Search Results for "the-edible-atlas"

The Edible Atlas

The Edible Atlas

Around the World in Thirty-Nine Cuisines

  • Author: Mina Holland
  • Publisher: Canongate Books
  • ISBN: 085786856X
  • Category: Cooking
  • Page: 368
  • View: 9072
DOWNLOAD NOW »
'A delight to read' RACHEL KHOO Shortlisted for the 2015 Fortnum & Mason Food Book Award Winner of UK's Best Culinary Travel Book in the Gourmand World Cookbook Awards 2015 'When we eat, we travel.' So begins The Edible Atlas. Mina Holland takes you on a journey around the globe, demystifying the flavours, ingredients and techniques at the heart of thirty-nine cuisines. What's the origin of kimchi in Korea? Why do we associate Argentina with steak? What's the story behind the curries of India? Weaving anecdotes and history - from the role of a priest in the genesis of camembert to the Mayan origins of the word 'chocolate' - with recipes and tips from food experts such as Yotam Ottlolenghi, Jos Pizarro and Giorgio Locatelli, The Edible Atlas is an irresistible tour of the cuisines of the world for food lovers and armchair travellers alike.

Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat

Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat

Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking

  • Author: Samin Nosrat
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster
  • ISBN: 1476753857
  • Category: Cooking
  • Page: 480
  • View: 8870
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Now a Netflix series! New York Times Bestseller and Winner of the 2018 James Beard Award for Best General Cookbook and multiple IACP Cookbook Awards Named one of the Best Books of 2017 by: NPR, BuzzFeed, The Atlantic, The Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Rachel Ray Every Day, San Francisco Chronicle, Vice Munchies, Elle.com, Glamour, Eater, Newsday, Minneapolis Star Tribune, The Seattle Times, Tampa Bay Times, Tasting Table, Modern Farmer, Publishers Weekly, and more. A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared “America’s next great cooking teacher” by Alice Waters. In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary, yet simple, philosophy. Master the use of just four elements—Salt, which enhances flavor; Fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; Acid, which balances flavor; and Heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food—and anything you cook will be delicious. By explaining the hows and whys of good cooking, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will teach and inspire a new generation of cooks how to confidently make better decisions in the kitchen and cook delicious meals with any ingredients, anywhere, at any time. Echoing Samin’s own journey from culinary novice to award-winning chef, Salt, Fat Acid, Heat immediately bridges the gap between home and professional kitchens. With charming narrative, illustrated walkthroughs, and a lighthearted approach to kitchen science, Samin demystifies the four elements of good cooking for everyone. Refer to the canon of 100 essential recipes—and dozens of variations—to put the lessons into practice and make bright, balanced vinaigrettes, perfectly caramelized roast vegetables, tender braised meats, and light, flaky pastry doughs. Featuring 150 illustrations and infographics that reveal an atlas to the world of flavor by renowned illustrator Wendy MacNaughton, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will be your compass in the kitchen. Destined to be a classic, it just might be the last cookbook you’ll ever need. With a foreword by Michael Pollan.

Mamma

Mamma

Reflections on the Food that Makes Us

  • Author: Mina Holland
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 1474600646
  • Category: Cooking
  • Page: 304
  • View: 2574
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A collection of oral histories with recipes exploring the influence of family on our relationship with food. Food is key in our culture. Of late there has been a penchant for reinventing nostalgic home favourites in restaurants and cookbooks leading to a desire to know where our food and its traditions come from. For most of us there is a desire to return to our childhood kitchen, the smells and tastes of the dishes evoke comfort and wonderful memories. Those childhood meal times form the foundation of our taste buds and how we now cook. MAMMA: REFLECTIONS ON THE FOOD THAT MAKES US is a collection of oral histories about the food we ate as a child, our mother's cooking and all that it signifies and encapsulates throughout our life. A fascinating trip around the globe, the book features interviews with some of the world's best-loved cooks including Jamie Oliver, Yotam Ottolenghi, Claudia Roden, Alice Waters, Stanley Tucci and many more. MAMMA: REFLECTIONS ON THE FOOD THAT MAKES US is about bringing food back to basics, about going home.

Keywords for Travel Writing Studies

Keywords for Travel Writing Studies

A Critical Glossary

  • Author: Charles Forsdick,Zoë Kinsley,Kathryn Walchester
  • Publisher: Anthem Press
  • ISBN: 1783089245
  • Category: Literary Criticism
  • Page: 374
  • View: 5394
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Keywords for Travel Writing Studies draws on the notion of the ‘keyword’ as initially elaborated by Raymond Williams in his seminal 1976 text Keywords: A Vocabulary of Culture and Society to present 100 concepts central to the study of travel writing as a literary form. Each entry in the volume is around 1,000 words, the style more essayistic than encyclopaedic, with contributors reflecting on their chosen keyword from a variety of disciplinary perspectives. The emphasis on travelogues and other cultural representations of mobility drawn from a range of national and linguistic traditions ensures that the volume has a comparative dimension; the aim is to give an overview of each term in its historical and theoretical complexity, providing readers with a clear sense of how the selected words are essential to a critical understanding of travel writing. Each entry is complemented by an annotated bibliography of five essential items suggesting further reading.

The World on a Plate

The World on a Plate

40 Cuisines, 100 Recipes, and the Stories Behind Them

  • Author: Mina Holland
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • ISBN: 0698194063
  • Category: Cooking
  • Page: 384
  • View: 348
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Eat your way around the world without leaving your home in this mouthwatering cultural history of 100 classic dishes. Best Culinary Travel Book (U.K.), Gourmand World Cookbook Awards Finalist for the Fortnum & Mason Food Book Award “When we eat, we travel.” So begins this irresistible tour of the cuisines of the world, revealing what people eat and why in forty cultures. What’s the origin of kimchi in Korea? Why do we associate Argentina with steak? Why do people in Marseille eat bouillabaisse? What spices make a dish taste North African versus North Indian? What is the story behind the curries of India? And how do you know whether to drink a wine from Bourdeaux or one from Burgundy? Bubbling over with anecdotes, trivia, and lore—from the role of a priest in the genesis of Camembert to the Mayan origins of the word chocolate—The World on a Plate serves up a delicious mélange of recipes, history, and culinary wisdom to be savored by food lovers and armchair travelers alike. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Synopsis of the Edible Fishes at the Cape of Good Hope

Synopsis of the Edible Fishes at the Cape of Good Hope

  • Author: Karl Wilhelm Ludwig Pappe
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Fishes
  • Page: 34
  • View: 9175
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Synopsis of the Edible Fishes at the Cape of Good Hope

Synopsis of the Edible Fishes at the Cape of Good Hope

  • Author: L. Pappe
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category:
  • Page: 34
  • View: 2063
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Synopsis of the Edible Fishes at the Cape of Good Hope ... Second edition

Synopsis of the Edible Fishes at the Cape of Good Hope ... Second edition

  • Author: Carl Wilhelm Ludwig PAPPE
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Fishes
  • Page: 23
  • View: 2430
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Atlas of Comparative Sectional Anatomy of 6 invertebrates and 5 vertebrates

Atlas of Comparative Sectional Anatomy of 6 invertebrates and 5 vertebrates

  • Author: Géza Zboray,Zsolt Kovács,György Kriska,Kinga Molnár,Zsolt Pálfia
  • Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media
  • ISBN: 3211997636
  • Category: Science
  • Page: 278
  • View: 2157
DOWNLOAD NOW »
This atlas contains 189 coloured images taken from transversal, horizontal and sagittal sections of eleven organisms widely used in university teaching. Six invertebrate and five vertebrate species – from the nematode worm (Ascaris suum) to mammals (Rattus norvegicus) – are shown in detailed images. Studying the macrosections with unaided eyes, with a simple magnifier or binocular microscope might be of great help to accomplish traditional anatomical studies and to establish a certain spatial experience/space perception. This volume will be of great interest for biology students, researchers and teachers of comparative anatomy. It might act as supporting material of practical courses. Furthermore, medical practitioners, agricultural specialists and researchers having an interest in comparative anatomy might also benefit from it.

A Colour Atlas of Poisonous Fungi

A Colour Atlas of Poisonous Fungi

A Handbook for Pharmacists, Doctors, and Biologists

  • Author: Andreas Bresinsky
  • Publisher: CRC Press
  • ISBN: 0723415765
  • Category: Medical
  • Page: 295
  • View: 8609
DOWNLOAD NOW »
This important timely publication is a photographic guide which facilitates recognition of poisonous fungi and treatment methods. The authors of this full color atlas maintain that the best protection against poisoning by fungi is a detailed knowledge of the fungi themselves. The recent surge of interest in collecting fungi makes this thorough and beautiful illustrated synthesis of current knowledge of their dangers especially timely. It includes information on the culinary preparation of fungi and how to deal with cases of poisoning. It presents in detail fungal taxonomy, chemistry, pharmacology, toxicology, and medicine. The information assists readers in understanding the toxic substances present in each case, the degree of toxicity of each fungus and likely effects on the victim. This informative volume is important for accident and emergency doctors and nurses, general practitioners and physicians, pharmacologists, pharmacists, toxicologists, poison control center personnel and biologists.