Search Results for "the-other-mrs-walker"

The Other Mrs Walker

The Other Mrs Walker

  • Author: Mary Paulson-Ellis
  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan
  • ISBN: 1447293932
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 5199
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Waterstones Scottish Book of the Year The Other Mrs Walker is the beguiling debut from Mary Paulson-Ellis, for fans of Kate Atkinson and Sarah Waters. Somehow she'd always known that she would end like this. In a small square room, in a small square flat. In a small square box, perhaps. Cardboard, with a sticker on the outside. And a name . . . An old lady dies alone and unheeded in a cold Edinburgh flat on a snowy Christmas night. A faded emerald dress hangs in her wardrobe; a spilt glass of whisky pools on the floor. A few days later a middle-aged woman arrives back in the city she thought she’d left behind, her future uncertain, her past in tatters. She soon finds herself a job at the Office for Lost People, tracking down the families of those who have died neglected and alone. But what Margaret Penny cannot yet know, is just how entangled her own life will become in the death of one lonely stranger . . . 'One of the strongest debuts of the year' Herald 'Full of twists and turns' Independent 'A wonderful, inventive debut . . . I can't wait to see what this author has up her sleeve next' Fanny Blake, Daily Mail

The Other Side of Dark

The Other Side of Dark

  • Author: Sarah Smith
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster
  • ISBN: 9781442402829
  • Category: Juvenile Fiction
  • Page: 320
  • View: 445
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Katie Mullens is known as the weird kid. Dead dad. Dead mom. Loner. Maybe crazy. Always drawing in her sketch pad, and she talks to herself—or at least that’s what it looks like. But Katie is talking to real people…they’re just dead. Law Walker is drawn to Katie when he sees the sketch she’s made of a historic home—the way it looked before it burned. Law soon discovers that Katie’s sight goes beyond death, and what she sees reveals the strange, twisted history of a famous Boston family’s connection to the illegal post-emancipation slave trade. Past, present. Living, dead. Black, white. This is a powerhouse debut about ugly histories, unlikely romances, and seeing people—alive and otherwise—for who they really are.

Hearings, Reports and Prints of the House Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce

Hearings, Reports and Prints of the House Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce

  • Author: United States. Congress. House. Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Interstate commerce
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 6980
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Mrs. Walker's Bubble

Mrs. Walker's Bubble

  • Author: Jacqueline M. Culver
  • Publisher: iUniverse
  • ISBN: 0595304230
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 238
  • View: 741
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The Walkers embody every characteristic that would normally promote their unending popularity in the small town of Doddston. Instead, the mysterious bubbles surrounding each family member serve to isolate them, and fuel their neighbors' suspicious gossip. Amy Gaseley, daughter of a woman that truly loves to gossip, tires of the endless talk and becomes determined to uncover the true reason for the Walker's bubbles. Even though she must face many obstacles, she begins to spend time with the Walker family and learns a great deal about herself. Upon discovering the true nature of the bubbles, she finds herself and the rest of Doddston reacting in a surprisingly unexpected manner.

The Scottish Jurist

The Scottish Jurist

Containing Reports of Cases Decided in the House of Lords, Courts of Session, Teinds, and Exchequer, and the Jury and Justiciary Courts

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Law reports, digests, etc
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 9367
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Cases Decided in the Court of Session

Cases Decided in the Court of Session

  • Author: Scotland. Court of Session
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Law reports, digests, etc
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 8962
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Lion Plays Rough

Lion Plays Rough

  • Author: Lachlan Smith
  • Publisher: Grove/Atlantic, Inc.
  • ISBN: 0802192831
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 272
  • View: 1184
DOWNLOAD NOW »
In this “finely paced mystery,” a lawyer and amateur detective thinks he’s found the case that will make him—but it just might break him instead (Publishers Weekly). Now working as a criminal defense attorney in Oakland, Leo Maxwell thinks he’s found a new client after a mysterious woman knocks him off his bicycle with her car. She just so happens to have a brother who needs defense on a murder charge. Leo readily agrees and dives right into the investigation. After taking a series of photographs that seem to blow the lid on corruption in the police department, Leo quickly discovers he’s been had. His client already has representation—one of Oakland’s most renowned gangland lawyers—and claims he doesn’t have a sister. Drawing the ire of criminals and crooked cops alike, Leo is soon framed for murder. Just as he thinks he’s getting closer to the truth, danger is getting even closer. “Full of intelligent plot twists . . . should appeal to any fan of good writing.” —Publishers Weekly “Smith has created a wonderfully readable pair of brothers in Teddy and Leo Maxwell. . . . Lion Plays Rough is as good as Bear Is Broken, which is high praise indeed.” —Huntington News

Tickled to Death and Other Stories of Crime and Suspense

Tickled to Death and Other Stories of Crime and Suspense

  • Author: Simon Brett
  • Publisher: Severn House Publishers Ltd
  • ISBN: 1448300592
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 240
  • View: 3595
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Ranging from stark psychological suspense to frothy frolic, this stunning collection of twelve short stories demonstrates Simon Brett's astonishing versatility. In TICKLED TO DEATH, a lover of practical jokes is smothered to death in a custard pie. DOUBLE GLAZING reveals the patient and perverse logic of an elderly Do-It-Yourselfer. And in BIG BOY, LITTLE BOY, a former hotel porter plots the murder of a very rich wife - with shocking results.

A Poem for Sara

A Poem for Sara

  • Author: Le Davis
  • Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
  • ISBN: 1465339140
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 115
  • View: 2522
DOWNLOAD NOW »
There is no available information at this time.

The Turn of The Screw and Other Short Novels

The Turn of The Screw and Other Short Novels

  • Author: Henry James
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • ISBN: 1440620938
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 464
  • View: 442
DOWNLOAD NOW »
By turns chilling, funny, tragic, and profound, this collection of six Henry James short novels allow readers to experience the full range of his skills and vision. The title story, “The Turn of the Screw,” is a chilling masterpiece of psychological terror that mixes the phantoms of the mind with those of the supernatural. “Daisy Miller,” the tale of a provincial American girl in Rome that established James’s literary reputation, and “An International Episode” are superb examples of his focus on the clash between American and European values. And in “The Aspern Papers,” “The Alter of the Dead,” and “The Beast in the Jungle,” the author’s remarkable sense of irony, his love of plot twists, and his view of male-female relationships find exquisite expression. With an Introduction by Fred Kaplan