Search Results for "things-get-better"

How Things Got Better

How Things Got Better

Speech, Writing, Printing, and Cultural Change

  • Author: Henry J. Perkinson
  • Publisher: Greenwood Publishing Group
  • ISBN: 9780897894319
  • Category: Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Page: 172
  • View: 4498
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A novel interpretation of the impact of the media of communication on Western civilization.

Things Get Better

Things Get Better

  • Author: Katie Piper
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 1780874782
  • Category: Self-Help
  • Page: 320
  • View: 7854
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Britain's most inspiring young woman helps give others the courage to cope with life's challenges, through personal anecdotes and expert advice. To look and listen to the extraordinary Katie Piper, it is difficult to comprehend the severe trauma she suffered from a brutal rape and acid attack which left her with deep physical and emotional scars. These terrible events would have crushed most people, but through her positive outlook and sheer determination, Katie has become inspirational to millions and living proof that no matter what life throws at you, if you work hard and believe - things will get better. Katie now begins to answer the question that everyone wants to know - 'Where did you find the courage?' She shares the key steps and support that led to her emotional recovery and acknowledges the pain we have all felt at times, whether suffering a breakup, life change or more serious trauma. Drawing on her own experiences and letters from other survivors, Katie shows with spectacular compassion that we can all find the strength within to carry on.

Things Can Only Get Better

Things Can Only Get Better

  • Author: David M. Barnett
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 1409185176
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 336
  • View: 8723
DOWNLOAD NOW »
*FROM THE INTERNATIONALLY BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF CALLING MAJOR TOM* For elderly churchwarden Arthur Calderbank, there's no place like home. His home just so happens to be a graveyard. He keeps himself to himself, gets on with his job, and visits his wife everyday for a chat. When one day he finds someone else has been to see his wife - and has left flowers on her grave - he is determined to solve the mystery of who and why. He receives unlikely help from a group of teenage girls determined to break out of the poverty trap by emulating their Britpop heroes and forming a band, and as Arthur and the girls try to find answers, he soon learns that there is more to life than being surrounded by death. Set against a backdrop of the turbulent political, cultural and social upheaval of 1996, Things Can Only Get Better is an uplifting story about the power of a little kindness, friendship and community, for readers who enjoy Sue Townsend, Ruth Hogan and Joanna Cannon.

Some Things Are Better Left to Saxophones

Some Things Are Better Left to Saxophones

  • Author: June Akers Seese
  • Publisher: iUniverse
  • ISBN: 0595446612
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 124
  • View: 5870
DOWNLOAD NOW »
"The fact is, June Akers Seese refuses to lie. When her eye lights on something, she arrests it with a photographic infallibility that is simply breathtaking. She writes Hemingway's best declarative sentence through the lens of Kafka and the searing elegance of Joan Didion. Yet, on top of everything, she manages to be very, very funny-often excruciatingly so. Some Things Are Better Left to Saxophones, her latest novel, embodies vintage Seese and her all-too-human, all-too-like-us, unforgiving domestic landscape: inside our houses, insides our heads, inside our hearts." -Joseph Bathanti, Professor of Creative Writing and Co-Director of the Visiting Writers Series at Appalachian State University In this novel, June Akers Seese writes of two retired Detroit teachers and their retarded daughter, Melody, who lives with them and works at a downtown hotel folding napkins and polishing tabletops. Melody's sisters and brother have moved on. One sister to Japan to study languages and literature; another to a boarding house on the Wayne State University campus where she collects Master's degrees that go nowhere and earns her living as a sometimes waitress. Their brother has fled to Alaska where land is cheap and his carpentry skills valued. All approaching 40, these offspring have no plans to marry or return home. They are all trapped in a dream of escaping the responsibility of Melody when their parents die.

Things Go Better with Chilli!

Things Go Better with Chilli!

  • Author: Anna L. Fox
  • Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
  • ISBN: 1477175881
  • Category: Poetry
  • Page: 24
  • View: 7265
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Things Go Better With Chilli, is a book for children of primary age, giving them a look at what living in New Mexico is all about. It is a fun place, with interesting animals and people. There are three major cultures living together, and getting along, (Indians, Hispanics, and Anglos). They enjoy the cultures, customs and artistic endeavors of each other. New Mexicans love to eat chillies with their food. They have created many different kinds of recipes that include chilli. There is eggs and chillli, chocolate and chilli, jellybeans and chilli. Also included with chilli, are breads, vegetables and meat of different kinds. I had a little creative fun with chilli in my book. The children can decide which things really go with chilli. Also I included West Texas because of its similarity and nearness to give the children the true feeling of being neighbors with this land of enchantment.

It Gets Better

It Gets Better

Coming Out, Overcoming Bullying, and Creating a Life Worth Living

  • Author: Dan Savage,Terry Miller
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • ISBN: 9781101513408
  • Category: Self-Help
  • Page: 352
  • View: 1589
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Every story can change a life. Watch a video Growing up isn't easy. Many young people face daily tormenting and bullying, making them feel like they have nowhere to turn. This is especially true for LGBT kids and teens who often hide their sexuality for fear of bullying. Without other openly gay adults and mentors in their lives, they can't imagine what their future may hold. In many instances, gay and lesbian adolescents are taunted - even tortured - simply for being themselves. After a number of tragic suicides by LGBT students who were bullied in school, syndicated columnist and author Dan Savage uploaded a video to YouTube with his partner Terry Miller to inspire hope for LGBT youth facing harassment. Speaking openly about the bullying they suffered as teenagers, and how they both went on to lead rewarding adult lives, their video launched the It Gets Better Project YouTube channel and initiated a worldwide phenomenon. With over 6,000 videos posted and over 20 million views in the first three months alone, the world has embraced the opportunity to provide personal, honest and heartfelt support for LGBT youth everywhere. It Gets Better is a collection of expanded essays and new material from celebrities, everyday people and teens who have posted videos of encouragement, as well as new contributors who have yet to post videos to the site. While many of these teens couldn't see a positive future for themselves, we can. We can show LGBT youth the levels of happiness, potential and positivity their lives will reach if they can just get through their teen years. By sharing these stories, It Gets Better reminds teenagers in the LGBT community that they are not alone - and it WILL get better.

Things Can Only Get Better

Things Can Only Get Better

  • Author: John O'Farrell
  • Publisher: Random House
  • ISBN: 1409020770
  • Category: Biography & Autobiography
  • Page: 336
  • View: 8801
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Like bubonic plague and stone cladding, no-one took Margaret Thatcher seriously until it was too late. Her first act as leader was to appear before the cameras and do a V for Victory sign the wrong way round. She was smiling and telling the British people to f*** off at the same time. It was something we would have to get used to.' Things Can Only Get Better is the personal account of a Labour supporter who survived eighteen miserable years of Conservative government. It is the heartbreaking and hilarious confessions of someone who has been actively involved in helping the Labour party lose elections at every level: school candidate: door-to-door canvasser: working for a Labour MP in the House of Commons; standing as a council candidate; and eventually writing jokes for a shadow cabinet minister. Along the way he slowly came to realise that Michael Foot would never be Prime Minister, that vegetable quiche was not as tasty as chicken tikki masala and that the nuclear arms race was never going to be stopped by face painting alone.

If Things Get Better with Age

If Things Get Better with Age

Dot Grid Journal, 150 Pages, Matte Cover

  • Author: Twisted Lemon Designs
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: 9781079870978
  • Category:
  • Page: 152
  • View: 6198
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A lovely dot grid journal for older women. As you age life gets better. Use this dot grid journal to track or plan life's journey. Makes a great birthday or retirement gift.

Did Things Get Better?

Did Things Get Better?

  • Author: Polly Toynbee,David Walker
  • Publisher: Penguin Books
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Great Britain
  • Page: 273
  • View: 9159
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The authors compare the pledge made in the Blair manifesto with the government's actions, seeking to establish which groups have had their interests served, and which have been sidelined. They seek to provide a comprehensive and fair-minded report on the achievements and failures of New Labour.

Before Things Got Better

Before Things Got Better

  • Author: Barbara Rogers
  • Publisher: Kenya M Baker
  • ISBN: 9780989748544
  • Category:
  • Page: 25
  • View: 4592
DOWNLOAD NOW »
This book is about a Virginia woman who shares her heroing story of triumph from abuse and heartache to peace and serenity.