Search Results for "strange-days"

Strange Days, Dangerous Nights

Strange Days, Dangerous Nights

Photos from the Speed Graphic Era

  • Author: Larry Millett
  • Publisher: Minnesota Historical Society Press
  • ISBN: 0873515048
  • Category: History
  • Page: 216
  • View: 7420
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Driven by the desire to fill newspaper pages with sensational images, press photographers shot everything, day and night: automobile accidents, fires, murders, all the cop news that fought for a hot spot on the Front Page. And they covered uncounted numbers of social affairs -- pictures called 'grip-and-grins' in the trade: school events, sports, celebrities, oddities both of nature and humanity. Veteran journalist and mystery writer Larry Millett has unearthed over 200 of the best photos from the archives of the St Paul Pioneer Press and the St Paul Dispatch for 'Strange Days, Dangerous Nights'. Included are the sensational stories behind the photos and biographies of some of the top press photographers of the day. An evocative look at another time, this is a visual history like no other, a feast for fans of photography and photojournalism, crime buffs, and urban historians -- and a testament to the craft of those photographers who documented their era one shot at a time.

Strange Days

Strange Days

Life in the Spirit in a Time of Upheaval

  • Author: Mark Sayers
  • Publisher: Moody Publishers
  • ISBN: 0802495788
  • Category: Religion
  • Page: 192
  • View: 1579
DOWNLOAD NOW »
What in the world is going on? These days the world has everyone spinning. Weekly terrorist attacks. The refugee crisis. Transgender bathrooms. Academic safe spaces. Tensions with Russia. A perpetually uncertain economy. The list goes on. It’s enough to make us crazy… or want to put our heads in the sand. But we can’t, because these are our times, and we must face them. So what many Christians are looking for is someone to communicate a way forward—someone who both understands culture and trusts the Bible. Mark Sayers is such a leader, one who “writes from the future.” He is a gifted cultural analysist who combines his biblical knowledge, curious mind, and pastoral heart to offer a guide to the times. Strange Days will help Christians slow down, get their bearings, and follow God with wisdom and tact in this wild world. “Take heart, for I have overcome the world,” Jesus said nearly 2,000 years ago. And that’s the message of Strange Days, the message the church needs today.

Strange Days

Strange Days

  • Author: Fred Wiehe
  • Publisher: Helm Publishing
  • ISBN: 0976091992
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 308
  • View: 1769
DOWNLOAD NOW »
An ancient and evil entity-a monster from another dimension-has murdered Frank Talbort's wife, brother, and sister-in-law and stolen his identity. In possession of Frank's body, the monster embarks on a bloody killing spree that terrorizes San Francisco. Meanwhile, Frank desperately searches for a way back to three-dimensional time. He must re-enter the physical world if he has any hope of stopping the monster that controls his former body. To that end, he turns to a comatose patient for help. Officer David Kemp has suffered a traumatic head injury while investigating the murder of Frank's wife. He now lies in a hospital bed, fighting for his life. Frank's spirit joins with David's and successfully reawakens the broken body. However, their combined spirits also awaken an internal, schizophrenic battle between two personalities. The competing memories and emotions make it all but impossible to function. Somehow, the two spirits must come to terms with their inner demons and learn to work together. Time is running out. The body count is rising. And the monster has his sights set on David's wife next. They must stop it in time. These are Strange Days indeed.

Strange Days

Strange Days

  • Author: Landon Porter
  • Publisher: Paradox-Omni Entertainment
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 262
  • View: 3959
DOWNLOAD NOW »
School's out and summer is officially underway! But it's not all fun and games, as it becomes clear that with the Academy gone, all new threats are popping up to try and take advantage of descendant kids. Laurel and Alexis set out to deal with this while the teens head to Dawson Bay for a weekend at the beach. Summer for the Descendants promises to be packed with fun and fulfillment. Too bad it will also be packed with magical monsters, killer robots and maybe even a super-powered team-up! They are heroes. They are people. This is their story. Styled after works from the Bronze Age of Comic Books, The Descendants is presented in a unique manner: as an all-prose comic book complete with issues, specials and annuals, each telling a complete story that ties into the overall tale of the titular superheroes. It is also written as a throwback and love letter to an earlier age of superheroes, to a time before everything was grim and gritty and when comic books were fun. Collects Issues #25-31 of the web serial The Descendants by Landon Porter.

Strange Days

Strange Days

Fabulous Journeys with Gardner Dozois

  • Author: Gardner Dozois
  • Publisher: Baen Publishing Enterprises
  • ISBN: 161824924X
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 307
  • View: 4274
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A monumental collection of fiction and nonfiction by the award-winning writer and editor, Gardner Dozois, including perhaps the only World Science Fiction trip report youll ever find that is a lyrical and evocative piece bit of journalism in itself! These are Dozois short stories selected and introduced by writers, many of them legends themselves, who are friends and colleagues of Dozois. A sparkling collection of short fiction that contains some of the two-time Nebula winners best work, including many topflight Dozois collaborations! From the introduction: Imagine youre at a party in Gardners apartment. Its not large, but hes invited swarms of people, so its very crowded. Gardner keeps his awards on a little table not far from the door. People who have never been there before, young editors and the like, will eventually drift over to admire the thicket of Hugos for his work as an editor, and while there notice two Nebulas gleaming in their midst. Inevitably, someone will say, _I didnt know Gardner was a writer.Ó _Oh, yes,Ó one of us Old Hands will reply (we linger near the trophy table for this very purpose), _Gardners a much better writer than he is an editor!Ó Selection and introduction of Dozois-written stories by: Stephen Baxter, Michael Bishop, Pat Cadigan, Susan Casper, Jack Dann, Andy Duncan, Eliot Fintushel, Joe Haldeman, James Patrick Kelly, John Kessel, Nancy Kress, George R.R. Martin, Paul McAuley, Ian McCloud, Mike Resnick, Kim Stanley Robinson, Kristine Kathryn Rusch, Robert Silverberg, Michael Swanwick, Walter Jon Williams, Connie Willis, and Jane Yolen. At the publisher's request, this title is sold without DRM (Digital Rights Management). _Lyric, haunting, heartbreaking¾this is science fiction at its best.Ó¾George R.R. Martin

Yesterday's Faces

Yesterday's Faces

A Study of Series Characters in the Early Pulp Magazines

  • Author: Robert Sampson
  • Publisher: Popular Press
  • ISBN: 9780879722623
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 302
  • View: 2733
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The second volume within this series presents more than fifty series characters within pulp fiction, selected to represent four popular story types from the 1907–1939 pulps—scientific detectives, occult and psychic investigators, jungle men, and adventurers in interplanetary romance. Some characters—Tarzan, John Carter of Mars, Craig Kennedy, Anthony (Buck) Rogers—became internationally known. Others are now almost forgotten, except by collectors and specialists.

Strange Days Indeed

Strange Days Indeed

Memories of the Old World

  • Author: Stuart Ward
  • Publisher: Stuart Ward
  • ISBN: 9780977175413
  • Category: Mind and body
  • Page: 423
  • View: 9093
DOWNLOAD NOW »
New age, factional novel dealing with radical body acceptance and cruelty-free diet. Fictional memoir, narrated in enlightened 2062 future, by old man who lived in our time, telling his current generations about our "dark ages." The work explores na'urist and rudist history and animal-free diet, and general natural living trends in general, including alternative energy, within the telling of the story. Tone of book is by turns light-hearted, introspective and colemic. The new world, clothing-optional and purely vegan, is curious to learn about the strange times the narrator lived through.

Strange Days in Old Yandrissa

Strange Days in Old Yandrissa

  • Author: John R. Fultz
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 1405520833
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 32
  • View: 5093
DOWNLOAD NOW »
In an age of untamed miracles and curses, a mad vagabond may solve the mystery of a king's dilemma. Yet in a world gone mad, the only wise man is a fool.

Strange Days in High Wycombe

Strange Days in High Wycombe

  • Author: Oli Jacobs
  • Publisher: Lulu.com
  • ISBN: 1291900519
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 260
  • View: 440
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Guy just woke up to a world of questions. First of all, he has the mother of all hangovers, the kind that breaks a man for at least a day or two. Second, he has no idea who the blonde in bed with him is, and why they are both naked. Third, he doesn't know who the hairy beast in the living room is, or exactly where he is. Welcome to Wycombe. Over the course of one weekend, Guy must find out the answers to all these questions, and more. Along with the hairy beast - who turns out to be his ""guide"" Kriste - they will travel from grassy knolls, to flash shopping centres, all in search of answers. Who is the blonde named Hartley? And why is she so important to Guy? Why is he in Wycombe? And why can't he leave? And where, oh where, is the next pint coming from?

Strange Days

Strange Days

  • Author: Constantine J. Singer
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • ISBN: 152474025X
  • Category: Young Adult Fiction
  • Page: 432
  • View: 1224
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Contemporary fiction with a sci-fi edge, perfect for fans of Ernest Cline and Marie Lu. Alex Mata doesn't want to worry about rumors of alien incursions--he'd rather just skate and tag and play guitar. But when he comes home to find an alien has murdered his parents, he's forced to confront a new reality: aliens are real, his parents are dead, and nobody will believe him if he tells. On the run, Alex finds himself led to the compound of tech guru Jeffrey Sabazios, the only public figure who stands firm in his belief that aliens are coming. At Sabazios's invitation, Alex becomes a Witness, one of a special group of teens gifted with an ability that could save the Earth: they can glide through time and witness futures. When a Witness sees a future, that guarantees it will happen the way it's been seen, making their work humanity's best hope for stopping the alien threat. Guided by Sabazios, befriended by his fellow time travelers, and maybe even falling in love, Alex starts feeling like the compound is a real home--until a rogue glide shows him the dangerous truth about his new situation. Now in a race against time, Alex is forced to reevaluate who he can love, who he can trust, and who he needs to leave behind. Debut author Constantine Singer's fresh-voiced protagonist leaps off the page in this captivating novel that weaves sci-fi and contemporary fiction.