Search Results for "things-get-better"

How Things Got Better

How Things Got Better

Speech, Writing, Printing, and Cultural Change

  • Author: Henry J. Perkinson
  • Publisher: Greenwood Publishing Group
  • ISBN: 9780897894319
  • Category: Language Arts & Disciplines
  • Page: 172
  • View: 5424
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A novel interpretation of the impact of the media of communication on Western civilization.

Things Get Better

Things Get Better

  • Author: Katie Piper
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 1780874782
  • Category: Self-Help
  • Page: 320
  • View: 3141
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Britain's most inspiring young woman helps give others the courage to cope with life's challenges, through personal anecdotes and expert advice. To look and listen to the extraordinary Katie Piper, it is difficult to comprehend the severe trauma she suffered from a brutal rape and acid attack which left her with deep physical and emotional scars. These terrible events would have crushed most people, but through her positive outlook and sheer determination, Katie has become inspirational to millions and living proof that no matter what life throws at you, if you work hard and believe - things will get better. Katie now begins to answer the question that everyone wants to know - 'Where did you find the courage?' She shares the key steps and support that led to her emotional recovery and acknowledges the pain we have all felt at times, whether suffering a breakup, life change or more serious trauma. Drawing on her own experiences and letters from other survivors, Katie shows with spectacular compassion that we can all find the strength within to carry on.

Things Can Only Get Better

Things Can Only Get Better

  • Author: David M. Barnett
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 1409185176
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 336
  • View: 7275
DOWNLOAD NOW »
*FROM THE INTERNATIONALLY BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF CALLING MAJOR TOM* For elderly churchwarden Arthur Calderbank, there's no place like home. His home just so happens to be a graveyard. He keeps himself to himself, gets on with his job, and visits his wife everyday for a chat. When one day he finds someone else has been to see his wife - and has left flowers on her grave - he is determined to solve the mystery of who and why. He receives unlikely help from a group of teenage girls determined to break out of the poverty trap by emulating their Britpop heroes and forming a band, and as Arthur and the girls try to find answers, he soon learns that there is more to life than being surrounded by death. Set against a backdrop of the turbulent political, cultural and social upheaval of 1996, Things Can Only Get Better is an uplifting story about the power of a little kindness, friendship and community, for readers who enjoy Sue Townsend, Ruth Hogan and Joanna Cannon.

It Gets Better

It Gets Better

Coming Out, Overcoming Bullying, and Creating a Life Worth Living

  • Author: Dan Savage,Terry Miller
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • ISBN: 9781101513408
  • Category: Self-Help
  • Page: 352
  • View: 5429
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Every story can change a life. Watch a video Growing up isn't easy. Many young people face daily tormenting and bullying, making them feel like they have nowhere to turn. This is especially true for LGBT kids and teens who often hide their sexuality for fear of bullying. Without other openly gay adults and mentors in their lives, they can't imagine what their future may hold. In many instances, gay and lesbian adolescents are taunted - even tortured - simply for being themselves. After a number of tragic suicides by LGBT students who were bullied in school, syndicated columnist and author Dan Savage uploaded a video to YouTube with his partner Terry Miller to inspire hope for LGBT youth facing harassment. Speaking openly about the bullying they suffered as teenagers, and how they both went on to lead rewarding adult lives, their video launched the It Gets Better Project YouTube channel and initiated a worldwide phenomenon. With over 6,000 videos posted and over 20 million views in the first three months alone, the world has embraced the opportunity to provide personal, honest and heartfelt support for LGBT youth everywhere. It Gets Better is a collection of expanded essays and new material from celebrities, everyday people and teens who have posted videos of encouragement, as well as new contributors who have yet to post videos to the site. While many of these teens couldn't see a positive future for themselves, we can. We can show LGBT youth the levels of happiness, potential and positivity their lives will reach if they can just get through their teen years. By sharing these stories, It Gets Better reminds teenagers in the LGBT community that they are not alone - and it WILL get better.

Things Can Only Get Better

Things Can Only Get Better

  • Author: John O'Farrell
  • Publisher: Random House
  • ISBN: 1409020770
  • Category: Biography & Autobiography
  • Page: 336
  • View: 9393
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Like bubonic plague and stone cladding, no-one took Margaret Thatcher seriously until it was too late. Her first act as leader was to appear before the cameras and do a V for Victory sign the wrong way round. She was smiling and telling the British people to f*** off at the same time. It was something we would have to get used to.' Things Can Only Get Better is the personal account of a Labour supporter who survived eighteen miserable years of Conservative government. It is the heartbreaking and hilarious confessions of someone who has been actively involved in helping the Labour party lose elections at every level: school candidate: door-to-door canvasser: working for a Labour MP in the House of Commons; standing as a council candidate; and eventually writing jokes for a shadow cabinet minister. Along the way he slowly came to realise that Michael Foot would never be Prime Minister, that vegetable quiche was not as tasty as chicken tikki masala and that the nuclear arms race was never going to be stopped by face painting alone.

If Things Get Better with Age

If Things Get Better with Age

Dot Grid Journal, 150 Pages, Matte Cover

  • Author: Twisted Lemon Designs
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: 9781079870978
  • Category:
  • Page: 152
  • View: 7755
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A lovely dot grid journal for older women. As you age life gets better. Use this dot grid journal to track or plan life's journey. Makes a great birthday or retirement gift.

Things Get Better With Swimming

Things Get Better With Swimming

Best Swimming Quote Journal Notebook for Multiple Purpose Like Writing Notes, Plans and Ideas. Swimming Composition Notebook for Swimmer. (Proud Swimmer Journal Notebook)

  • Author: Sports Journal Press House
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: 9781650386997
  • Category:
  • Page: 102
  • View: 5210
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A Perfect Swimming Quotes Journal For Proud Swimmer If you love swimming then this is a perfect gift to treat yourself or buy as a gift. Useful for daily important notes, plans and ideas This Notebook is 6" x 9" and has 100 pages

It Gets Better

It Gets Better

  • Author: Rozanna M. Cherry
  • Publisher: Xulon Press
  • ISBN: 1604776064
  • Category: Religion
  • Page: 96
  • View: 1418
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Cherry discusses ways to reduce times of trouble and fear in order to experience the fullness of God's plans. (Practical Life)

Would Things Get Better Or Worse If Humans Focused on What Was Going Well Rather Than What's Going Wrong?

Would Things Get Better Or Worse If Humans Focused on What Was Going Well Rather Than What's Going Wrong?

A Softcover Blank Lined Notebook to Jot Down Business Ideas, Take Notes for Class Or Ponder Life's Big Questions

  • Author: Standard Booklets
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: 9781089604075
  • Category:
  • Page: 122
  • View: 9245
DOWNLOAD NOW »
If you are on a journey to improve your life, your business, your health, then you must ask better questions. Quality questions lead to a quality life. You can practice asking better questions with this college ruled 8.5x11 notebook. The notebook is perfect for taking many notes, it can be used as a diary, record keeper, financial tracker or even a business journal. If you're in need of a graduation gift for a college student, philosophy professor, or entrepreneur then this notebook is for you. So, if you like what you see purchase this not book now! You can also click on our brand name, Standard Booklets, to see more school notebooks, paperback blank books, log books, journals and more!

Things Will Get as Good as You Can Stand

Things Will Get as Good as You Can Stand

(. . . When you learn that it is better to receive than to give) The Superwoman's Practical Guide to Getting as Much as She Gives

  • Author: Laura Doyle
  • Publisher: Simon and Schuster
  • ISBN: 9780743258623
  • Category: Self-Help
  • Page: 288
  • View: 1185
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Why do the things you want elude you? Intimacy. Validation. Romance. Nice things. More time. Most women wish for these every day. In Things Will Get as Good as You Can Stand, bestselling author Laura Doyle says that all of these things are available to us, but receiving them makes women feel uncomfortable. We turn away praise at work, help with the house, an expression of admiration so that we appear to be in control. The result is a Superwoman Syndrome: we are overworked and exhausted -- and we feel alone. In Things Will Get as Good as You Can Stand, Doyle provides steps for overcoming the Superwoman Syndrome and explains why: If you act like you don't deserve something, everyone else will agree Saying what you want makes you more beautiful Grateful women have better romantic relationships You should let a man support you You have to be vulnerable to get emotional help With her trademark practical approach, Doyle explains why it is "better to receive than to give." She guides you to accepting what you are offered with ease and kindness, which is the expressway to having what you want.