Circus are offering us “something completely different” on BBC2. Behind the backdrop of this we follow John Caswell, a football mad 15 year old from the Midlands as he embarks on his fi nal year at Kettering Grammar School. We suffer with him as he agonizes over his O levels in the summer of 1973 culminating in mixed results and fi nds himself working in an offi ce in a Builders Merchants with little idea of how his life is going to take off. Later that year John meets and becomes totally infl uenced by his sister’s boyfriend who is in the Merchant Navy. Convinced this is the life for him John then goes to the National Sea Training School in Gravesend and we follow his exciting passage through the three month Lifeboat and Effi cient Deck Hand course before embarking on his fi rst trip to sea in September 1974 onboard the “Anco Empress”. We then follow him on an adventure across the oceans and upon the high seas around the World, crossing the Equator, learning his new skills and transforming a shy, timid and naïve young man into an adult via Rotterdam, Montreal, New York, New Orleans, Rio De Janeiro, Durban and back to Rotterdam with hilarious and embarrassing consequences as he comes to terms with his ever changing environments and the social demands of a work hard / play hard regime.

Reports from Committees

Reports from Committees

  • Author: Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category:
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 1483
DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Basics for Successful Deer Hunting

The Basics for Successful Deer Hunting

  • Author: J. K. Miller
  • Publisher: Author House
  • ISBN: 1477270094
  • Category: Sports & Recreation
  • Page: 108
  • View: 3840
DOWNLOAD NOW »
POne of the most complete deer hunting books ever written, “The Basics for Successful Deer Hunting ©” is an easy to read book for people who would like to learn how to hunt whitetail deer with a gun and for experienced hunters who want to improve their hunting skills and success. The book contains over 70 color photographs and focuses on safety, marksmanship and hunting. As one experienced whitetail deer hunter said, “It is more than just a book; it is a user’s guide”. “The Basics of Deer Hunting ©” covers: • Safety • Choosing the right camouflage clothing and hunting equipment • Selecting the correct guns and ammunition • How to become proficient at marksmanship • Different types of hunting areas • Deer characteristics and patterns • Food sources for deer • How to scout the woods to find deer signs • When, where, and how to prepare food plots and build deer stands • Various methods of hunting deer • Using Deer calls, rattling, and products to attract deer • The best technique to shoot a deer • How to recover, process, and mount your deer • Different ways to prepare and cook your deer meat Visit us at http://thebasicsofdeerhunting.com/

Scott's Monthly Magazine

Scott's Monthly Magazine

  • Author: William J. Scott,William Henry Wylly
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category:
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 3984
DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Vestry Book and Register of Bristol Parish, Virginia, 1720-1789

The Vestry Book and Register of Bristol Parish, Virginia, 1720-1789

  • Author: Churchill Gibson Chamberlayne
  • Publisher: Genealogical Publishing Com
  • ISBN: 0806348437
  • Category: Reference
  • Page: 419
  • View: 7301
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The Vestry Book of Petsworth Parish, Gloucester County, starts in 1677, only a decade or so after the establishment of Petsworth in 1665. The book's Introduction pieces together the formation of the parish and important milestones in its history from published and original sources. The transcription itself relates to the following issues growing out of the business affairs of the parish; namely, payments to persons for services rendered to the parish, oaths and lists of oath-takers, news of the arrival of ministers, the appointment of church wardens, issues related to indentured servants, lists of tithables, payment of salaries and other obligations, the formation of parish precincts with the names of the families apportioned therein, the warding of children, and so on. While not intended to be a rich source of colonial relationships (as would be the case with a parish register, for example), the volume nonetheless establishes the existence of thousands of residents of Petsworth (Gloucester County, Virginia), each of whom is easily found in the index or indexes at the back of the book.

The Great Law

The Great Law

  • Author: Hilton Hotema
  • Publisher: Health Research Books
  • ISBN: 9780787304461
  • Category: Philosophy
  • Page: 270
  • View: 9599
DOWNLOAD NOW »
1963 Highly Illustrated. Prof. Hotema studied the teachings of the Ancients from hidden and revealed sources for over seventy years. He was a student of many movements and teachings, Rosicrucian, Theosophy, Hindu, Hebrew, Egyptian & Grecian Mysteries, M.