Search Results for "the-sisterhood"

The Sisterhood: Inside the Lives of Mormon Women

The Sisterhood: Inside the Lives of Mormon Women

  • Author: Dorothy Allred Solomon
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press
  • ISBN: 9780230611405
  • Category: Religion
  • Page: 256
  • View: 3854
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Many hold a deep fascination with Mormonism but erroneously think of it as a secret religion that celebrates polygamy and confinement. Most outsiders regard Latter-day Saint women as submissive and pitiable. In The Sisterhood, award-winning author Dorothy Allred Solomon takes us inside the lives of women of the faith. She focuses on the roles of Mormon women in the nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries, including fascinating personal stories about family, children, and husbands. She takes us into the lives of the High Priestesses of the Church, draws on histories sustained by the most thorough genealogical records in the world, and addresses the wives of polygamists. The Sisterhood sheds light on an expanding and complex religion and offers a long overdue portrait of Mormonism and women.

The Sisterhood

The Sisterhood

The Inside Story of the Women's Movement and the Leaders Who Made it Happen

  • Author: Marcia Cohen
  • Publisher: Sunstone Press
  • ISBN: 1611391555
  • Category: Biography & Autobiography
  • Page: 486
  • View: 4888
DOWNLOAD NOW »
In this epic drama of personality and politics, passion and ambition, courage and betrayal, Marcia Cohen tells the fascinating inside story of the feminist revolution through the lives of the women who made it—and were sometimes unmade by it. Focusing on Betty Friedan, Gloria Steinem, Germaine Greer, and Kate Millett, The Sisterhood is a revealing group portrait of the women whose ideas and actions have so profoundly transformed us all. This classic account traces the women’s movement from its quiet birth in the 1960s through its startling triumphs in the 1970s and its troubled legacy in the 1980s. Today, everything seems possible for women as they function on an equal plane with men in nearly every walk of life. But the revolution was hard won. Now the irreverent, entertaining chronicle that reveals all the well-kept secrets of feminism, with a thoughtful new foreword by the author, appears in a special edition that serves as a riveting social history, casting light on an entire era so important for women as well as men.

The Sisterhood

The Sisterhood

A Novel

  • Author: Michael Palmer
  • Publisher: Bantam
  • ISBN: 0307781194
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 368
  • View: 9684
DOWNLOAD NOW »
“A suspenseful page-turner . . . jolts and entertains the reader.”—Mary Higgins Clark Inside Boston Doctors Hospital, patients are dying. In the glare of the operating room, they survive the surgeon's knife. But in the dark, hollow silence of the night, they die. Suddenly, inexplicable, horribly. A tough, bright doctor will risk his career—his very life—to unmask the terrifying mystery. A dedicated young nurse unknowingly holds the answer. Together they will discover that no one is from . . . the sisterhood “Teriffic . . . a compelling suspense tale.”—Clive Cussler

The Sisterhood

The Sisterhood

A gripping psychological thriller with a shocking twist

  • Author: Emily Barr
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 0755381629
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 322
  • View: 3836
DOWNLOAD NOW »
We all have a dark side... Critically acclaimed author Emily Barr grips readers with her witty and wicked thriller The Sisterhood. The perfect read for fans of Lisa Jewell and Adele Parks. 'One brilliantly compelling page-turner' - Closer Elizabeth Greene is devastated when her boyfriend of ten years leaves her for someone else. After a night of drowning her sorrows leads to an unexpected one-night stand, Elizabeth finds herself pregnant, alone and vulnerable. Helen has just discovered she has a sister she didn't know she had. Bored with her privileged life in France and driven by a need to gain her parents' approval, Helen sets out to find her sister and reunite her with her long-lost mother. When her search leads her to Elizabeth the two women become closely linked. But their connection to one another is founded on a dark deception, with the truth having extreme consequences... What readers are saying about The Sisterhood: 'Eerie and suspenseful, the timing is perfect and the pages are turned ever-faster as the story reaches it's very unexpected conclusion' 'Witty and dark and impossible to put down' 'Utterly absorbing and creepily enjoyable'

The Sisterhood Exchange

The Sisterhood Exchange

  • Author: Renee Michelle Hollinger
  • Publisher: Booktango
  • ISBN: 1468911147
  • Category: Self-Help
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 1838
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The Sisterhood Exchange celebrates the bonds that women share with each other while also challenging us to dig deeper for more profound connections - to ourselves and to each other.

Joining the Sisterhood

Joining the Sisterhood

Young Jewish Women Write Their Lives

  • Author: Tobin Belzer,Julie Pelc
  • Publisher: SUNY Press
  • ISBN: 079148615X
  • Category: Social Science
  • Page: 238
  • View: 4059
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Essays and poems that offer insight into what it means to be a young Jewish woman today.

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants Complete Collection

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants Complete Collection

  • Author: Ann Brashares
  • Publisher: Delacorte Press
  • ISBN: 0307978575
  • Category: Young Adult Fiction
  • Page: 1584
  • View: 2637
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The New York Times bestselling Sisterhood novels—The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, The Second Summer of the Sisterhood, Girls in Pants: The Third Summer of the Sisterhood, and Forever in Blue: The Fourth Summer of the Sisterhood—all available together in one ebook omni edition. The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants Once there was a pair of pants. Just an ordinary pair of jeans. But these pants, the Traveling Pants, went on to do great things. This is the story of the four friends—Lena, Tibby, Bridget, and Carmen—who made it possible. The Second Summer of the Sisterhood With a bit of last summer’s sand in the pockets, the Traveling Pants and the sisterhood who wears them—Lena, Tibby, Bridget, and Carmen—embark on their second summer together. Girls in Pants: The Third Summer of the Sisterhood It’s the summer before the sisterhood departs for college . . . their last real summer together before they head off to start their grown-up lives. It’s the time when Lena, Tibby, Bridget, and Carmen need their Pants the most. Forever in Blue: The Fourth Summer of the Sisterhood With unraveled embroidery and fraying hems, the Traveling Pants are back for one last, glorious summer. It’s a summer that will forever change the lives of Lena, Bridget, Tibby, and Carmen, here and now, past and future, together and apart.

The Sisterhood of Widows

The Sisterhood of Widows

Sixteen True Stories of Grief, Anger and Healing

  • Author: Mary Francis
  • Publisher: Morgan James Publishing
  • ISBN: 1600377831
  • Category: Family & Relationships
  • Page: 220
  • View: 2438
DOWNLOAD NOW »
There are 13,455,127 widows in the United States and Canada. The Sisterhood of Widows is a powerful book of healing containing sixteen true stories from widows of all walks of life who reflect and comment about life after the death of their husbands. Their stories cover death from accidents, cancer, heart attacks, and even suicide. All are told in a truthful and sometimes painful manner. Emotionally every widow handles loss differently and yet there is a common bond they share that makes them part of a sisterhood. And each widows story provides guidance and insight into human nature and the journey of perseverance through grief.

Gardens of the Sisterhood

Gardens of the Sisterhood

Create Your Own Mystical Garden

  • Author: Ann Marie O'Dell
  • Publisher: BalboaPress
  • ISBN: 9781452540825
  • Category: Self-Help
  • Page: 72
  • View: 6494
DOWNLOAD NOW »
It all started with a 500 lb cement angel brought in on a boom truck. Create an empowering mystical garden around a sculpture, chimes, or entryway. Enter the gateway to angelic dimensions of the sacred feminine. Attract like minded friends and spiritual business through the Zen of your own sanctuary. Welcome to the Gardens of the Sisterhood. http://sisterhoodgardens.com

Confessions of the Sisterhood

Confessions of the Sisterhood

  • Author: J.C. Smith
  • Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
  • ISBN: 1456823736
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 254
  • View: 6935
DOWNLOAD NOW »
"Which sister are you? Are you Rose? Shes the eldest sister who is in a constant struggle with her career and her family. Rose has built a promising career in California, but she is pulled back home due to her mothers illness. Are you Kacy? Shes the middle sister, recently divorced and starting her life over. Shes the caretaker and the peacemaker. If shes not taking care of her ill mother, shes trying to keep her two sisters from killing each other. Are you Gina? Shes the youngest sister, wild and free. She has no responsibility and enjoys her parties."