Search Results for "the-lost-happy-endings"

The Lost Happy Endings

The Lost Happy Endings

  • Author: Carol Ann Duffy
  • Publisher: Paw Prints
  • ISBN: 9781442065017
  • Category:
  • Page: 40
  • View: 4776
DOWNLOAD NOW »
When a wicked witch devises a plan to steal all the happy endings to bedtime stories, it is up to Jub--the keeper of the happy endings--to save the day and ensure sweet dreams everywhere. Original.

The Happy Endings Book Club

The Happy Endings Book Club

  • Author: Jane Tara
  • Publisher: Momentum
  • ISBN: 1760080586
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 246
  • View: 4608
DOWNLOAD NOW »
This Christmas, the women of the Happy Endings Book Club are about to uncover a world of love and magic as they discover how to have their own happy ending ... or beginning, as they're often the same thing. Once a month, seven very different women come together to discuss books. They all love a happy ending, but have lost sight of how to get their own. Paige misses glimpsing the magic in the world. Sadie doesn't see the beauty inside people. Amanda wonders what she ever saw in her ex husband. Tilda literally can't see herself. Michi can't bear looking at her family, while Clementine is blind to what's right in front of her. And Eva looks for romance in all the wrong places. But things are about to change ... Meet the women of the Happy Endings Book Club as they celebrate Christmas, and themselves, in London, Paris, Vienna, New York, Sydney ... and in love.

Planning to Teach Writing

Planning to Teach Writing

A practical guide for primary school teachers

  • Author: Emma Caulfield
  • Publisher: Routledge
  • ISBN: 131754885X
  • Category: Education
  • Page: 244
  • View: 6746
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Written by an experienced teacher and literacy consultant, Planning to Teach Writing offers an easy-to-use, tried-and-tested framework that will reduce teachers’ planning time while raising standards in writing. Using the circles planning approach, it provides fresh inspiration for teachers who want to engage and enthuse their pupils, with exciting and varied hooks into writing, including picture books, short stories, novels and films. Exploring effective assessment practice, each chapter puts the needs and interests of pupils at the forefront of planning, and models how to design units of work that will lead to high-quality writing outcomes in any primary school classroom. The book uses a simple formula for success: 1 Find the gaps in learning for your students. 2 Choose a hook that you know will engage your students. 3 Select a unit plan that you know will support you to get the best writing out of your students. 4 Tailor it. 5 Teach it! With a fantastic range of hooks to inspire teaching and learning, Planning to Teach Writing ensures successful planning that will maximise engagement, enjoyment and achievement. This book is an accessible and necessary resource for any teacher planning to teach writing in their classroom.

Creating Drama with 4-7 Year Olds

Creating Drama with 4-7 Year Olds

Lesson Ideas to Integrate Drama Into the Primary Curriculum

  • Author: Miles Tandy,Jo Howell
  • Publisher: Routledge
  • ISBN: 1135191689
  • Category: Education
  • Page: 128
  • View: 6687
DOWNLOAD NOW »
This highly practical book gives you all the ideas you need to make drama an exciting, regular and integral part of your primary school’s KS1 curriculum.

No Happy Endings

No Happy Endings

A Memoir

  • Author: Nora McInerny
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • ISBN: 0062792423
  • Category: Biography & Autobiography
  • Page: 288
  • View: 3373
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The author of It’s Okay to Laugh and host of the popular podcast Terrible, Thanks for Asking—interviews that are “a gift to be able to listen [to]” (New York Times)—returns with more hilarious meditations on her messy, wonderful, bittersweet, and unconventional life. Life has a million different ways to kick you right in the chops. We lose love, lose jobs, lose our sense of self. For Nora McInerny, it was losing her husband, her father, and her unborn second child in one catastrophic year. But in the wake of loss, we get to assemble something new from whatever is left behind. Some circles call finding happiness after loss “Chapter 2”—the continuation of something else. Today, Nora is remarried and mothers four children aged 16 months to 16 years. While her new circumstances bring her extraordinary joy, they are also tinged with sadness over the loved ones she’s lost. Life has made Nora a reluctant expert in hard conversations. On her wildly popular podcast, she talks about painful experiences we inevitably face, and exposes the absurdity of the question “how are you?” that people often ask when we’re coping with the aftermath of emotional catastrophe. She knows intimately that when your life falls apart, there’s a mad rush to be okay—to find a silver lining, to get to the happy ending. In this, her second memoir, Nora offers a tragicomic exploration of the tension between finding happiness and holding space for the unhappy experiences that have shaped us. No Happy Endings is a book for people living life after life has fallen apart. It’s a book for people who know that they’re moving forward, not moving on. It’s a book for people who know life isn’t always happy, but it isn’t the end: there will be unimaginable joy and incomprehensible tragedy. As Nora reminds us, there will be no happy endings—but there will be new beginnings.

Rats' Tales

Rats' Tales

  • Author: Carol Ann Duffy
  • Publisher: Faber & Faber
  • ISBN: 0571299059
  • Category: Performing Arts
  • Page: 112
  • View: 540
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Rats' Tales brings together a hugely entertaining, dark and magical cycle of folk tales from around the world. The volume contains two texts for each story: Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy's wonderful prose and Melly Still's lively dramatization. Rats' Tales celebrates the power of storytelling and will be published to coincide with the premiere at the Royal Exchange, Manchester, in November 2012. On Beasts and Beauties, on which Carol Ann Duffy and Melly Still also collaborated: 'The first night audience did not exit from the theatre, they hover-crafted out of it on a balloon of bliss.' Independent

A Creative Approach to Teaching Grammar

A Creative Approach to Teaching Grammar

  • Author: Peter Burrows
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
  • ISBN: 1472909046
  • Category: Education
  • Page: 64
  • View: 2605
DOWNLOAD NOW »
This book offers a whole school approach to the teaching of grammar and punctuation that is fully matched to the demands of the English grammar and punctuation test and the new curriculum. With the shift towards elegant, well-constructed sentences, it offers the busy teacher three simple steps to motivate and engage children, through: • explicit teaching and modelling; • over forty practical games and activities; • application and improvement within editing and proof reading. This book draws on recent research but also is based on many years of classroom practice and a number of case studies. Practical examples develop teachers' understanding of grammatical terms and progression and show how it is possible to have a significant impact on vocabulary, sentence structure and children's writing in general. A balance is found where skills are explicitly taught but within the context of an exciting and interesting curriculum.

Faery Tales

Faery Tales

  • Author: Carol Ann Duffy
  • Publisher: Faber & Faber
  • ISBN: 0571314295
  • Category: Juvenile Fiction
  • Page: 160
  • View: 2673
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Once upon a time, there was a rich merchant who had three daughters. The girls were just as clever as they were bella and none more so than the youngest, whose name was Beauty. Disappear to faraway lands of wicked witches, evil monsters and brave heroines in Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy's stunning collection of fairy tales. Including her beautiful and haunting retellings of the Grimm classics Hansel and Gretel, Snow White and the Pied Piper, as well as other tales from around the world, and new stories of her own, this book will make you think again about once upon a time . . . With ethereal illustrations by Tommi Tomislav, this uncommonly beautiful book is a very special introduction to - or reminder of - many classic fairy tales.

The Garden of Happy Endings

The Garden of Happy Endings

A Novel

  • Author: Barbara O'Neal
  • Publisher: Bantam
  • ISBN: 0345534468
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 416
  • View: 531
DOWNLOAD NOW »
From Barbara O’Neal, beloved author of How to Bake a Perfect Life and The Lost Recipe for Happiness, comes another magical, heartfelt novel—perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah and Susan Wiggs. After tragedy shatters her small community in Seattle, the Reverend Elsa Montgomery has a crisis of faith. Returning to her hometown of Pueblo, Colorado, she seeks work in a local soup kitchen. Preparing nourishing meals for folks in need, she keeps her hands busy while her heart searches for understanding. Meanwhile, her sister, Tamsin, as pretty and colorful as Elsa is unadorned and steadfast, finds her perfect life shattered when she learns that her financier husband is a criminal. Enduring shock and humiliation as her beautiful house and possessions are seized, the woman who had everything now has nothing but the clothes on her back. But when the going gets tough, the tough get growing. A community garden in the poorest, roughest part of town becomes a lifeline. Creating a place of hope and sustenance opens Elsa and Tamsin to the renewing power of rich earth, sunshine, and the warm cleansing rain of tears. While Elsa finds her heart blooming in the care of a rugged landscaper, Tamsin discovers the joy of losing herself in the act of giving—and both women discover that with time and care, happy endings flourish. From the Trade Paperback edition.