Search Results for "the-sisterhood"

Joining the Sisterhood

Joining the Sisterhood

Young Jewish Women Write Their Lives

  • Author: Tobin Belzer,Julie Pelc
  • Publisher: SUNY Press
  • ISBN: 079148615X
  • Category: Social Science
  • Page: 238
  • View: 1075
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Essays and poems that offer insight into what it means to be a young Jewish woman today.

Gardens of the Sisterhood

Gardens of the Sisterhood

Create Your Own Mystical Garden

  • Author: Ann Marie O'Dell
  • Publisher: BalboaPress
  • ISBN: 9781452540825
  • Category: Self-Help
  • Page: 72
  • View: 1185
DOWNLOAD NOW »
It all started with a 500 lb cement angel brought in on a boom truck. Create an empowering mystical garden around a sculpture, chimes, or entryway. Enter the gateway to angelic dimensions of the sacred feminine. Attract like minded friends and spiritual business through the Zen of your own sanctuary. Welcome to the Gardens of the Sisterhood. http://sisterhoodgardens.com

The Sisterhood

The Sisterhood

The Inside Story of the Women's Movement and the Leaders Who Made it Happen

  • Author: Marcia Cohen
  • Publisher: Sunstone Press
  • ISBN: 1611391555
  • Category: Biography & Autobiography
  • Page: 486
  • View: 6199
DOWNLOAD NOW »
In this epic drama of personality and politics, passion and ambition, courage and betrayal, Marcia Cohen tells the fascinating inside story of the feminist revolution through the lives of the women who made it—and were sometimes unmade by it. Focusing on Betty Friedan, Gloria Steinem, Germaine Greer, and Kate Millett, The Sisterhood is a revealing group portrait of the women whose ideas and actions have so profoundly transformed us all. This classic account traces the women’s movement from its quiet birth in the 1960s through its startling triumphs in the 1970s and its troubled legacy in the 1980s. Today, everything seems possible for women as they function on an equal plane with men in nearly every walk of life. But the revolution was hard won. Now the irreverent, entertaining chronicle that reveals all the well-kept secrets of feminism, with a thoughtful new foreword by the author, appears in a special edition that serves as a riveting social history, casting light on an entire era so important for women as well as men.

The Sisterhood

The Sisterhood

  • Author: Penelope Friday
  • Publisher: Bella Books
  • ISBN: 1594937605
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 296
  • View: 1458
DOWNLOAD NOW »
When Charity Bellingham visits London for the Season, she has no idea what adventures lie ahead. But a chance meeting with the beautiful Isobelle Greenaway will have long term consequences as Charity discovers things about London society, about slavery, and most of all about herself. But it’s the introduction to The Sisterhood—a secret society of ladies—that will impact and change her life forever. Penelope Friday’s romantic tale of women and life in early 19th century London is one that readers won’t want to miss.

The Sisterhood

The Sisterhood

  • Author: A.J. Grainger
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster
  • ISBN: 1481429086
  • Category: Young Adult Fiction
  • Page: 304
  • View: 3187
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Sixteen-year-old Lil stumbles across a dangerous secret while searching for her missing sister in this gripping thriller that’s perfect for fans of The Darkest Corners and The Third Twin. Sixteen-year-old Lil’s heart was broken when her sister Mella disappeared. There’s been no trace or sighting of her since she vanished, so when Lil sees a girl lying in the road near her house she thinks for a heart-stopping moment that it’s Mella. The girl is injured and disorientated and Lil has no choice but to take her home, even though she knows something’s not right. The girl claims she’s from a peaceful community called The Sisterhood of the Light, but why then does she have strange marks down her arms, and what—or who—is she running from?

Forever in Blue: The Fourth Summer of the Sisterhood

Forever in Blue: The Fourth Summer of the Sisterhood

  • Author: Ann Brashares
  • Publisher: Delacorte Press
  • ISBN: 0375843183
  • Category: Young Adult Fiction
  • Page: 416
  • View: 6347
DOWNLOAD NOW »
With unraveled embroidery and fraying hems, the Traveling Pants are back for one last, glorious summer. Lena: Immerses herself in her painting and an intoxicating summer fling, fearing that the moment she forgets about Kostos will be the moment she sees him again. Carmen: Falls under the spell of a sophisticated college friend for whom a theatrical role means everything and the heritage of the Pants means nothing. Bridget: Joins a dig for an ancient city on the coast of Turkey and discovers that her archaeology professor is available in every way except one. Tibby: Leaves behind someone she loves, wrongly believing he will stay where she has left him. Join Ann Brashares's beloved sisterhood once again in a dazzling, fearless novel. It's a summer that will forever change the lives of Lena, Carmen, Bee, and Tibby, here and now, past and future, together and apart. From the Hardcover edition.

The Sisterhood

The Sisterhood

A Novel

  • Author: Michael Palmer
  • Publisher: Bantam
  • ISBN: 0307781194
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 368
  • View: 1921
DOWNLOAD NOW »
“A suspenseful page-turner . . . jolts and entertains the reader.”—Mary Higgins Clark Inside Boston Doctors Hospital, patients are dying. In the glare of the operating room, they survive the surgeon's knife. But in the dark, hollow silence of the night, they die. Suddenly, inexplicable, horribly. A tough, bright doctor will risk his career—his very life—to unmask the terrifying mystery. A dedicated young nurse unknowingly holds the answer. Together they will discover that no one is from . . . the sisterhood “Teriffic . . . a compelling suspense tale.”—Clive Cussler

The Second Summer of the Sisterhood

The Second Summer of the Sisterhood

  • Author: Ann Brashares
  • Publisher: Delacorte Press
  • ISBN: 0375890246
  • Category: Young Adult Fiction
  • Page: 416
  • View: 3851
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The second novel in the wildly popular #1 New York Times bestselling Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series, from the author of The Whole Thing Together and The Here and Now. With a bit of last summer’s sand in the pockets, the Traveling Pants and the sisterhood who wears them—Lena, Tibby, Bridget, and Carmen—embark on their second summer together. Pants = love. Love your pals. Love yourself. “Light and romantic." —The New York Times “Fits like a favorite pair of pants.” —USA Today “A great summer read.” —The Sacramento Bee “As comfortable as an old pair of jeans.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred

The Sisterhood: Inside the Lives of Mormon Women

The Sisterhood: Inside the Lives of Mormon Women

  • Author: Dorothy Allred Solomon
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press
  • ISBN: 9780230611405
  • Category: Religion
  • Page: 256
  • View: 5667
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Many hold a deep fascination with Mormonism but erroneously think of it as a secret religion that celebrates polygamy and confinement. Most outsiders regard Latter-day Saint women as submissive and pitiable. In The Sisterhood, award-winning author Dorothy Allred Solomon takes us inside the lives of women of the faith. She focuses on the roles of Mormon women in the nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries, including fascinating personal stories about family, children, and husbands. She takes us into the lives of the High Priestesses of the Church, draws on histories sustained by the most thorough genealogical records in the world, and addresses the wives of polygamists. The Sisterhood sheds light on an expanding and complex religion and offers a long overdue portrait of Mormonism and women.

Girls in Pants: The Third Summer of the Sisterhood

Girls in Pants: The Third Summer of the Sisterhood

  • Author: Ann Brashares
  • Publisher: Dell Books for Young Readers
  • ISBN: 9780375843198
  • Category: Young Adult Fiction
  • Page: 384
  • View: 5893
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The Pants first came to us at the perfect moment. That is, when we were splitting up for the first time. It was two summers ago when they first worked their magic, and last summer when they shook up our lives once again. You see, we don’t wear the Pants year-round. We let them rest so they are extra powerful when summer comes. (There was the time this spring when Carmen wore them to her mom’s wedding, but that was a special case.) Now we’re facing our last summer together. In September we go to college. And it’s not like one of those TV shows where all of us magically turn up at the same college. We’re going to four different colleges in four different cities (but all within four hours of one another—that was our one rule). We’re headed off to start our real lives. Tomorrow night at Gilda’s we’ll launch the Pants on their third summer voyage. Tomorrow begins the time of our lives. It’s when we’ll need our Pants the most. From the Hardcover edition.