Search Results for "utopia-is-creepy"

Utopia Is Creepy: And Other Provocations

Utopia Is Creepy: And Other Provocations

  • Author: Nicholas Carr
  • Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
  • ISBN: 0393254550
  • Category: Technology & Engineering
  • Page: 320
  • View: 4933
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A freewheeling, sharp-shooting indictment of a tech-besotted culture. With razor wit, Nicholas Carr cuts through Silicon Valley’s unsettlingly cheery vision of the technological future to ask a hard question: Have we been seduced by a lie? Gathering a decade’s worth of posts from his blog, Rough Type, as well as his seminal essays, Utopia Is Creepy is “Carr’s best hits for those who missed the last decade of his stream of thoughtful commentary about our love affair with technology and its effect on our relationships” (Richard Cytowic, New York Journal of Books). Carr draws on artists ranging from Walt Whitman to the Clash, while weaving in the latest findings from science and sociology. Carr’s favorite targets are those zealots who believe so fervently in computers and data that they abandon common sense. Cheap digital tools do not make us all the next Fellini or Dylan. Social networks, diverting as they may be, are not vehicles for self-enlightenment. And “likes” and retweets are not going to elevate political discourse. Utopia Is Creepy compels us to question the technological momentum that has trapped us in its flow. “Resistance is never futile,” argues Carr, and this book delivers the proof.

Utopian and Dystopian Themes in Tolkien’s Legendarium

Utopian and Dystopian Themes in Tolkien’s Legendarium

  • Author: Mark Doyle
  • Publisher: Lexington Books
  • ISBN: 1498598684
  • Category: Literary Criticism
  • Page: 204
  • View: 4605
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Utopia and Dystopia in Tolkien’s Legendarium explores how Tolkien’s works speak to many modern people’s utopian desires despite the overwhelming dominance of dystopian literature in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. It also examines how Tolkien’s malevolent societies in his legendarium have the unique ability to capture the fears and doubts that many people sense about the trajectory of modern society. Tolkien’s works do this by creating utopian and dystopian longing while also rejecting the stilted conventions of most literary utopias and dystopias. Utopia and Dystopia in Tolkien’s Legendarium traces these utopian and dystopian motifs through a variety of Tolkien’s works including The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, The Silmarillion, Book of Lost Tales, Leaf by Niggle, and some of his early poetry. The book analyzes Tolkien’s ideal and evil societies from a variety of angles: political and literary theory, the sources of Tolkien’s narratives, the influence of environmentalism and Catholic social doctrine, Tolkien’s theories about and use of myth, and finally the relationship between Tolkien’s politics and his theories of leadership. The book’s epilogue looks at Tolkien’s works compared to popular culture adaptations of his legendarium.

Utopian Circus

Utopian Circus

  • Author: C. Sean McGee
  • Publisher: C. Sean McGee
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 260
  • View: 6094
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Through the charred wreckage of one man’s philosophy, an adventure into conscious delusion and dark dystopian fantasy begins as the survivors of The Nest find themselves on three paths where each will endeavor to rein their conscious minds to grasp the philosophy of existence and abate the shackles of conscious Famine as they march onwards towards New Utopia. On one path, Marcos, having woken naked and amnesic at the scorn of ancient women whose immortality derives from the wearing of young girl’s faces like decorative dresses; is chased through a dense wilderness for the face that he wears whilst drifting in and out of conscious Famine, giving a glimpse into The City that was, one of obligation and Infant Industries. On the second path, in The Kingdom of the Hound, Ruff the dog is awoken to conscious debate, rationalizing and philosophizing with an ostentatious small Chihuahua called The Bitch Queen over the nature of unconditional love as he fights to save the lives of his human friends from being gamed by savage hounds and monolithic boars. While on a third path, The Woman will unravel, through conscious delusion, the true extent of her repressions and her loveless abandon as a young girl; Safrine, through childish rhyme, is challenged by a creepy old man into a game of coloured cubes to save her two companions from the effect of The Famine.

Utopia, Where Are You?

Utopia, Where Are You?

  • Author: Sharon Rhyason
  • Publisher: iUniverse
  • ISBN: 0595264018
  • Category: Juvenile Fiction
  • Page: 168
  • View: 6303
DOWNLOAD NOW »
No self-respecting youth would allow hierarchy and bureaucracy to impede his progress toward setting the world right and soon Luke finds himself immersed in the murky world of politics. Desires by a classmate at a bonfire, the death of a good friend, life in the sanctioned halls of learning, and a past to overcome, brings Luke desperately struggling for sanity.

The Utopia Experiment

The Utopia Experiment

  • Author: Dylan Evans
  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan
  • ISBN: 144726133X
  • Category: Psychology
  • Page: 256
  • View: 407
DOWNLOAD NOW »
As read on BBC Radio 4's Book of the Week. Imagine you have survived an apocalypse. Civilization as you knew it is no more. What will life be like and how will you cope? In 2006, Dylan Evans set out to answer these questions. He left his job in a high-tech robotics lab, moved to the Scottish Highlands and founded a community called The Utopia Experiment. There, together with an eclectic assortment of volunteers, he tried to live out a scenario of global collapse, free from modern technology and comforts. Within a year, Evans found himself detained in a psychiatric hospital, shattered and depressed, trying to figure out what had gone wrong. In The Utopia Experiment he tells his own extraordinary story: his frenzied early enthusiasm for this unusual project, the many challenges of post-apocalyptic living, his descent into madness and his gradual recovery. In the process, he learns some hard lessons about himself and about life, and comes to see the modern world he abandoned in a new light. 'A gripping, slow-motion car crash. You can't take your eyes off it' Julian Baggini, Financial Times 'It radiates an intense intelligence and a candour that is never less than touching and, sometimes, downright heartrending' Daily Mail 'Extraordinary . . . both frightening and compelling' GQ

The Utopia of Rules

The Utopia of Rules

On Technology, Stupidity, and the Secret Joys of Bureaucracy

  • Author: David Graeber
  • Publisher: Melville House
  • ISBN: 1612193757
  • Category: Political Science
  • Page: 272
  • View: 4932
DOWNLOAD NOW »
From the author of the international bestseller Debt: The First 5,000 Years comes a revelatory account of the way bureaucracy rules our lives Where does the desire for endless rules, regulations, and bureaucracy come from? How did we come to spend so much of our time filling out forms? And is it really a cipher for state violence? To answer these questions, the anthropologist David Graeber—one of our most important and provocative thinkers—traces the peculiar and unexpected ways we relate to bureaucracy today, and reveals how it shapes our lives in ways we may not even notice…though he also suggests that there may be something perversely appealing—even romantic—about bureaucracy. Leaping from the ascendance of right-wing economics to the hidden meanings behind Sherlock Holmes and Batman, The Utopia of Rules is at once a powerful work of social theory in the tradition of Foucault and Marx, and an entertaining reckoning with popular culture that calls to mind Slavoj Zizek at his most accessible. An essential book for our times, The Utopia of Rules is sure to start a million conversations about the institutions that rule over us—and the better, freer world we should, perhaps, begin to imagine for ourselves.

Legend

Legend

  • Author: Marie Lu
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: 9788467556575
  • Category: Literary Criticism
  • Page: 368
  • View: 8399
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Cuando Day y June chocan sus leyendas se hacen pedazos y dejan al decubierto dos personas que se atraen como polos opuestos de un imán.

Curious Pursuits

Curious Pursuits

Occasional Writing

  • Author: Margaret Atwood
  • Publisher: Hachette UK
  • ISBN: 0748113401
  • Category: Fiction
  • Page: 432
  • View: 9349
DOWNLOAD NOW »
By the author of The Handmaid's Tale and Alias Grace Curious Pursuits is a collection of personal essays, book reviews and articles from the fierce, ingenious mind of Margaret Atwood, ranging from 1970 to the present. Atwood remembers moving to London as a starry-eyed teenager in 1964 and her first attempts at gardening; she discusses feminist utopias in fiction, and writes moving odes on beloved classics like Anne of Green Gables. Personal life and fiction are shelved side by side in this revealing, insightful collection of Atwood's non-fiction writing. PRAISE FOR Curious Pursuits 'A goldmine' Sunday Times 'Reminds one that Atwood is a superbly funny (as well as serious) writer; her wit is winningly relaxed and genial as well as sharp' Spectator 'The glimpses into the writing process and her reflections on identity will delight fans of her novels, who will also recognise flashes of her mordant wit' Times

Modern Man in Search of Utopia

Modern Man in Search of Utopia

  • Author: Dick Fairfield
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: United States
  • Page: 195
  • View: 7812
DOWNLOAD NOW »

Death, Society, and Human Experience

Death, Society, and Human Experience

  • Author: Robert Kastenbaum
  • Publisher: Pearson College Division
  • ISBN: N.A
  • Category: Social Science
  • Page: 544
  • View: 3106
DOWNLOAD NOW »
This landmark text on the sociology of death and dying draws on contributions from the social and behavioral sciences as well as the humanities, such as history, religion, philosophy, literature, and the arts, to provide thorough coverage of understanding death and the dying process. The text focuses on both individual and societal attitudes and how they influence both how and when we die and how we live and deal with the knowledge of death and loss. Robert Kastenbaum is a renowned scholar in the field who developed one of the world's first death education courses and introduced the first text for this market.