Search Results for "the-color-of-water"

The Color of Water

The Color of Water

  • Author: James McBride
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • ISBN: 9781440636103
  • Category: Biography & Autobiography
  • Page: 336
  • View: 6590
DOWNLOAD NOW »
From the New York Times bestselling author of The Good Lord Bird, winner of the 2013 National Book Award for Fiction, Five-Carat Soul, and Kill 'Em and Leave, a James Brown biography. The incredible modern classic that Oprah.com calls one of the best memoirs of a generation and launched James McBride’s literary career. Over two years on The New York Times bestseller list Who is Ruth McBride Jordan? A self-declared "light-skinned" woman evasive about her ethnicity, yet steadfast in her love for her twelve black children. James McBride, journalist, musician, and son, explores his mother's past, as well as his own upbringing and heritage, in a poignant and powerful debut, The Color Of Water: A Black Man's Tribute to His White Mother. The son of a black minister and a woman who would not admit she was white, James McBride grew up in "orchestrated chaos" with his eleven siblings in the poor, all-black projects of Red Hook, Brooklyn. "Mommy," a fiercely protective woman with "dark eyes full of pep and fire," herded her brood to Manhattan's free cultural events, sent them off on buses to the best (and mainly Jewish) schools, demanded good grades, and commanded respect. As a young man, McBride saw his mother as a source of embarrassment, worry, and confusion—and reached thirty before he began to discover the truth about her early life and long-buried pain. In The Color of Water, McBride retraces his mother's footsteps and, through her searing and spirited voice, recreates her remarkable story. The daughter of a failed itinerant Orthodox rabbi, she was born Rachel Shilsky (actually Ruchel Dwara Zylska) in Poland on April 1, 1921. Fleeing pogroms, her family emigrated to America and ultimately settled in Suffolk, Virginia, a small town where anti-Semitism and racial tensions ran high. With candor and immediacy, Ruth describes her parents' loveless marriage; her fragile, handicapped mother; her cruel, sexually-abusive father; and the rest of the family and life she abandoned. At seventeen, after fleeing Virginia and settling in New York City, Ruth married a black minister and founded the all- black New Brown Memorial Baptist Church in her Red Hook living room. "God is the color of water," Ruth McBride taught her children, firmly convinced that life's blessings and life's values transcend race. Twice widowed, and continually confronting overwhelming adversity and racism, Ruth's determination, drive and discipline saw her dozen children through college—and most through graduate school. At age 65, she herself received a degree in social work from Temple University. Interspersed throughout his mother's compelling narrative, McBride shares candid recollections of his own experiences as a mixed-race child of poverty, his flirtations with drugs and violence, and his eventual self- realization and professional success. The Color of Water touches readers of all colors as a vivid portrait of growing up, a haunting meditation on race and identity, and a lyrical valentine to a mother from her son.

The Color of Water

The Color of Water

  • Author: Dong Hwa Kim
  • Publisher: First Second
  • ISBN: 9781596434592
  • Category: Comics & Graphic Novels
  • Page: 320
  • View: 8035
DOWNLOAD NOW »
When Ehwa goes to the town festival, she meets a handsome young wrestler named Duksam who's eager to catch her eye. After he wins the festival wrestling championship, he and Ehwa begin to meet, sneaking spare moments to be together. But a shadow falls on their romance when Master Cho sends Duksam away and asks for Ehwa's hand in marriage himself It is then that Ehwa discovers the pain of heartbreak – and that love is always complicated. In the tradition of My Antonia and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, from the pen of the renowned Korean manwha creator Kim Dong Hwa, comes a trilogy about a girl coming of age, set in the vibrant, beautiful landscape of pastoral Korea.

The Color of Water in July

The Color of Water in July

  • Author: Nora Carroll
  • Publisher: Lake Union Publishing
  • ISBN: 9781503945630
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 5809
DOWNLOAD NOW »
It's been a long seventeen years since Jess last saw her grandmother or visited the family cottage set on an idyllic lake in Northern Michigan. For all that time, she's been haunted by loss--of her innocence and her ability to trust and, most of all, of a profound summer romance that might have been something more. So when her grandmother leaves the house to her, Jess summons her courage and returns to a place full of memories--and secrets. There, she stumbles upon old letters and photographs of a time not so much forgotten as buried. As she begins to unravel the hidden histories of her mother and her grandmother, she makes a startling discovery about a tragic death that prompted her family's slow undoing. With every uneven and painful step into the past, Jess comes closer to a truth that could alter her own path--and open a door to a different future.

Water Quality

Water Quality

  • Author: American Water Works Association
  • Publisher: American Water Works Association
  • ISBN: 9781583212325
  • Category: Science
  • Page: 214
  • View: 1018
DOWNLOAD NOW »
This completely updated version of the 1995 edition within the Water Supply Operations Training Series (WSO), provides practical information about methods of water quality analysis and drinking water regulations This introductory text presents the basics of proper sample collection, analysis, and interpretation and includes a list of necessary laboratory equipment and instruments.

The Color of Water Student Packet

The Color of Water Student Packet

  • Author: Novel Units, Inc. Staff
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: 9781581307832
  • Category: Children's literature
  • Page: 48
  • View: 512
DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Color of Church

The Color of Church

  • Author: Rodney M. Woo
  • Publisher: B&H Publishing Group
  • ISBN: 1433668440
  • Category: Religion
  • Page: 304
  • View: 8645
DOWNLOAD NOW »
In this thought-provoking book, Rodney Woo establishes a biblical foundation for multiracial ministry, provides a clear picture of the current reality of the relationship amongst the races in our society and churches, and offers practical guidance to help implement multiethnic ministry. Woo takes the reader step-by-step through the multiracial transformation of a congregation. As pastor of Wilcrest Baptist Church in Alief, Texas for over seventeen years, Dr. Woo led this church from an all-Anglo declining congregation in a transitional neighborhood into a multiracial congregation that is now more than sixty-five percent nonwhite with more than forty-four different countries represented. The Color of Church unfolds the story of how God has helped Wilcrest understand the biblical principles of a multiracial church that He progressively revealed in Scripture. Each chapter parallels the biblical model or mandate and the Wilcrest transformation story from a uniracial to a multiracial congregation. In 1992, Wilcrest had 180-200 people in worship of which 98% were anglo. Today, the congregation of 450-550 is represented by 44 different countries with an anglo population of less than 40%. The Color of Church adopts the definition that a multiracial congregation is composed of racially diverse believers united by their faith in Christ, who make disciples of all the nations in the anticipation of the ultimate racial reunion around the throne of God.

The Color of Love

The Color of Love

  • Author: Rebecca Jackson-Towers
  • Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
  • ISBN: 147972470X
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 154
  • View: 6578
DOWNLOAD NOW »
When Mitch Harris goes out with his friend he thinks he has finally met the Mrs. Harris, but when he tries to call her he dials the wrong number and hears the sweetest voice hes ever heard. Colby Washington who just broke up with her boyfriend is not ready for another relationship, but when Mitch accidently calls her she is more than willing to keep talking to him. The more they talk to each other the more they start liking one another When their jobs allow them to finally meet face to face after months of talking on the phone will they take a leap of faith by taking their relationship to the next level or will the color of their skin make them not want to risk the challenges they know they will have to confront. Is the love they share strong enough to stand the test of time between all the people in their lives starting from the secretary, to the friends, and last but not least the family?

The Color of Water Teacher Guide

The Color of Water Teacher Guide

  • Author: Novel Units, Inc. Staff
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: 9781581307825
  • Category: Children's literature
  • Page: 44
  • View: 8463
DOWNLOAD NOW »