Search Results for "the-savage-altar"

The Savage Altar

The Savage Altar

  • Author: Asa Larsson
  • Publisher: Penguin UK
  • ISBN: 0141917164
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 416
  • View: 838
DOWNLOAD NOW »
'A breath of fresh cold air . . . a dangerous edge to gladden fans of Lisbeth Salander' Boyd Tonkin The first in the Rebecka Martinsson series from the million-book bestselling author, for fans of Stieg Larsson, The Bridge and The Killing TV series. A church in the glittering frozen wastes of northern Sweden. Inside, a sacrifice: the body of a man - slashed to pieces, hands severed, eyes gouged out. The victim's sister is first to discover the body and she soon finds herself the police's only suspect. Terrified and confused, she calls on an old friend: hot-shot city lawyer Rebecka Martinsson. Can Rebecka dig beneath the surface of the community that she once fled, and find the truth? 'A chilling plot knee-deep in blood-spattered snow' Jim Kelly 'A labyrinthine conspiracy, superlative storytelling' Independent A nail biting, suspense-filled mystery' Sunday Telegraph Asa Larsson has sold over a million and a half books worldwide. Her first novel, The Savage Altar, won the award for Sweden's best first crime novel. Her second novel, The Blood Spilt, is also available from Penguin now.

Death in a Cold Climate

Death in a Cold Climate

A Guide to Scandinavian Crime Fiction

  • Author: B. Forshaw
  • Publisher: Springer
  • ISBN: 0230363504
  • Category: Literary Criticism
  • Page: 207
  • View: 3562
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Barry Forshaw, the UK's principal crime fiction expert, presents a celebration and analysis of the Scandinavian crime genre, from Sjöwall and Wahlöö's Martin Beck series through Henning Mankell's Wallander to Stieg Larsson's demolition of the Swedish Social Democratic ideal in the publishing phenomenon The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo .

Detecting the Social

Detecting the Social

Order and Disorder in Post-1970s Detective Fiction

  • Author: Mary Evans,Sarah Moore,Hazel Johnstone
  • Publisher: Springer
  • ISBN: 3319945203
  • Category: Social Science
  • Page: 196
  • View: 3139
DOWNLOAD NOW »
This book analyses the ways in which twenty-first century detective fiction provides an understanding of the increasingly complex and often baffling contemporary world — and what sociology, as a discipline, can learn from it. Conventional sociological accounts of fiction generally comprehend its value in terms of the ways in which it can illustrate, enlarge or help to articulate a particular social theory. Evans, Moore, and Johnstone suggest a different approach, and demonstrate that by taking a group of detective novels, we can unveil so far unidentified, but crucial, theoretical ideas about what it means to be an individual in the twenty-first century. More specifically, the authors argue that detective fiction of the last forty years illuminates the effects of urban isolation and separation, the invisibility of institutional power, financial insecurity, and the failure of public authorities to protect people. In doing so, this body of fiction traces out the fault-lines in our social arrangements, rehearses our collective fears, and captures a mood of restless disquiet. By engaging with detective stories in this way, the book revisits ideas about the promise and purpose of sociology.​

Stieg Larsson's Millennium Trilogy

Stieg Larsson's Millennium Trilogy

Interdisciplinary Approaches to Nordic Noir on Page and Screen

  • Author: S. Peacock
  • Publisher: Springer
  • ISBN: 0230390447
  • Category: Performing Arts
  • Page: 172
  • View: 7410
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Uniquely placed to explore the worldwide phenomenon of Stieg Larsson's Millennium trilogy beginning with The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, the book offers the first full-length study of Larsson's work in both its written and filmed forms.

The Philosophy of Melancholy

The Philosophy of Melancholy

A Poem in Four Parts with a Mythological Ode

  • Author: Thomas Love Peacock
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Melancholy
  • Page: 125
  • View: 8772
DOWNLOAD NOW »

American Anthropologist

American Anthropologist

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Anthropology
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 4814
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Nineteenth Annual Report of the Bureau of American Ethnology to the Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution

Nineteenth Annual Report of the Bureau of American Ethnology to the Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution

  • Author: J. W. Powell
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category:
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 6654
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Annual Reports

Annual Reports

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category:
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 1906
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Annual Report of the Bureau of American Ethnology to the Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution

Annual Report of the Bureau of American Ethnology to the Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution

  • Author: N.A
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: America
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 8434
DOWNLOAD NOW »

A Savage Majesty

A Savage Majesty

  • Author: W.B. Baker
  • Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
  • ISBN: 1469130661
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 450
  • View: 5021
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The utmost threat to William II, King of England, could never be frustrated or thwarted by his fortress of The Tower of London. Richard, son of William the Conqueror and heir, was inadvertently dispatched in a hunting mishap. His nephew was later coincidentally killed in another hunting accident in the very same forest. As in every pride of lions, the most formidable attack upon ones legacy is frequently sprung against a dynasty from within: often from the very litter that share the Kings bread, if not his very bed.