Search Results for "the-other-mrs-walker"

The Other Mrs Walker

The Other Mrs Walker

  • Author: Mary Paulson-Ellis
  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan
  • ISBN: 1447293932
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 3034
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Waterstones Scottish Book of the Year The Other Mrs Walker is the beguiling debut from Mary Paulson-Ellis, for fans of Kate Atkinson and Sarah Waters. Somehow she'd always known that she would end like this. In a small square room, in a small square flat. In a small square box, perhaps. Cardboard, with a sticker on the outside. And a name . . . An old lady dies alone and unheeded in a cold Edinburgh flat on a snowy Christmas night. A faded emerald dress hangs in her wardrobe; a spilt glass of whisky pools on the floor. A few days later a middle-aged woman arrives back in the city she thought she’d left behind, her future uncertain, her past in tatters. She soon finds herself a job at the Office for Lost People, tracking down the families of those who have died neglected and alone. But what Margaret Penny cannot yet know, is just how entangled her own life will become in the death of one lonely stranger . . . 'One of the strongest debuts of the year' Herald 'Full of twists and turns' Independent 'A wonderful, inventive debut . . . I can't wait to see what this author has up her sleeve next' Fanny Blake, Daily Mail

Hearings, Reports and Prints of the House Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce

Hearings, Reports and Prints of the House Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce

  • Author: United States. Congress. House. Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Interstate commerce
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 4494
DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Inheritance of Solomon Farthing

The Inheritance of Solomon Farthing

  • Author: Mary Paulson-Ellis
  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan
  • ISBN: 1447293975
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 5013
DOWNLOAD NOW »
From The Times bestselling author of The Other Mrs Walker – Waterstones Scottish Book of the Year 2017 – comes Mary Paulson-Ellis's second stunning historical mystery, The Inheritance of Solomon Farthing. Solomon knew that he had one advantage. A pawn ticket belonging to a dead man tucked into his top pocket – the only clue to the truth . . . An old soldier dies alone in his Edinburgh nursing home. No known relatives, and no Will to enact. Just a pawn ticket found amongst his belongings, and fifty thousand pounds in used notes sewn into the lining of his burial suit . . . Heir Hunter, Solomon Farthing – down on his luck, until, perhaps, now – is tipped off on this unexplained fortune. Armed with only the deceased’s name and the crumpled pawn ticket, he must find the dead man’s closest living relative if he is to get a cut of this much-needed cash. But in trawling through the deceased’s family tree, Solomon uncovers a mystery that goes back to 1918 and a group of eleven soldiers abandoned in a farmhouse billet in France in the weeks leading up to the armistice. Set between contemporary Edinburgh and the final brutal days of the First World War as the soldiers await their orders, The Inheritance of Solomon Farthing shows us how the debts of the present can never be settled unless those of the past have been paid first . . .

Cases Decided in the Court of Session

Cases Decided in the Court of Session

  • Author: Scotland. Court of Session
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Law reports, digests, etc
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 1241
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Mrs. Walker's Bubble

Mrs. Walker's Bubble

  • Author: Jacqueline M. Culver
  • Publisher: iUniverse
  • ISBN: 0595304230
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 238
  • View: 7487
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The Walkers embody every characteristic that would normally promote their unending popularity in the small town of Doddston. Instead, the mysterious bubbles surrounding each family member serve to isolate them, and fuel their neighbors' suspicious gossip. Amy Gaseley, daughter of a woman that truly loves to gossip, tires of the endless talk and becomes determined to uncover the true reason for the Walker's bubbles. Even though she must face many obstacles, she begins to spend time with the Walker family and learns a great deal about herself. Upon discovering the true nature of the bubbles, she finds herself and the rest of Doddston reacting in a surprisingly unexpected manner.

The Scottish Jurist

The Scottish Jurist

Containing Reports of Cases Decided in the House of Lords, Courts of Session, Teinds, and Exchequer, and the Jury and Justiciary Courts

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Law reports, digests, etc
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 3606
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Tickled to Death and Other Stories of Crime and Suspense

Tickled to Death and Other Stories of Crime and Suspense

  • Author: Simon Brett
  • Publisher: Severn House Publishers Ltd
  • ISBN: 1448300592
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 240
  • View: 2732
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Ranging from stark psychological suspense to frothy frolic, this stunning collection of twelve short stories demonstrates Simon Brett's astonishing versatility. In TICKLED TO DEATH, a lover of practical jokes is smothered to death in a custard pie. DOUBLE GLAZING reveals the patient and perverse logic of an elderly Do-It-Yourselfer. And in BIG BOY, LITTLE BOY, a former hotel porter plots the murder of a very rich wife - with shocking results.

Silent Days, Holy Night

Silent Days, Holy Night

  • Author: Phyllis Clark Nichols
  • Publisher: Gilead Publishing
  • ISBN: 168370150X
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 240
  • View: 5350
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The sounds of Christmases past echo through a silent house . . . Everyone in town knows Emerald Crest, the green granite mansion atop the highest hill: the legendary, lavish Christmas festivities that used to light up the nights— and the silence that followed when the parties abruptly stopped many years ago. And everyone has heard whispers about the reclusive, mysterious master of the manor, Henry Lafferty the Second . . . When eleven-year-old Julia Russell steps into the great house for the first time and meets Mr. Lafferty, the entire course of her life is altered. She meets a man who is nothing at all like the rumors she’s heard from neighbors and classmates. He’s kind and extraordinarily talented—he also happens to be deaf and uses a wheelchair. And when she overhears a secret about him, Julia decides it’s time for the town to bring Christmas back to Emerald Crest—an act that will change them all forever.

Journal of Horticulture and Practical Gardening

Journal of Horticulture and Practical Gardening

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category:
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 8807
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Lion Plays Rough

Lion Plays Rough

  • Author: Lachlan Smith
  • Publisher: Grove/Atlantic, Inc.
  • ISBN: 0802192831
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 272
  • View: 4370
DOWNLOAD NOW »
In this “finely paced mystery,” a lawyer and amateur detective thinks he’s found the case that will make him—but it just might break him instead (Publishers Weekly). Now working as a criminal defense attorney in Oakland, Leo Maxwell thinks he’s found a new client after a mysterious woman knocks him off his bicycle with her car. She just so happens to have a brother who needs defense on a murder charge. Leo readily agrees and dives right into the investigation. After taking a series of photographs that seem to blow the lid on corruption in the police department, Leo quickly discovers he’s been had. His client already has representation—one of Oakland’s most renowned gangland lawyers—and claims he doesn’t have a sister. Drawing the ire of criminals and crooked cops alike, Leo is soon framed for murder. Just as he thinks he’s getting closer to the truth, danger is getting even closer. “Full of intelligent plot twists . . . should appeal to any fan of good writing.” —Publishers Weekly “Smith has created a wonderfully readable pair of brothers in Teddy and Leo Maxwell. . . . Lion Plays Rough is as good as Bear Is Broken, which is high praise indeed.” —Huntington News