Search Results for "the-wreckage"

Salute the Wreckage

Salute the Wreckage

  • Author: Clint Margrave
  • Publisher: NYQ Books
  • ISBN: 9781630450243
  • Category: Poetry
  • Page: 96
  • View: 586
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Poetry. SALUTE THE WRECKAGE, Clint Margrave's second collection of poems, explores the universe within us and the universe in which we live. From the origins of stars to the strings of a guitar; from a rogue planet drifting through the emptiness of space; to the rogue feelings drifting through the arteries of the heart; SALUTE THE WRECKAGE is a salutation to being human and the frailty and beauty of existence.

No Matter the Wreckage

No Matter the Wreckage

  • Author: Sarah Kay
  • Publisher: SCB Distributors
  • ISBN: 1938912578
  • Category: Poetry
  • Page: 200
  • View: 8289
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Top selling poet Sarah Kay releases her debut collection of work from the first decade of her career. Following the success of her breakout poem, "B," No Matter the Wreckage presents readers with new and beloved work that showcases Kay's skill for celebrating family, love, travel, history, and unlikely love affairs between inanimate objects ("Toothbrush to the Bicycle Tire"). Both fresh and wise, Kay's poetry allows readers to join in on her journey of discovering herself and the world around her. - 2011 TED speaker (recording has been viewed 3 million times online) - First book, "B" was ranked #1 Bestselling Poetry Book on Amazon - Featured on HBO, American Public Radio, Huffington Post, CNN.com, etc. - Founder and Co-Director of Project VOICE

The Wreckage

The Wreckage

  • Author: Michael Crummey
  • Publisher: Anchor Canada
  • ISBN: 9780307373298
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 368
  • View: 626
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Having achieved considerable success with his first novel, River Thieves, Michael Crummey has written a book that is equally stunning and compelling. The Wreckage is a truly epic, yet twisted, romance that unfolds over decades and continents. It engages readers on the austere shores of Newfoundland’s fishing villages and drags them across to Japanese POW camps during some of the worst events of the Second World War. Haunting, lyrical, and deeply intimate, Crummey’s language fully exposes his characters’ vulnerabilities as they struggle to come to terms with their guilt and regret over decisions made during their impulsive youths. It is a testament to Crummey’s gifts as a novelist that he can flow quite easily through time, across landscapes, and between vastly different characters. He vividly captures the mental and physical anguish experienced in prison camps, and with calm lucidity explores the motives of a Japanese soldier whose actions seem inhumanly cold and calculating. Crummey toys with the readers’ sympathies, suggesting there are few distinctions between the enemy and us. He incorporates heartbreaking tragedy–the dropping of the atom bomb, lynchings in America, murderous revenge–to underscore the darker side of humanity. Crummey shows that we are capable of violence, but in the end he proves we are also capable of redemption, forgiveness, and can be led, unashamed, back to the ones we love.

The Wreckage

The Wreckage

The gripping new thriller that everyone is talking about

  • Author: Robin Morgan-Bentley
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 1409194205
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 336
  • View: 1675
DOWNLOAD NOW »
One of The Times 'Best New Crime Fiction' picks 'A thrilling, creepy climax and a double-whammy twist. A more than promising debut.' - The Times 'A twist I never saw coming, and a male main character with insecurity and vulnerability - I've never met anyone like him in a thriller before.' - Rosamund Lupton 'Creepy and compelling' - Peter James One fatal crash Ben is driving on the motorway, on his usual commute to the school where he works. A day like any other, except for the crash. Two colliding worlds Adam has left his home for the last time. In his final despairing act, he jumps in front of Ben's car, turning the teacher's world upside down. Three wrecked lives Wracked with guilt, Ben seeks out Alice, Adam's widow, and her 7-year-old son Max. But as he tries to escape the trauma of the wreckage, could Ben go too far in trying to ease his conscience? Gripping and sinister, The Wreckage is guaranteed to keep you up all night... Perfect for fans of Fiona Barton, Cara Hunter and C.L. Taylor. 'A terrific debut exploring the vulnerabilities and co-dependency of damaged individuals. I loved the wonderfully subtle but insistent tone of menace woven into the narrative, winding me into the colliding worlds of Ben and Alice and pushing me on to finish it. Clever and compelling!' - Fiona Barton, bestselling author of The Widow

The Wreckage

The Wreckage

  • Author: Michael Robotham
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 0748114025
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 384
  • View: 6144
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The fifth book in the Joe O'loughlin series, from bestselling author Michael Robotham. In London, ex-cop Vincent Ruiz rescues a young woman from a violent boyfriend but wakes next morning to find that he's been set up and robbed. As he tracks down the thieves, he discovers the boyfriend's tortured body and learns that powerful men are looking for the girl. What did Holly Knight steal that is so important to them? Meanwhile in Baghdad, the bank robbery capital of the world, billions of dollars in reconstruction funds has gone missing and Pulitzer prize-winning Journalist Luca Terracini is trying to 'follow the money'. The dangerous trail will lead him to London where he teams up with Vincent Ruiz and together they investigate the disappearance of an international banker and a mysterious 'black hole' in the bank's accounts.

The Wreckage

The Wreckage

  • Author: Keith Drake
  • Publisher: Lulu.com
  • ISBN: 0557286328
  • Category:
  • Page: 369
  • View: 8692
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The collapse of all glaciers in Greenland, in the year 2064, causes a tilt in the Earth's axis. The Earth winds up with the North Pole almost facing the sun. Half of the planet is freezing, half is extremely warm. A group of adventurers travels through ruined country to the launch pad in Florida. They travel to Mars. The famous "face" on Mars holds mazes inside. If you can get to the bottom of the maze, you meet the Martians.

The Wreckage Reconsidered

The Wreckage Reconsidered

Five Oxymorons from Balkan Deconstruction

  • Author: P. H. Liotta
  • Publisher: Lexington Books
  • ISBN: 9780739100127
  • Category: History
  • Page: 251
  • View: 5533
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The Wreckage Reconsidered examines Yugoslav disintegration in order to suggest, through the Yugoslav example, that a reexamination of national security strategy and foreign policy concerns for the United States in a new century is not only a wise choice but an imperative one. P. H. Liotta examines this subject by means of the oxymoron, which he defines through its specific Balkan application: a force or issue so contrary in nature that it may remain problematic no matter what approach or resolution might be offered. The five oxymorons Liotta considers are: U.S. strategic perspectives as they have applied to the Balkan example; the rise of the "parastate" as a result of recent Balkan history; a strategy of chaos, as it may have applied in the last Balkan war and as it may "target" American strategic culture in the future; religion, a cultural and political force in the Balkans as it may have provided the occasion, though not the cause, for the outbreak of conflict; and, finally, the recognition that NATO enlargement may bring both unintended and unwelcome consequences.

Assembling the Wreckage

Assembling the Wreckage

  • Author: Kevin Fisher
  • Publisher: Lulu.com
  • ISBN: 110596129X
  • Category:
  • Page: N.A
  • View: 5237
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Stories from the Wreckage

Stories from the Wreckage

A Great Lakes Maritime History Inspired by Shipwrecks

  • Author: John Odin Jensen
  • Publisher: Wisconsin Historical Society
  • ISBN: 0870209035
  • Category: Transportation
  • Page: 288
  • View: 2733
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Every shipwreck has a story that extends far beyond its tragic end. The dramatic tales of disaster, heroism, and folly become even more compelling when viewed as junction points in history—connecting to stories about the frontier, the environment, immigration, politics, technology, and industry. In Stories from the Wreckage, John Odin Jensen examines a selection of Great Lakes shipwrecks of the wooden age for a deeper dive into this transformative chapter of maritime history. He mines the archeological evidence and historic record to show how their tragic ends fit in with the larger narrative of Midwestern history. Featuring the underwater photography of maritime archeologist Tamara Thomsen, this vibrant volume is a must-have for shipping enthusiasts as well as anyone interested in the power of water to shape history.

The Wreckage 2

The Wreckage 2

  • Author: Keith Drake
  • Publisher: Lulu.com
  • ISBN: 0557621070
  • Category:
  • Page: 300
  • View: 6491
DOWNLOAD NOW »
In this sequel to Keith A. Drake's The Wreckage: A Tale of Global Burning, a group of adventurers set out to correct a traumatic Precession on Earth. They travel 24 light years out of the Sol System, to a star system inhabited by descendants of the Atlantians and Neanderthals. After completing a series of challenges, they return to Mars. They successfully complete the seventh maze, enabling them to contact the Planeteers, and hopefully restore the Earth to its previous position.