Search Results for "what-do-you-do-with-a-tail-like-this"

What Do You Do With a Tail Like This?

What Do You Do With a Tail Like This?

  • Author: Steve Jenkins,Robin Page
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • ISBN: 0547488920
  • Category: Juvenile Fiction
  • Page: 32
  • View: 5907
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A nose for digging? Ears for seeing? Eyes that squirt blood? Explore the many amazing things animals can do with their ears, eyes, mouths, noses, feet, and tails in this interactive guessing book, beautifully illustrated in cut-paper collage, which was awarded a Caldecott Honor. This title has been selected as a Common Core Text Exemplar (Grades K-1, Read Aloud Informational Text).

Animals, Animals, Animals Set

Animals, Animals, Animals Set

My First Day/What Do You Do With a Tail Like This/Move

  • Author: Steve Jenkins,Robin Page
  • Publisher: N.A
  • ISBN: 9780544340909
  • Category: Juvenile Fiction
  • Page: 120
  • View: 7813
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A beautiful boxed set from the award-winning team of animal fact explainers. Includes gift editions of three of their best-loved books, with the spare, illuminating text and gorgeous cut-paper collage artwork fans of this dynamic duo have come to love. All this—plus a sheet of stickers—packed in an attractive slipcase. Three stunning books: My First Day: Find out what baby animals do in their first twenty-four hours of life. Move!: Learn why animals move the way they do. A New York Times Best Illustrated book. What Do You Do with a Tail Like This?: Explore the amazing things animals can do with their distinct body parts. A Caldecott Honor book.

The Natural World Through Children's Literature

The Natural World Through Children's Literature

An Integrated Approach

  • Author: Carol M. Butzow,John W. Butzow
  • Publisher: Libraries Unlimited
  • ISBN: 1591583519
  • Category: Education
  • Page: 188
  • View: 3736
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Well-known authors, Carol and John Butzow consider over 25 picture books and correlating integrated activities in all curricular areas that provide examples in nature for children to observe, describe, and appreciate.

The Frog Book

The Frog Book

  • Author: Steve Jenkins,Robin Page
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • ISBN: 1328636488
  • Category: Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Page: 32
  • View: 7534
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Caldecott Honor–winning team Steve Jenkins and Robin Page explore form, color, and pattern, and capture the very unique nature of frogs in this brilliantly illustrated picture book. Perfect for fans of The Beetle Book, and young readers looking for nonfiction about this perennially fascinating animal. Long legs, sticky tongues, big round eyes, and other dazzling features—what's not to love about frogs? In this magnificently illustrated picture book, Caldecott Honor–winning team Steve Jenkins and Robin Page explore one of the world's most diverse—and most threatened—animals. With more than 5,000 different frog species on the planet, in every color of the rainbow and a vast number of vivid patterns, no creatures are more fascinating to learn about or look at. Jenkins and Page present a stunning array of these intriguing amphibians and the many amazing adaptations they have made to survive.

Eye to Eye

Eye to Eye

How Animals See The World

  • Author: Steve Jenkins
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • ISBN: 0544302435
  • Category: Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Page: 32
  • View: 5005
DOWNLOAD NOW »
In his eye-popping work of picture book nonfiction, the Caldecott Honor–winning author-illustrator Steve Jenkins explains how for most animals, eyes are the most important source of information about the world in a biological sense. The simplest eyes—clusters of light-sensitive cells—appeared more than one billion years ago, and provided a big survival advantage to the first creatures that had them. Since then, animals have evolved an amazing variety of eyes, along with often surprising ways to use them.

Starting with Comprehension

Starting with Comprehension

Reading Strategies for the Youngest Learners

  • Author: Andie Cunningham,Ruth Shagoury
  • Publisher: Stenhouse Publishers
  • ISBN: 1571103961
  • Category: Education
  • Page: 125
  • View: 535
DOWNLOAD NOW »
It is never too early to start comprehension instruction. In fact, reading begins with meaning making. Andie Cunningham and Ruth Shagoury designed a reading program for five- and six-year-olds based on this premise. Most of the students in Andie's Portland, Oregon, kindergarten class have little or no alphabet knowledge when they enter the classroom in the fall. English is a second—or third—language for many of the children in this low-income neighborhood. Through research-based principles, carefully structured routines, and innovative activities, even the youngest learners can develop comprehension skills from their first days in school. The children in Starting with Comprehension are grappling with school culture for the first time and learning to work with classmates who speak a variety of different languages. These emergent readers learn to present their understanding of what they read through writing, talk, movement, and art. Kindergartners and preschoolers are different from readers who know how to decode texts. Andie and Ruth show how comprehension skills can be nurtured and strengthened even before decoding begins. In this classroom, meaning making becomes part of community building as children link reading, thinking, and communicating.

Sisters and Brothers

Sisters and Brothers

Sibling Relationships in the Animal World

  • Author: Steve Jenkins,Robin Page
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • ISBN: 0547488025
  • Category: Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Page: 32
  • View: 7996
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The award-winning team of What Do You Do with a Tail Like This? and Move! once again create a nonfiction picture book that is amazingly beautiful, fun, and filled with all sorts of interesting facts. Here, Steve Jenkins and Robin Page investigate sibling relationships throughout the animal kingdom. In this book you will learn that anteaters are always only children and nine-banded armadillos are always born as identical quadruplets. You will also learn that falcons play-hunt in the sky and that hyena cubs fight to the death. This is the perfect book for animal lovers young and old!

Perfect Pairs

Perfect Pairs

Using Fiction & Nonfiction Picture Books to Teach Life Science, K-2

  • Author: Melissa Stewart,Nancy Chesley
  • Publisher: Stenhouse Publishers
  • ISBN: 1571109587
  • Category: Education
  • Page: 360
  • View: 7159
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Hands-on lessons can be fun and compelling, but when it comes to life science, they aren't always possible, practical, effective, or safe. Children can't follow a lion as it stalks a gazelle, visit the exotic kapok tree in a rain forest, or swim alongside the underwater life in a pond. But they can explore a whole world of animals, plants, and ecosystems through the pages of beautifully illustrated, science-themed picture books. Perfect Pairs, which marries fiction and nonfiction picture books focused on life science, helps educators think about and teach life science in a whole new way. Each of the twenty-two lessons in this book is built around a pair of books that introduces a critical life science concept and guides students through an inquiry-based investigative process to explore that idea--from animal/environment interactions to the role of structure in plant and animal survival, from inheritance of traits to variation of species. Each lesson starts with a "Wonder Statement" and comprises three stages. "Engaging Students" features a hands-on activity that captures student interest, uncovers current thinking, and generates vocabulary. The heart of the investigative process, "Exploring with Students," spotlights the paired books as the teacher reads aloud and helps students find and organize information into data tables. "Encouraging Students to Draw Conclusions" shows students how to review and analyze the information they have collected. Bringing high-quality science-themed picture books into the classroom engages a broad range of students, addresses the Performance Expectations outlined in the Next Generation Science Standards, and supports the goals of the Common Core State Standards for English Language Arts. Even if you are science shy, Perfect Pairs can help you become a more confident teacher whose classroom buzzes with curious students eager to explore their natural world.

Creature Features

Creature Features

Twenty-Five Animals Explain Why They Look the Way They Do

  • Author: Steve Jenkins,Robin Page
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • ISBN: 0544233514
  • Category: Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Page: 32
  • View: 3610
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Examines unusual animal facial features and how they help the animals survive.

Actual Size

Actual Size

  • Author: Steve Jenkins
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • ISBN: 9780547349589
  • Category: Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Page: 34
  • View: 3811
DOWNLOAD NOW »
How big is a crocodile? What about a tiger, or the world’s largest spider? Can you imagine a tongue that is two feet long or an eye that’s bigger than your head? Sometimes facts and figures don’t tell the whole story. Sometimes you need to see things for yourself—at their actual size.